We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will return to Patterson Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patterson's Safari Camp
High River
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“will return to Patterson Camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

What a wonderful experience to stay at this camp. The staff was so eager to serve us, which was a treat for someone from the service industry!!!

We were greeted with a juice and refreshing towel and they gave us a quick briefing of the grounds and what we could do while we were there. Generators run the camp around 6:00pm till 10:00 am.

The tents were very nice, with rattan cots and misquito nettings. Their version of a turn down service is to put the netting in place for you, remove the bedspread, which looked beautiful when we returned to our tent. Flush toilet, shower and sink are in the tent (seperate section).

At night we could hear the hippos jumping into the river. Maasi warriors guard the campground as Elephants and Hippos do come over. In fact you are not allowed to walk around after dark with out one of these warriors!!!!

In the morning we went on a nature walk with the warriors who stayed up all night to guard. They showed us were the Elephants and hippos came at night! Monkeys also run around the campground!

4 course meal at dinner, hot breakfast and a take away box lunch were all included in the price.

There is even a small gift shop and you can watch the movie about Col. Patterson who trapped and killed the man eaters (lions) who were killing the railroad builders in 1896.

The staff even sang us a song when we left, and we promptly sang O Canada for them!

This camp is one of the nicer accomodations we stayed at, and totally recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessleahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

this place is beautiful. It is right on the banks of the river and has a lovely set up. The staff were fantastic, the food is very tasty and filling - not extensive choice as it's not a buffet but still when you think where you are it's fantastic. When we went they hadn't had water for 2 years so the river had really shrunk but we still saw elephant, giraffe and a hippo just outisde our tent:) really amazing experience. The only down side was that the animals and the best parts of Tsavo East are about an hour drive away -towards Voi. This camp is slightly off the beaten track but thats why it was so nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

Having watched the movie "Ghost in the darkness" we felt compelled to try this tented camp named after Col. Patterson.

Its quite a long journey from Mombasa along the main Nairobi highway, through the town of Voi. You turn right off the highway, just past the second "maneaters bridge" - the original Patterson bridge is no more. You then bump your way for about 15 minutes down a narrow track until you reach Pattersons camp.

The camp isn't in the reserve (Tsavo East) but is constructed along the banks of a river, amongst trees. This was dried up when we went. The staff give you a warm welcome and show you to comfortable tents (under makuti frames), double beds and ensuite. Meals were very good - hot and served promptly and the bar bill was reasonable.

In the evening they play "Ghost in the darkness" on a TV in a lounge area - just to put you in the mood!

We didn't see much around the camp - elephants wandered through - but the overall experience was good.

The downside is the fact that the camp is outside of the reserve so you have to drive up the narrow lane, onto the main road, into Tsavo East every time you go on a game drive.

  • Liked — History of the area and Col. Patterson
  • Disliked — outside the reserve
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tembofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

We took a couple of days off work and visited this tented camp situated outside the national park.
its a 3 and a half hour drive from Nairobi and 9km's off the main road.
There is not much to see there in terms of wild game besides the resident elephants and the crocodiles and hippos.
its set in a rivering setting and all tents have a view of the tsavo river.
We got there around 10am and were welcomed by the manager (Hannigton) who showed us around the camp.
We chose the tent that we liked and settled down to relax awaiting lunch.
The staff is very VERY helpful and they are really polite and ready to go out of their way to make your stay special.
We were the only people there for the second night but that did not mean that the quality went down in any way.We still got excellent meals that the chef discussed with us in terms of preference.
Overall, the tents are quite spacious with comfortable beds,the patio furniture needs to be changed as it is a bit uncomfortable.The showers are real safari style showers where the staff heat water and pour it into a drum at the precise time you ask them to.

On the second night the guards actually showed us a leopard on the opposite side of the river using their floodlights.

All in all, i would definitely go there again, if not for the game then definitely for a relaxing weekend break as their staff is the best and the food excellent.

Thumbs up to this tented camp.

  • Liked — the location. breezy and so quiet.its at one with nature.
  • Disliked — the orad leading to the tented camp from the mainroad.
  • Tips/Secrets — leave early so you can get there early and enjoy the view and the place.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visu_kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
32.4 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
42.6 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
20.6 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
28.5 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
44.4 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patterson's Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patterson's Safari Camp

Property: Patterson's Safari Camp
Address: Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Patterson's Safari Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Patterson`s Safari Camp Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Patterson's Safari Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing