We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't match up to expectation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galdessa Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galdessa Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't match up to expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lovely staff and ok food, but the camp is still in the 1990s and really is not worth the price. It's too hot - there wasn't a breath of a breeze all day: plunge pools outside every tent - like Elephant Bedroom in Samburu - would be one answer. These can be covered by canvas when not in use, to prevent elephants from drinking from them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfajiri, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are sorry that while you were at Galdessa weather was so hot , April is usually the hottest time of the year, you have been very unlucky as it is very unusual to have days without any breeze blowing through the camp. I have also experienced the same problem, one week ago and we have decided to lower the bushes around the camp to have more breeze flowing through. We had a plunge pool and we had to remove it as it was too dangerous because of Elephants and Hippos that can move freely around the camp and can be stopped by canvas cover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    30
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is a beautiful, quiet camp nestled on a bluff above the galana river. this is a luxurious camp so the word tent is used loosely. the tent was inviting and as silly as it may sound, the bathroom and open shower was magnificent. each cottage was private. there are no complaints regarding the tented cottage. situated on the river, you see and hear hippo all day long. monkeys in motion throughout the palm trees at all times. it is a special place.

lunch was fantastic and staying for new year's, i was expecting a grand dinner for new year's eve however this fell short. they did prepare a small turkey however we took our time for dinner service and the bird was pretty much finished when we arrived. we had hoped for a second to appear but it never came.

Joseph, who was our point man for anything needed was most kind. James in the dining area was a treat to spend time with. the common area was open and spacious with great views of the river. we found ourselves hanging out and playing games with the kids to late hours.

if i could think of anything that might improve the already stellar camp would be a swimming pool. if you are to stay, i would ask for a cottage with an open view of the river. our view was fine but there were a bunch of palm trees directly in front of our river view. also, if you are traveling as a couple without children, i would ask for one of the cottages that has there own separate "tree stand" or balcony which appeared to have a couch or day bed. it looked magnificent.

in the evening, the massai walk you to a vehicle and they drive you back to your cottage in a roundabout trip through the bush which the kids were thrilled about. even though it was only a minute or so long, driving through the pitch black bush with only the jeeps headlights on was an incredible, albeit spooky treat. wish we could have dome more of that.

the camp seems popular with italian visitors.

this was an excellent spot to chill out for a few days. regarding the walking safari, it is a guided walk at Luggard Falls which falls short of what we were expecting as a walking safari. overall, it is a special place and i would be happy to return. as far as wildlife in the area surrounding the camp, we did not see too much however on our last day heading back to camp, we did come across a clan of 4 cheetah which was a perfect cap to a nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for a tent without trees in front of the river. the tents with their own private tree stand loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chose Galdessa for our first safari based on TripAdvisor reviews (we booked independently). We spent 3 nights at the camp and then went to their sister property Alfajiri along the coast. Galdessa was fantastic. Syvlia the manager was incredibly attentive, and the game drives and walking safaris were unforgettable. The lodge is small which makes it very intimate, and its location ensures you rarely if ever see anyone else while on a game drive.

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon suite - it has a rooftop deck that's great for watching the river or starin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 and had a marvellous time. We had experienced problems with our car breaking down in Ambrosilia camp and had to wait for another driver to come and collect us from there to reach Galdessa meaning we were late for lunch. Not a problem - a beautiful lunch was served. The evening safari had to be cancelled due to the temporary driver having to leave, however the staff at Galdessa organised for us to join their evening drive which was very kind of them . The lodges are fantastic, with the traditional African showers a great experience. Food throughout the stay was fantastic I don't know how they do it being so remote from everywhere. It is a great experience to enjoy breakfast whilst watching a family of hippo's wallowing in the river and even leaving the water to walk on the banks. Sylvia and her staff went out of their way to help us the following day when we were stranded waiting for our replacement driver and car. My only criticism would be that they do not take credit cards and we perhaps should have been advised of this when the reservation was made. It's a shame as they missed out on selling lots of wine to us - we only had enough cash for a couple of beers. Apart from this a marvellous stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsw4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here nearly a year ago now,

It is a lovely safari camp site, no fences so you are at one with nature. The owner is Italian and is very professional, she greeted us upon arrival and all the staff were also very professional and helpful. The food here is out of this world! To say it's far away from any shops they certainly do serve hot, delicious and fresh food. We had three courses which were all superb every time, this is important being in the middle of nowhere there isn't any other choice or food outlet. The drinks are reasonably priced although we didn't have any alcohol so don't know about that.

The tents are lovely, with HUGE beds with briliant white sheets. It's amazing how clean this place is to say it's in a National Park. From our tent we could see a range of animals and even at dinner also. It was an out of this world experience which we both wished wouldn't end. At night there we lots of lizards in the rooms which can be a little bit of the scary side if your squirmish but you have to remember this is nature and your the one that's in their territory. We did have a hippo outside our tent for a few hours and my fiancé was very panicky about this but I just went to sleep and in the morning we saw massive footprints outside our tent. The Masai keep you safe as the National park is their home so they are knowledgeable and trained in how to defend against any attacks.

Overall is a lovely place and you won't regret going, 5star luxury in the wild.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemima89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The scenery and service were very good! It is nice to be staying a a lodge so closde to the Tsavo river.
The style and architecture are beautiful.
The food was very good.

But sorry: this is a basic place with nice ideas, but far from perfect and thus far from the prices they ask! One may agree that WiFi, Telephone, Credit Cards and aircon are unnecessary services/items when you're in such a magnificient place. BUT not providing all these cannot IMHO make a lodge charge MORE than places of equal quality that do.

However beautiful Galdessa is, for that amount of money; not again!

Room Tip: Book (for no better example) FinchHattons at the same rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnagg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfajiri, Owner at Galdessa Camp, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am not in the picture what you have been charged by the agent that organized your trip to Galdessa, but considering that our rack rates are 196 Euro per person sharing in pick season inclusive of FB accommodation , afternoon tea and coffee and a walking safaris , I can assure you that we are not overpriced. Keep in mind that 70 $ per day have to be added on top as are charged in park fees every 24 hours you are in the park. Galdessa is a wilderness experience, where you travel to enjoy the peace of the nature and the sound of the wild life at night and the roaring water of the Galana river , not to chat on line with the WI-FI or to have a telephone ringing. Also do not expect to find tented camp with AC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed an idyllic couple of days at Galdessa in December. We stayed in the private camp using all three tents, including the honeymoon suite, which were all comfortable and well equipped with large beds. It is difficult to describe the magic of sleeping safely under the stars and feeing so close to the animals. At night the camp is buzzing with a cacophony of animal noises.

The location is fantastic with views over the Galana River where we were able to watch beautiful birds, hippos, monkeys and even crocodile.

The food was fairly basic but good – portions were more than adequate. The staff were excellent and we felt in very safe hands. Dido was especially helpful and attentive to our needs.

From Galdessa we enjoyed some amazing game drives and were able to see a huge variety of animals including three separate lion sightings in one day.

We would highly recommend Galdessa as a good base to explore Tsavo East.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is very special with a viewing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#7 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galdessa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galdessa Camp

Property: Galdessa Camp
Address: Tsavo National Park East 454, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galdessa Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Galana river, in wildest and most secluded location of Tsavo East National park, this stunning camp's main focus is on relaxation and letting the wildlife come to you right in front of your tent. Galdessa sits beneath giant doum palms, 15 kilometres upstream from Lugard's Falls, with its elegant thatch-and-canvas tents, overlooking the meandering waters of the Galana River, Galdessa offers the ultimate 'bush style' safari experience. Game drives in open vehicles, walking safaris along the Galana River and sand rivers. Sundowners, bush breakfast. The camp's direct area is a home to over 51 black rhino. Tsavo East National Park is a Wilderness area and the game can be shy but it offers great bio-diversity. Uncommon species seen there include lesser kudu, gerenuk, fringed eared oryx, hirola and Peter's gazelle. The area is renowned for elephants particularly during the dry season. Tsavo a bird watcher paradise being particularly rich in birdlife. SUGGESTED STAY TO REALLY APPRECIATE WHAT WE CAN OFFER 3 NIGHTS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galdessa Camp Tsavo East National Park Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Galdessa Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing