We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before heading of to Mombasa and it was just amazing and really peaceful just to stay indoors and can't express but you need to experience the stay and after a long gruelling safari all over the mara and now heading towards the coast the best break and ideal before you head for the beach in Mombasa just loved it exceptional

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pooja02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    178
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
135
332
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

we stayed here on the last night of a 3 night safari, and what a place! as you drive up to it it looks amazing, and obviously the rooms being on stilts just adds to the feel and view. the room itself was not as comfortable as our previous night, but it is unique and more than adequate for 1 night. our room was closest to the main building so had a large tree near to our window that covered some of the view and the centre window (perspex) was a bit dirty on the inside so not a clear view out, but this still does not detract from the experience beacuse of where it is. the views from the bar are amazing, when we got there you have a huge area to look out on, and there were loads of different animals in view, including a large herd of elephants just to the right of the lodge! the food was very good and again sat in the bar at night ( or outside if you like bugs) was an amazing view, again loads of different animals and 2 lots of elephants visiting the watering hole at night while we were there (including one who had great fun having a bath!)
definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Finally after two nights in hideous accommodation at Voi and Ngulia , we were upgraded on arrival at the Sarova Lodge to the Salt Lick .
This is what I imagined safari lodges would be like , not deeply luxurious , not modern , but with character and thought that has gone into the design.

We had lunch at the Sarova sister hotel (excellent) were given a day bedroom which we could happily have stayed in as it had a bath ( a rarity in Kenya) and sunbathed and chilled beside a very nice pool in lush well tended gardens .

After the evening game drive, we returned to the Salt Lick for showering followed by dinner, some animal watching by the water hole where I was put in a thoroughly bad mood by a German woman who tried to lecture me about using my flash on my camera ( it was an accident, I was setting it up for a 9pm night game drive and forgot to put it into night mode - she obviously thought it was her "duty" to interfere - I was told by the hotel staff that the animals were so used to it and to ignore her ) and a half decent nights sleep in a bed ( still too hard - what is it about Kenya and rock hard beds ?) .

A good breakfast, some early morning gazelle and bird activity around the water hole and sadly, that was the end of our Safari - but Pollmans saved the best till last - the previous two nights had been hell , this was an interesting and slightly decadent location and well worth a visit. Staff were excellent too .

Room Tip: If you are at the Salt Lick , I would assume they are all good but the rooms at the Sarova had baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 55something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanzu, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Upon arrival at Taita Hills Lodge (Salt Lick do not serve lunch) we were checked in to Salt Lick and had a very nice buffet lunch. Ten Minute drive to Salt Lick Lodge and shown immediately to our room overlooking the water holes.
The rooms were clean, neat and more than adequate.
Staff were very helpful.
Evening meal was very good and the bar over looking the waterholes afterwards was good.
Only downsides were price of drinks ( same at all Lodges) and service at the terrace bar could have been quicker - considering the Lodge was nowhere near full.
As I live here in Kenya I will certainly be revisiting here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westwoodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Here for one night but wish it was longer. When we saw photos we all wanted to use this lodge. Breakfast was large and gorgeous. Evening meal the same. Only fault, thought the drinks were on the expensive side. Rooms were plenty big enough with lovely showers and comfy beds. We stayed on one of the very furthest away lodges but didn't mind as the walk to the room was always fun and views were great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Amazing venue for the overnight stay of our 2 day 1 night safari with Pollmans. Ignoring the bugs and other insecty creatures it was a good overnight base.

Sitting in the breakfast room watching 50-100 red elephants walking down the hillside towards you was amazing.

A must do !!!

Room Tip: Our room (305) did not look over the watering hole and none of the rooms have air-con making it a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bambi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place definitely worth going !! Elephants and monkeys to be seen ! Staff lovely and helpful ! Safari areas are lovely and the sun rise and set were gorgeous thank you very much ! Lots of bugs and bats but it's fine there are nets in the rooms and nets over the Windows !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovercarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
45.6 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
34.7 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
40.3 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
41.3 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
47.8 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Address: | Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo National Park West, Kenya (Formerly Salt Lick Safari Lodge)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the private Taita Hills Sanctuary, bordering Tsavo West National Park in south-eastern Kenya, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is a truly unique concept consisting of 96 rooms elevated on stilts, each overlooking a waterhole and linked by suspended walkways. At night, the waterholes are floodlit ensuring that you enjoy an uninterrupted view of the numerous animals arriving to quench their thirst. The elevated restaurant, and the bar a level higher, also offer stunning views of the sanctuary and are the ideal vantage points to view game. The lodge has its own fleet of well-equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. The climate is very moderate with temperatures averaging between 18 and 30 degrees Celsius all year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November and December. Due to the unique layout of the lodge, it is not suitable for children below 8 years. Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. The lodge is a one-hour flight from Nairobi or 30 minutes from Mombasa by private charter which lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The Sanctuary is a 3-hour drive from Mombasa and a 6-hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. So, if you intend to make the most out of your African safari holidays, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is the right place to be. No matter if you plan to head-over to Nairobi or Mombasa, the Lodge turns out to be a perfect check-in option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Salt Lick Game Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing