We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Galdessa Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galdessa Camp
Reviewed March 12, 2014

What can be more stunning than breakfast by the river with hippos & elephants just few steps from you? Very nice camp, clean & luxury. Perfect food with helpful staff. You are in the heart of Tsavo east, but don't worry, you can feel safe, protecting by masai guys. Thank you Galdessa :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio M, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Lucia, I am glad you have enjoyed your stay at Galdessa. At Galdessa the wildlife come to you, right in front of your tent and restaurant, this is the magic of being on the Galana river bank, you do not need to go on a game drive. We hope to have more visitors from your country and to have you back again . Thank you Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Galdessa Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 216 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We traveled to Galdesa Camp from Mombasa with Somak Holidays, After entering the National Park we drove toward Galdesa Camp and instantly we were on safari, Our driver was amazing and pointed out all the animals and places of interest and as we drove along we found out how much work these guys had to do to be a guide, 2 years of schooling and exams along the way certainly came into ts own as he was a mindful of information.On the way in to the camp,it was hard to see that the camp was actually there as it is really hidden in the park.On arrival we were greeted by some of the staff with a welcome as big as their country, being shown to our tent took our breath away and the view was stunning. Sleeping in the fence less camp was great as elephants, hyena's and various wild animals walk around the tent within inches of the canvas walls! A Masai Warrior stands guard outside all night to ward off adventitious animals which made the whole experience just that " an experience"

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebuck384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio M, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your nice review and I'm glad you enjoyed your safari.The fact that Galdessa is located on the Galana river is our biggest luck. Hippos and Elephants are regular visitors in to the camp and they have right of way. To sleep under your makuti roof surrounded by wildlife is an unforgettable experience ! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Situated along the famaous second longest river in Kenya(Galana River), Galdessa camp is not only the best but an awasome safari camp in Tsavo east owing to its locations, staff & management services, lovely tents all with a view of the river and a wonderful wildlife corridor for a easy game drive. I have been a friquent client in this camp, and believe me, every visit gives me and my clients a lovely experience!

We are always welcomed warmly with a smile upon arrival right from the porters, reception & the manager, hence feeling at home, away from home. The meals are excellent and the locations plus the general cleanliness of the tents can not pass without a vote,..Its all awasome!

I would recomment this luxury camp for those who looking for the real African safari adventures, in the middle of wilderness!

Room Tip: All the rooms overlooking the Galana river offering a fantastic view to the nature and its unending...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo Savannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio M, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for being so generous with your feedback and for having visited us so many times. We consider you now a friend and not only a guest. We hope to have you back with us soon during your next visit to Kenya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is an exquisitely designed and built small luxury tented camp along the mighty red Galana river at the base of the Yatta plateau. The tented rooms are perched up on a bank of the river where one can sit with early morning tea/coffee brought by smiling Elvis, the tent steward, and watch the hippos saunter down from their nightly grazing, and splash into the river. Everything is quiet except for the grunts of the hippos and the bird songs. The highpoint was our early morning walk along the river and crocodiles, with Harrison the field guide, Valentine the armed game ranger from Kenya Wildlife and "Cocha" the 78 year old hunter from the tribe that used to live in these hills, who explained how his people used the various wild plants.
Only suggestions for improvements: more varied menu options with less heavy meat-based hot lunches and dinners, not so appealing in the humid heat.

Room Tip: all the tented rooms are good
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bush-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio M, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review! I'm glad you enjoyed our camp and the service provided by our team, glad you met Kocha, he is a very special person, his knowledge of the bush and the TSavo Eats area is second to none! We will surely consider your suggestion related to menus. We look forward to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Galdessa has all it requires to be one of the great, classic, luxury bush camps: a wonderful wild location at the banks of the Galana river, at the foot of the Yatta plateau. Elegant tents, with enough space in between for ultimate privacy, great views across the river and plateau, not far from the Lugard's Falls. Restaurant, Bar and Lounge under a huge palm leaf roof. The whole place is within thick riverine bush dotted with majestic dhoum palms. It has indeed a very wild altmosphere, yet there's all the comfort you would expect from a luxury camp. This is not the place to expect a turquoise pool or WLAN, you rather watch out for elephant and hippos walking through the camp! Food was great, with an Italian touch. Not too much choice but always great taste! The personnel and service quality was on a rather high level and we really enjoyed Joseph to guide us day and night and arrange everything around us.
The only questionable thing was the host / manager. A nice lady indeed, but somehow didn't seem to fit into the bush. No knowledge or feeling for the bush it seemed she would rather lead a nice B&B somewhere in more civilized areas. No criticism as such, we just felt this would be a great place for someone that really feels home in the bush and would have a story to tell.
Very recommendable and always again!

Room Tip: The private camp is individual and with a wonderful view, for a party of 3 tents.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LONDOLOZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfajiri, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and that you loved the camp. I have shared your comment with Sylvia the camp manager, it is not a easy position for a lady to run a bush camp and she does a wonderful job in managing out team and keeping the camp in excellent condition. Thomas our guide is more involved with keeping in relations with our guests. We hope to have you again with us! Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in three camps during our safari in Kenya, and each one seemed to get better and better - and just when we thought it couldn't get any better, we stayed at Galdessa on our final night! The natural beauty of the setting of the camp is second to none - located on the river banks of a river filled with hippos and crocodiles. The restaurant and tents overlook the river and there is definitely lots to see/hear! The camp is not enclosed, like the other camps we stayed in, so you have to be accompanied to and from your tent - especially at night when the hippos come up onto the river bank to eat, we even heard them eating around our tent as we went to sleep! On top of all that the rooms were truly luxurious, as soon as we saw them we got the camera straight out, absolutely beautiful. If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay, in a natural environment, Galdessa Camp is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfajiri, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Jessica, thank you Ellen for this wonderful review, your kind and generous words mean a lot to us all! We hope to have you back soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our first night was at Galdessa which was beautiful. The tents were lovely and the lounge/dining areas were both comfortable and relaxing. We did have to spend some time with our guide dodging a one tusked elephant who took an instant dislike to my wife and tried to stalk him round the tents but this just added to the excitement

i really enjoyed the stay at Galdessa, i would like to eccomend it to every one interested to visit Kenya

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
23.8 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
307 reviews
23.0 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
528 reviews
25.3 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
383 reviews
48.3 mi away
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park East
23 reviews
13.3 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galdessa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galdessa Camp

Address: Tsavo National Park East 454, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galdessa Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to maintenance work Galdessa Camp will be closed from the 1st November 2016. We are not able to communicate at the moment the re-opening date that will be announced as soon as we can avail the exact entity of the work to be carried out. Located along the Galana river, in wildest and most secluded location of Tsavo East National park, this stunning camp's main focus is on relaxation and letting the wildlife come to you right in front of your tent. Galdessa sits beneath giant doum palms, 15 kilometres upstream from Lugard's Falls, with its elegant thatch-and-canvas tents, overlooking the meandering waters of the Galana River, Galdessa offers the ultimate 'bush style' safari experience. Game drives in open vehicles, walking safaris along the Galana River and sand rivers. Sundowners, bush breakfast. The camp's direct area is a home to over 51 black rhino. Tsavo East National Park is a Wilderness area and the game can be shy but it offers great bio-diversity. Uncommon species seen there include lesser kudu, gerenuk, fringed eared oryx, hirola and Peter's gazelle. The area is renowned for elephants particularly during the dry season. Tsavo a bird watcher paradise being particularly rich in birdlife. SUGGESTED STAY TO REALLY APPRECIATE WHAT WE CAN OFFER 3 NIGHTS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galdessa Camp Tsavo East National Park Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Galdessa Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing