We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights part of Kuoni Big 5 safari package. This was my first safari experience and will definitely not be my last. This place is absolutely wonderful. The view from the terrace is absolutely out of this world, it looks like someone has painted it! Enjoyed evenings sitting watching animals at waterhole while having a relaxing drink. Rooms were lovely and big. Double sinks in bathroom, large walk-in shower and lots of wardrobe space. Lovely large balcony to sit and view animals. Food very good, lots of choice and staff very welcoming and friendly. Game drives really good saw plenty of animals, was also the choice of doing extra night game drives if you wished, at additional cost. Would love to return here again one day. Amazing place!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 748 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had two nights here as part of our bird watching safari. We loved it. The location is outstanding. The service was great and all the staff we met were cheerful and helpful and Anthony the local bird man gave us good information. You felt everyone wanted you to have a good time. The food was good, the swimming pool was lovely and we we wished we could have stayed longer. It may be a long standing lodge but we hope it keeps going for many more years.

Room Tip: From what we could see any of them.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of naturalworldsafari tours
This has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed at

Pros
The views to the water hole- the safari is brought to you!!!!! We saw A Leopard ,elephants ,zebras , hyenas , giraffes, impalas, jackals

Warm service - shout out to Ruth

Free Wifi

Great food

Cons

Absolutely nothing!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pseudonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I agree with all the great reviews of this place. Stayed here for 2 nights with a group of friends and I wish we could've stayed longer. You are amazed the second you arrive. This place was so beautiful and peaceful with great service and pretty good food. The rooms are spacious and clean, there's a small pool area with a bar and according to my friends the spa was also great and reasonably priced. The best part was being able to sit in the dining/terrace area at any time of the day and watch the animals come to the watering hole. We saw zebras, baboons, gazelles, giraffes, elephants, warthogs, hyenas, and a leopard all without leaving the lodge. I would absolutely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is difficult to describe the feeling that you get when you walk into this lodge, to be greeted by friendly staff with warm towels, a cool drink and the sight of an elephant standing in the sun drinking from the waterhole outside... fantastic.
Food (buffet style) was good and plentyful. and the dining area overlooks the waterhole with its abundant wildlife.
Our room, which was pleasantly furnished and clean also overlooked the waterhole, and sitting outside watching the animals come to drink during the evening was magical, but don't forget the insect repellent!
Recommended - it's a shame that we only had one night here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I cried when I arrived, and again when I left - with happiness on arrival and sadness at leaving. a purely magical place to experience luxury and kenyan hospitality on a safari.
The main entrance leading to the great hall is so inviting and being offered white towels to wipe hands with on arrival was so welcome.
Sitting with a drink on the observation level late into evening looking at the wildlife at watering hole is very peaceful

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Did safari with JT Safaris in January and this was the last lodge we stayed in. What a place!!!! Definitely the best of the 3 we stayed in. 5* without a doubt. Everything you wanted or needed was there. Immaculately clean and the food is out of this world. Imagine eating breakfast with a glass of champagne while watching zebras, giraffes and baboon drinking at the water hole. Fantastic. If you are thinking of doing a safari then book with JT and visit this lodge and you will not regret.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
45.6 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
749 reviews
28.0 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
334 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
305 reviews
28.4 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
156 reviews
42.3 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range: $327 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Tsavo West National Park in Kenya, the lodge commands a magnificent view second to none which extends to the rugged scenic Chyulu Hills in this 7065 square km park. The snowy dome of Mt. Kilimanjaro creates a perfect back drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilaguni Serena Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Hotel Kilaguni Serena Safari
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing