We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveler rating
684
138
16
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
138
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole tsavo west water hole mzima springs guinea fowl chyulu hills dining hall safari lodge watching the animals lava flow ceiling fan amazing views game drives the food is great bar and restaurant seating area buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 843 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2018

From the moment Geoffrey collected us from Mtito Andei train station in our safari vehicle we had the best time. The lodge is great, very well designed. The bar/restaurant overlooks the watering hole which is lit up at night and the numbers of elephants, giraffes, zebras and other animals we viewed there was amazing before even going our on our 3 safari drives. Our interconnecting rooms were spacious and luxurious with views of the watering hole (and Mount Kilimanjaro when clear). The night when I heard noises outside our room about 11.00 pm and saw a group of elephants just metres from our terrace was really special. The food was delicious and the staff were lovely and so kind with our 18 month old granddaughter. The pool was an added bonus for cooling down in the afternoon. Thank you Kilaguni and Geoffrey.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled with family
Thank Tessa132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Assistant Lodge Manager at Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Dear our esteemed Guest. Receive warm greetings from Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge and thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are happy to see your feedback complimenting our Lodge as great and well designed. I have also noted that our waterhole which is richly visited by all animals and the view of Mt. Kilimanjaro were a great comfort for you. We are happy to note that Geoffrey and other staff you encountered made your holiday a memorable one.
We will be excited to host you again in the near future and get another privilege to serve you.

Best regards,

Simon Muhoro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

The lodge is modeled on an old-style hunting-lodge with plenty of wood everywhere and full of character. The entrance to reception leads directly through to the dining area, bar and terrace all of which is open plan and leading to the star attraction... the waterholes which are constantly in use day & night. You could almost spend your safari on the terrace without needing to leave the comfort of the lodge!

Being night-lit the evening's entertainment at the waterhole as you dine is just jaw-dropping, specially when two competing herds of ellies pitch-up at the same time from different directions; the interaction is just great to watch. In addition to the main stars of Ellies & Buffalo, there's Zebra, Giraffe, Oryx, Warthogs, Gazelles, Hyenas and we also saw a Jackal lurking in the background...

While most people only stay 1 or 2 nights, we were booked for 4 and consequently, treated almost like royalty! We were very well looked after and all staff were friendly and smiley with a warming 'Jambo' at each encounter. Our wait-staff looked after us very well, and we enjoyed a free bottle of wine on the house for our 'long' stay - very much appreciated...

In addition we celebrated a birthday while there, and had the staff serenade us with 'Jambo Bwana' and 'Happy Birthday' all accompanied by cake :-) THANK YOU!

All-up the lodge is excellent and we had no negatives at all. The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice sitting area, and, of course, a deck overlooking the waterhole; superb!

Our guide/driver, Stephen, did a great job for us - even finding us a quick, but nice & close, sighting of a young male Leopard... and we had the benefit of being the only occupants of the game vehicle so we had plenty of room to move around both sides of the car without problems for our photography :-)

The park however is not for first-timers on safari; it can be quite a challenge for sightings with the scrub; but we chose Tsavo West as our last stop, of three parks, specifically for the different geography. You will see most things, but you need some patience; it's probably not best for youngsters...

Over our trip we stayed in three parks and three lodges, and all were very good, but the Kilaguni Lodge topped our list of the three. As the headline says; superb!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms nearest reception give the best views of the waterhole...
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EOS-User
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Assistant Lodge Manager at Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Dear guest. Jambo. Cordial greetings from Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge.
It was great hosting you for the four nights giving you our usual Serena superb experience.
Thank you for complimenting the concept depicted in our Lodge and the great comfort in offers. I have noted that you enjoyed the excellent attraction from our waterhole just from your dinning table. We are happy at your impression of been "treated like loyalty by friendly staff and warm greetings". We were excited to celebrate your birthday together as Kilaguni family.
We remain grateful to you and looking forward for another chance to serving you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Simon Muhoro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This was the best of the five lodges we stayed in. Very comfortable bedroom, very clean. Food was good though choice diminished towards the end of service. Drinks were expensive.

The best thing about this lodge is the waterhole (floodlit in the evening) which can be viewed from the open dining / bar / lounge area. This attracts a wide variety of birds and animals that can be viewed at leisure. If we came back here we would spend at least two nights to give us a whole day watching the water hole.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Assistant Lodge Manager at Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Graham. Warm greetings from Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge and thank you for your recent stay with us.
We appreciate and value your feedback. Thank you for tagging us as the best Lodge you have stayed in and your compliment of our clean and comfortable bedrooms. I also note that you enjoyed the good choice of food while watching a lot of animals and birds visiting the waterhole. We thank you for been our ambassador out there.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Simon Muhoro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Had a 1 night stay at the lodge as part of our safari holiday in Kenya in January.

Overall layout was that the resort is spacious and well

Room was basic but comfortable and had a fantastic view (although if you’re a bit Squemish with lizards etc may not be too great!)

Food was good, hot and plentiful.

Staff were friendly and helpful with one member of staff (sorry can’t remember his name) being particularly friendly and helpful pointing out red billed hornbills and lizards to us and telling us about them which we appreciated and found a nice touch.

It was fantastic sat at the bar (day or night) looking out at the waterhole. Unfortunately did not see any of the Big 5 there but saw lots of zebra, antelope and hyena.

Did not do any of the additional tours provided by the hotel and these also seemed expensive.

Would recommend a stay at this lodge if in this part of Kenya.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank DizzyBlonde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Assistant Lodge Manager at Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Guest, Jambo.
Warm greetings and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your compliment of our comfortable rooms with a fantastic view. The waterhole is visited regularly by all animals in herds especially the elephants and buffaloes, and sometimes leopards and lions. It is unfortunate that during your stay the big five never showed up as usual. I hope your next visit will be crowned by these.
We also appreciate your recommendation as a place to stay while in Kenya. We take pride in this and give our best to deliver services beyond the quests expectations.
We remain grateful to you and looking forward to host you in the near future.

Best regards,
Simon Muhoro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

As a family we had just one night here at Kilaguni lodge. It is hard to put into words the joy of spending the night watching these fantastic animals visit this waterhole. We watched from our balcony as over 50 elephants came and went after refreshing themselves. At 2am I was woken to take pictures of 2 male lions drinking side by side. I challenge anyone to get a good night's sleep here... it is far too exciting for sleep. Not to be missed !!!!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank alann527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Assistant Lodge Manager at Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear Alan,

Greetings from Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge and thank you for your recent visit with your family. We were privileged to host you and express our usual Serena hospitality. We appreciate your taking time to share feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed a wonderful view of all animals visiting our waterhole which are seen both from the rooms and the restaurant.
We are looking forward to hosting you and your family more often in not a distant future.

With warm regards,
Simon Muhoro.

Assistant Lodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews