We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical eperience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical eperience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 3rd July with family of 4 fantastic place combines incredible wildlife experience where you will not be closer to very wild elephants in Africa from your bed anywhere in Africa. Food and accommodation was superb and the evening air was full of the sound roaring lions. As always in Kenya the staff are great.

My one disappointment was despite requesting and the night watchman agreeing to wake me during the night if the lions appear at the waterhole they did not do this and 4 came in during the night. You can literally be at the watchtower by the waterhole within seconds and this is a service that should be provided on request.

Hired a Pajero from Central rent a car in Nairobi for a safari self drive, thoroughly recommend brilliant value and quality of vehicle, great people to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandMarge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    44
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
84
130
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

was lovely,coming back soon,,but the insects and some very naughty bird bothered us at meal time,hope you have done something ,,but the nights by the fires,the watch tower were just the best for me,,totally awesome

Room Tip: go for the Neka tented campp,the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a magical place. Booked through Julius at JT Safaris (cannot recommend him highly enough). Stayed for 1 night with our 3 children and wish we could have stayed longer. It is simple and beautiful, run by a happy and friendly staff. You really feel a part of the landscape. At nightfall many of the smaller animals come into the camp and as we were guided to our tents there was a young giraffe standing by the path scratching himself on a bush, I felt like I was in a Doctor Doolittle movie ! This lodge a a highlight of Kenya, if you are looking for an 'out of Africa' experience then you will love this. My general advise for a safari with children is don't try to cover too much ground, and stay at Satao for at least 2 nights so you can enjoy the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameswhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited Africa for the first time this year, and to be more precise Kenya. As we wanted to take in a safari, having been there herself, our travel consultant suggested we visit Satao Camp in Tsavo East National Park. We stayed there for 4 days / 3 nights in September and were looked after by Southern Cross Safaris. It could not have been better!

The accommodation is in luxury tents and the luxury is not an understatement. The beds were very comfortable and it had full bathroom facilities with flushing lavatories and a very efficient “bush” shower. On returning from your afternoon game drive the hot water was already waiting for you. The food was of a very high quality and the tent cleaned quickly and to a good standard each morning. All the staff just wanted you to enjoy your stay and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The camp itself surrounds a waterhole which is visited by hundreds of elephants daily as well as zebra, giraffe, warthog and many types of antelope. We even saw three hippopotamus in the water there. These can all be viewed from the comfort of the look out tower or the verandah in front of your own tent. Lunch is served under the tamarind trees and numerous birds visit on the off chance of some titbits.

It is an open camp and the animals are free to walk close to your tent and do so happily. Provided you abide by the camp rules of not straying from the pathways and wait at night to be escorted to and from your tent it is perfectly safe. One evening two male lions were spotted walking through the camp just before dinner (ours not theirs)! Being so close to nature was truly magical and an enlightening experience giving a “true taste of Africa”.

The absolute highlight of our trip was the services provided by our guide and game driver, Dickson. We very quickly made friends and he soon got to know what we wanted out of our holiday and nothing was too much trouble for him in trying to fulfil it. His knowledge of the animals, their home and habitat, was invaluable. He made our experience in Kenya the best four days of our lives.

Overall Satao Camp is inspirational and I am sure we will be back again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Tent 7 is nearest to the restaurant, but all have their merits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandCarol45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

we booked this safari through JT safaris and this was our second night. we had stayed the first night at ashnl aruba and we were very disappointed so we were hoping that this camp lived up to our expections.this was our 3rd time in kenya and on safari and had always stayed on finch hattons camp so it had a lot to live up too! we were on honeymoon and on arrival were given the deluxe suite it was amazing! i was able to have a beer from the mini bar sat looking out over the plains watching elephants, lions etc all walking past the tent at arms lenght! our bathroom had a free standing bath where you could sit in and look out over the plains! the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. we sat under the huge tamarind tree eating our lunch and at night sat by candle light listening to the sounds of the hippos and elephants. we throughly enjoyed our stay and it was diffently made better by staying in the deluxe suite due to the location (it was the closet tent to the water hole and the amount of animals that walked past) and the facilities withen the tent (the huge balcony, the mini bar and the huge bathroom) it was just a shame we didnt stay longer.

Room Tip: the suites have minibars were the numbered tents dont so if you enjoy sat on your balcony having a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Satao is a fab place to stay - the tents are great and very comfortable. The setting - with the elephants watering hole - is relaxing and just what you need after a safari.

The nature walk was fascinating and the staff, especially the guard Abram - was lovely to the children.

The park was v arid and so animals were not as many as on the Masai Mara. It would be a good starter safari for a couple of days. I was disappointed at the lack of animals - but that is nature, I guess.

The trip was organised by Imagine Africa and was superbly arranged. Would defo advise to use them as the staff knew their stuff and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSB184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We came from the Severin Safari camp in Tsavo West and that was fantastic. This camp was a little dissapointing. That means that everything was a lot less luxury. Except for the vieuw from the lodges. That was stunning. The lodges are old and the interior is very old. There are carpets on the floor which makes it a lot less hygenic and there is a bush shower. That means there is no hot water. There is no electricity. One night we had a big cat in the tent because there was a hole in the roof. The food and service are averige.
But if you like a nice vieuw, visit that place. You can sit in front of your hut and look all day. There is also a watch tower from where you have a nice vieuw and you can take beautiful pictures. You don't need a game drive.

Room Tip: Try to book a vip tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park East hotels
19.2 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
31.1 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
25.1 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#7 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
33.9 mi away
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park East
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satao Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satao Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Satao Luxury Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satao Camp is arguably one of the best locations in Africa for observing elephants from your tent. The atmosphere in the evenings with the Impala and Waterbuck sitting all around you is something quite unique and special. With only 20 tents Satao Camp is small and private. It is located away from the main congested areas of Tsavo so one can enjoy the privacy of being at one with nature. This is a true Safari Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Satao Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satao Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Satao Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing