We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kalix, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed June 28, 2007

During our second holiday to Kenya, we also did a safari again and visited also Tsavo West and Kilaguni Serena Lodge, staying there for 1night/2days in June 2007.

Food was excellent (as always at Serena Lodges), friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms with a wonderful view of the nearby waterhole and the hills and Kilimanjaro at the horizon. There is a swimmingpool as well, which looked inviting, but which we didn`t have time to use because we were so busy watching the many animals like buffalos, zebras, ostriches, a hyena, antelopes, a giraffe, lots of birds etc coming and going to and from the waterhole and the surroundings.
There were a mongoose mansion just outside the lodge when we were there in June 2007 and you could sit on the viewing deck watching the little ones coming out to play. They were really cute and entertained us for quiet a while!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Kilaguni Serena Lodge in Tsavo West very much and we would recommend this lodge!
Annika&Peter from Sweden

  • Liked — The wonderful views & the little mongoose family
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annika32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    122
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
207
342
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed here for one night as part of our safari and really enjoyed our stay.

We stayed in one of the older rooms and having seen pictures from previous reviews of the newer rooms, i would strongly suggest that you stay in the newer ones. The older rooms are comfortable and clean but could do with some urgent renovating.

However, as the experience went, it was fantastic.

There is a large watering hole right in front of the hotels' bar and restaurant facilities and various animals drink from it all day long. During the morning, there were 100s of buffulos and throughout the day, zebras, antelopes, ostriches etc visited.

At night, we saw a few elephants and giraffes. It is a spectacular back drop to enjoy a drink - and there is no fence to stop them entering the resort - however, none did.

The meals and restaurant was good and the staff polite.

I would definately go back again, however, i would query the price of the newer rooms.

  • Liked — Views of the watering holes
  • Disliked — older rooms
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mands78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Me and my boyfriend stayed here as part of our safari in March 2007. When we arrived at the lodge, we received a very welcoming staff. The grounds at the lodge are well kept and there are some nice gardens. The room is very pleasant with a balcony directly overlooking at the waterhole. There is no TV in the room and the rooms are quite basic but they are clean and there is all the necessary things such as nice comfy bed, shower and electrics. It's nice and peaceful there as well, we often would sit in our balcony at night time watching the buffalos and many monkies coming to drink from the waterhole. The restaurant is large in size and has wonderful food on offer and there is plenty of it. Service is good but one thing I would say is that the drinks are expensive averaging £3.00 for a bottle of beer and £4.00 for a glass of wine still with an early start for a safari one can't afford to have a hangover!! We both enjoyed our stay in this lodge and we would definitely recommend it to anyone. Tsavo West where the lodge is located is huge. Unfortunately the view to animals isn't great in Tsavo West being so bushy and also as you are not allowed to go off the beaten track. Still you will encounter the usual such as elephants, giraffes, antilopes etc.

  • Liked — The view to the waterhole and the room itself with a nice balcony
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything we didnt' like
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank annamariewatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

I have been to Kilaguni lodge several times. I am an enthusiastic traveller, and grazy about beautiful places, hotels of character and lux. When it comes to interiors, there are far more stylish and elegant lodges in Kenya, even in Tsavo. But nothing really beats the scenary and the ambiance that it causes in Kilaguny lodge. Dining in front of the water hole is unforgettable expirience. Shame it is lightly touristy (big groups, not a perfect food), but who cares really, when you have a view like that.

  • Liked — the view, animals
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank huliFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

We stayed at the Serena Kilaguni on the second night of our safari. We arrived there at lunchtime and were greeted with a cold towel and drink.

Our room was on the ground floor, overlooking the watering hole, It was as close to the animals as possible as there was nothing stopping them from coming right up to the terrace. The rooms were comfortable, but could do with some improvements. For example, a ceiling fan would have made our night more comfortable. We had also stayed at Vio Wildlife lodge and found the rooms to be far better there.

That said, the lodge overall was out of this world. The views over the watering hole and Mount Kilamanjaro took your breath away. We had lunch, which was buffet style and was fantastic, followed by a couple of hours by the pool. After our evening game drive, we went straight back to the bar to watch the sun go down whilst having a few hard earned drinks overlooking the watering hole. Then it was time for a quick shower and change, and back to the restaurant,

We were lucky enough to be visited by an lone elephant, as well as a heard of buffalo, gazelles, dik-diks, hyena and baboons. A waiter told us that he had not seen an elephant there for 4 months.

In the morning, there were many gazelles just a stone's throw away from our terrace. There was nothing between us and them and it was magical. But it was soon time to leave the lodge, and after a lovely breakfast, we were on our way back to our beach hotel.

  • Liked — The watering hole
  • Disliked — the rooms could be improved
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank catloverKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We only stayed in this hotel for one night while on safari, but we were very impressed and would love to go back to stay for longer. The hotel is set in lovely grounds filled with colourful trees and flowers and the restaurant / bar area looks out onto a water hole which had a constant presence of animals during our short stay. We were given a free upgrade to one of the suites and I can highly recommend them. The room was very large, with a four poster bed, lovely bathrooms (which are very much appreciated after a long day on safari!) and superb views from the window. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic and the food was among the best we had in Kenya. The service was also excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, an outstanding hotel.

  • Liked — Rooms, food, views.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnlfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

Stayed here for one night on our Tsavo Safari. This lodge is absolutely first class and was one of the highlights of our safari.

The views from the restaurant and the bar are breathtaking. The food and service was excellent. The rooms in our lodge cottage was just beautiful, combining local features with first class facilities.

Definitely recommend this lodge and the wonderful staff that work there.

Just a tip, if you are going with First Choice on an all inclusive trip to Kenya like myself, please remember that drinks are not included in your safari lodges and have to be paid seperately. You can of course charge everything onto your room and pay when checking out!

  • Liked — the food, service in the restaurant and magnificant views
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maver1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park West
45.6 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
732 reviews
28.0 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
321 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
301 reviews
28.4 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
155 reviews
14.8 mi away
Campi ya Kanzi
Campi ya Kanzi
#10 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Tsavo West National Park in Kenya, the lodge commands a magnificent view second to none which extends to the rugged scenic Chyulu Hills in this 7065 square km park. The snowy dome of Mt. Kilimanjaro creates a perfect back drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilaguni Serena Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Hotel Kilaguni Serena Safari
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing