We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Voi”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Voi Wildlife Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid Voi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed there for one night last ear during Easter and we certainly regretted it. While other reviews are right about the location and the fact that you have wild life almost at your window, the service is poor. FIrst it was very expensive (we had just been in a hotel in Malindi for three nights at a better price and much better service- but we wanted to break the 9 hrs drive to Nairobi), staff were not friendly at all very rude and not helpfull. When we wanted to use the tiny pool they have it was full with a very noisy group playing voleyball. The food was terrible, I even spotted something crawling in the buffet!
The rooms are basic for rest, but early in the morning 6am you can hear staff pulling carts for cleaning and guest ready to check-out or go for safari.
We wanted to use the sauna but it was already booked so no option there. If we ever go back to Tsavo certainly will not go to Voi lodge.

Room Tip: Don't take ground floor or close to pool, but better if you select other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    150
    57
    28
    8
See reviews for
87
163
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

.We had lunch here and were impressed with the location just outside the park but with it own water holes. Good decking for viewing, we saw a swimming pool and in the heat of the day a gent using exercise machines prior to cooling off in a spa pool. The property had a well managed feel and was our lunch stop at the end of a totally awesome four day safati with JTSafaris <info@julius-safaris.com>
We arrived just before the 12.00 lunch serving time so had some time to look around and take a few photographs. Would have asked to use their pool if time had allowed to cool off.
Being outside the Park it has a busy lunch trade with a good variety of food. There were a lot of Italians eating when we were there, I suspect they might have hoped for a better tasting ,more Italian, Pasta sauce

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoBigOneGrowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulceby North Licolnshire England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The lodge is like many other in Kenya being old but full of charicture. The food was god with a good varity of dishes. The service was very friendly and the staff most helpful. Thought not actually in the park the animals were on the doorstep. Many elephants around the waterhole.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TBH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My family spent two nights at the Voi Wildlife Lodge in April 2011. The reception was OK with very cheerful and helpful staff. The rooms were OK but not great. However, I give them A+ for a good shower and spacious bathrooms in the rooms. They could improve on the situation with bugs.

The balcony seemed to be monkey territory and we were afraid of using them esp because we had two little children.

The food was OK (not great). A little creativity on the menu could go along way. This being a very hot part of the country, there should have been a lot more iced water and fruit juices on offer. Juice was only served with meals whilst I think there should have been juice throughout. Tea was also served without biscuits or cake. Quite unusual for afternoon tea. I was about to forget this: this is hot African bush. Icecream would have been perfect! Please please please, find a way of serving icecream.

The bar area was OK. But considering it is the only place one could have a beer, they were very over priced. Something like £2.50 a pint in a country where a pint normally costs about £1.00. And the lighting and bugs in the bar was also a problem. They must find a way to remedy that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeblackSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in new extension that was opened in Sep 2011. Rooms are good standard even electric keys didn't work as should be - there was always electricity. Even if key was removed for 4 hours...

French balcony overlooking for new water hole - not in use yet for some reason. Hotel had spa area - you can sweat in sauna and overlook the savanna same time - if you like. Nice looking pool area, bar and restaurant. We were satisfied with this but it didn't match of our other safari hotels so therefore "only" 4*.

Corner rooms in new extension *01 looked bit bigger tan others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delfiini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

When we booked our safari we were expecting a sort of bare minimum from the lodges, but Voi Wildlife was the first we stayed in and the standards were very good! Nice clean and spacious rooms, viewing the watering hole, with a shower too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma_smallpeice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here on the first night of our 3 night safari whilst staying on the North Mombasa Coast in January 2012. Having read the reviews here I wasn’t expecting anything marvellous. However, it was rather better than I expected. On arrival we were given refreshing cold towels and a fruit juice. The porters took our bags to our room, which was absolutely fine with a great view over the waterhole.
Before our evening game drive we had a swim in the pool which was away from the waterhole. There is one near the waterhole too. Very refreshing! Our game drive went really well, and my daughter, who was on her first ever safari day, said that this had been one of the best days of her life! We had seen a great variety of animals and had taken some super photos.
After showering we went down for dinner. We both had some beef which was carved in front of us. Very nice, but not really enough of it. There were plenty of other choices though. The lodge was quite busy, with tourists coming from all over Europe. Quite a few Italians. There were quite a few bugs flying around the bar area after supper. I could feel something in my hair and flicked it out quickly. There was a loud cracking noise as it hit the floor. It must have flown off or escaped rather quickly because I couldn’t see it in the dimly lit bar area, but I’m sure it was some kind of beetle. The view of a herd of elephant at the floodlit waterhole was excellent!
We were pleased to have the mosquito nets around our beds for the night. In the morning we awoke to a wonderful sunrise. However, when I put my first shoe on I felt something inside it which obviously shouldn’t be there. I tipped out a rather large cockroach. Tip: Check your shoes!
I opened the double glass doors to take a photo of the sunrise. A cheeky monkey soon appeared, looking for food I imagine. I ‘shooed’ him away and he then tried to attack me. I was too quick for him though and shut the door on him. The little devil!
If I was asked would I stay here again, the answer would be no. It’s ok, but there are much nicer, smaller, more luxurious places to stay in Tsavo. I’m not a squeamish person generally, but there were too many bugs around for my liking. I know, we were in Africa, but other places where we stayed didn’t have the same amount of bugs that this place did.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zirconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park East hotels
6.0 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
52.4 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.7 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
25.1 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
55.8 mi away
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park East
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voi Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voi Wildlife Lodge

Property: Voi Wildlife Lodge
Address: Voi Road, Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voi Wildlife Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voi Wildlife Lodge is located in the Savannah grasslands of Tsavo East, Kenya, just 5 km off the main highway connecting the capital Nairobi to Mombasa. Officially opened in 2003, the lodge is situated on a 25-acre site on the boundary of Tsavo East National Park, one of Kenya's largest game parks with spectacular views of nearby volcanic outcrops, such as the Kasigau, Sagalla and Mwakingali Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Voi Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voi Wildlife Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Voi Wildlife Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing