We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel; excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a great time staying here for one night as part of a 3 day safari. The location is absolutely amazing. From the restaurant and room balconies you look out onto a watering hole which is frequented by many animals and an evening routine of zebra, antelope, leopard, elephant, buffalo, and lion drinking from the waterhole which is directly in front of you - fabulous viewing. The rooms are delightful and bathrooms lovely with wonderful white fluffy towels. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbrown35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 765 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My breath was taken away when we walked into the reception of this lodge. The views are out of this world and no photo can capture and do justice to the incredible sight that met our eyes.
I was lucky to be part of a great group of ten people who really made the holiday - Thankyou!
Check in was quick and efficient and we got a cold flannel and refreshing drink.
The rooms were really lovely (kuoni know how to look after their clients) and had views to die for. They had bath robes, toiletries, mozzie spray and coil, mozzie wipes and bottled water.
Coffee, tea and cake was available in the bar area. This was much needed before the early morning game drives. You could sit and watch the comings and goings of the animals at the water hole, as well as admire Kilimanjaro, before you hunted for more wildlife in the bush. The baboon babies are a delight to watch and the busy guinea fowl cannot be taken seriously. ( thanks Hannah for that phrase!)
The grounds are lovely- there are beautiful butterflies, gorgeous bougainvillea, as well as numerous lovely lizards.
In the evening, during dinner, we had many visitors to the waterhole. It was if each group of animal had its own time slot. (Like tickets at a deli counter) We saw lots of elephants, several of which came snacking at the vegetation next to the dining area. You'll get some amazing photographs, but it's great just to sit and watch quietly. We were lucky to see a leopard one night. It stood right under one of the flood lights.
Don't expect to get much sleep as the elephants were quite noisy and so were the hyenas. I was up and down; up and down when I heard something and looked at the water hole. ( which I could see from my room window) I was scared to miss anything, but at the same time not wanting to be too tired for the game drives the following day. Expect to be buzzing from what you' ve experienced, as well as being in eager anticipation for what lies ahead- not the best recipe for a good nights sleep.
Enjoy your stay. It's a privilege and I feel very lucky to have been here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed one night as part of a safari, wished it had been more, photos cannot do the scene from the restaurant justice,also great views from room although we did not have much time to spend in them. Do not hesitate to book this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good lodge by Serena. We went there by road from Nairobi and was easily located. Watering hole had plenty of animals including zebras, antelopes, buffaloes and herds of elephants in the evening.

Rooms are well located and spacious with all the basic amenities, nothing too luxurious.

Great selection of food during breakfast, lunch and dinner. and they also have themed evenings so you can experience the best of African food here too.

We opted for a night game drive offered by the lodges and so plenty of nocturnal animals which you wouldn't see in the day drive.

Room Tip: Try get rooms furthest away from the the main area if you want privacy. One night we had a herd of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dPatel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Kenya, and stayed at this lodge during our safari to Tsavo west, our safari was organised by Jt safaris (Julius tact safaris) he booked us into the Kilimanjaro suite and gave us the best safari we could of imagined!. When arriving at kilaguni it looked fantastic! Very clean and the gardens were immaculate, the views from the restaurant are the best views I have ever seen of anything!! Panaramic ain't the word!. We was shown to our suite and WOW what a room! I will put pics up soon.The Food,service and place is the best! Me and my wife highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night only sadly....as part of a 3 night 4 day Safari with JT Safaris (See separate review of this first class operator...).
With my wife's name being Serena we were treated like Royalty as are all guest from my point of view....the staff, as most Kenyans were warm and friendly and very helpful. The room and view were superb and the location of the dining area overlooking the waterhole and on a clear day Kilimanjaro breathtaking. The waterhole attract all sorts of wildlife life both large and small and you can spend hours just watching them come and go. The room we had was very luxurious, spacious and very clean. The service in the restaurant and quality of food was top class and I did enjoy by champagne breakfast whilst watching the Elephants......Of the three lodges we visited this was by far the best and I just wish we could have spent a few more days here.

Room Tip: It is not thunder you hear in the morning but the Baboons roosting on the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I simply cannot describe what an amazing time you will have at this lodge. The view of the water hole is incredible we saw Hyenas, Baboons, Elephants, Giraffe, Zebra to name a few.
The rooms are fantastic and the hotel facilities, including the food and the pool are brilliant. We only spent one evening at this lodge as part of an incredible safari with JT Safaris however I would have loved to have stayed at this lodge for the full two weeks of my time in Kenya. If I could choose to spend an evening anywhere in the World then I would be having dinner at this lodge watching the animals after a fabulous day with JT Safaris.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the water hole are the best on a high floor. JT Safaris organised for us to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
45.6 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
778 reviews
28 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
346 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ngulia Safari Lodge
Ngulia Safari Lodge
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
316 reviews
10.4 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
161 reviews
42.3 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range: $262 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Tsavo West National Park in Kenya, the lodge commands a magnificent view second to none which extends to the rugged scenic Chyulu Hills in this 7065 square km park. The snowy dome of Mt. Kilimanjaro creates a perfect back drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilaguni Serena Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Hotel Kilaguni Serena Safari
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing