We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with a romantic view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing place with a romantic view”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 1 night at this lodge. We booked a 3 day Tsavo East + West safari with JT Safaris and the whole experience with this company was just amazing and we definitely recommend it to everyone. They were professional and reliable and we had lots of fun during our rides.
This lodge is located in a beautiful countryside with a wonderful views. There's a watering hole and just from your room you can watch all the animals coming for drink. In the middle of the night we saw about 25 elephants, zebras, giraffes, buffaloes,... It was really a once in a lifetime experience.
The lodge is very luxurious with very comfy rooms. We made use of a swimming pool in between our safari rides. The restaurant offers wide varieties of meals, fruits, vegetables and delicious deserts. While eating, we enjoyed the view of Kilimanjaro. The staff were nice and would do anything for us.
We really had a lovely time and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuzpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    121
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
203
339
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, tr
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Kilaguni might not have the luxury charm of some of the top tented camps in Kenya, but the view from the main hall of the lodge is one of the most spectacular on the planet.
Just arriving from the long and dusty road, without too many spectacular sighting (this is Tsavo, after all, not Masai Mara), we set on the veranda and could not believe our eyes: elephant herds (plural) were descending on the waterhole a few hundred meters from our eyes.
It did not stop there: giraffes, waterbucks, zebras and buffalos went on parading in front of our eyes for the whole lunch.
Travelling with a young kid, who gets bored in the long game drives, there couldn't be a better location. You do not actually want to leave the place to go on another drive (drives are well worthy if you have a good driver, thou: we did see lions and leopards, and these do not come to the waterhole).
Not everything else is perfect: the rooms are charming and with amazing views (our a bit more angular and less extensive than from the main hall), but a bit on the small side.
The grounds are green and well kept, but the pool is a bit dingy and cloudy. Finally, the food is nothing to write home about, and an unclear sitting policy makes it so that you might sit a bit removed from the waterhole, and the view is not as enjoyable, or private.
Still, these are minor complaints: we treasured every second at Kilaguni: we moved to fancier camps the morning after, but we missed here, and that's where we will definitely stay if we return to Tsavo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yudhisthira70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This lodge is Tsavo West is really comfortable. Rooms and Restuarant overlook waterhole. Sightings from room balcony included elephant, waterbuck, ostrich, zebra, giraffe, hyena, leopard, baboon, impala etc. naturalist free service is a room phone call if an animal is spotted, which you have placed on their list. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Buffet meals are adequate. Drives in park are pleasant. View from room balcony also includes Mount Kiliminjaro. In the area the Lava covered plaines are unique and a visit to Mzima Springs for crocodile and hippo is a must, includes an underwater viewing tank of the riverbed with fish. Enjoyable visit, hope to return!

Room Tip: Rooms overlook waterhole. Suites are nice! Request dining table on edge of Restuarant overlooking wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ SA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed only 1 night at this lodge. The views from both our room and the restaurant were fantastic- with elephants coming to the water hole whilst we ate our evening meal. The meal was great too with a great selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaian1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as the second night of a 2 night safari booked with JT safaris. The lodge is in an excellent location, with the watering hole directly in front. We booked a suite, and the standard of the room was excellent. The staff could not do enough for you. The food during our stay was also excellent, and we spent all of our meals with a clear view of the watering hole watching the animals come and go. After a good nights sleep, we woke up to a great view of Kilimanjaro. It was a great end to a truly great safari.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharkey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

A top one location for a lodge. The waterhole below the balcony offers hours of intense animal watching. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very luxuriant, perhaps almost too much In the sense that you really do not want to spend too much time In there with all the magnificent animals just outside.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flemming A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Kilaguni Serena was our 3rd place to stay in an 8 day safari and we arrived here tired and dusty from Amboseli Serena after a good few hours travel (our jeep sprung a flat tyre and we were set upon by wasps - all part of the adventure) to be met with cold mango juice and hot face towels. We are a family party comprising dad, mum and 2 children - 1 adult and 1 teen. Our room set up wasn't as we had expected on arrival but within 5 minutes we had been allocated our keys and had been given suites 1 and 2. An upgrade - totally unexpected. Suite 1 veranda overlooked the waterhole to a good point. Fluffy bathrobes and spacious rooms and fabulous showers. Absolutely top class place to stay.

The view from the bar and restaurant is simply heaven. Sitting there with a cocktail watching the sun go down on the Chiluyu Hills with Mount Kilimanjaro in the distance was a dream come true and none of us could quite believe it. Our allocated table overlooked the waterhole where we sat watching the animals come down to drink. One young elephant in particular stayed ages and seemed to be warming first one ear and then the other on the floodlights. We had been hoping to see a leopard in Tsavo but didn't although a deafening altercation in the night between an elephant and some type of cat had us sitting bolt upright in bed! (The night staff come and wake you if you want them to if a leopard comes down to the waterhole in the night - amazing!)

Food was wonderful and staff so utterly friendly. We didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked lovely. We only had 1 night there but will not hesitate to go back and if you want luxury mixed with friendliness and total relaxation this is where you should go. I have no idea how much it cost as it was part of a safari package with F King Safaris (whom we would highly recommend) but whatever the cost, we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
45.6 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
712 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
87 reviews
28.0 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
299 reviews
28.4 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
153 reviews
42.2 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Tsavo West National Park in Kenya, the lodge commands a magnificent view second to none which extends to the rugged scenic Chyulu Hills in this 7065 square km park. The snowy dome of Mt. Kilimanjaro creates a perfect back drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilaguni Serena Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Hotel Kilaguni Serena Safari
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing