We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveler rating
211
248
112
54
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
248
112
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole water hole breathtaking views viewing area safari lodge vast plains no air conditioning elephants drinking tsavo west amazing location dining area lunch and dinner tunnel baboons voi holes wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 658 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2018

located i the jungle withe the best park views ,it was a great experience relaxing on the pool during the sunny day with fresh air around the service were good the stuff there are very jovial and friendly

Room Tip: best view to the park
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BESTA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

The spot is great. The hotel was great... once... . Now it is in decline. Lamps are broken, the showers spray every way, the mosquito nets are torn... the beds feel like they are made from hardboard.

But the worst is the food. The quality is very bad. The beef can not be chewed and there is a lot of slimy fat at the beef and the pork. Cheapest of the cheapest. But even breakfast is bad. Eggs are boiled over 15 minutes and are darkblue. And roasted bread is preroasted and the kept in steamholders (so the become sloppy).

Go to tsavo east, but please look dor an other place then this government run hotel.

Hooe they put on new manegment soon that will invest in a good cook and the hotel itself.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Iwan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

The situation is beautiful. The food however is below any standard. The meat for example is slimy and of bad quality. The toastend Bread is kept in these steampans which make It soft and wet.

The rooms are outdated and things are broken.

Enough money is coming in, but they do not invest anymore. They only take It out. In a few years It will be gone.

Do not go here.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Merel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018

Hotel was dreadful. Staff unhelpful. Rooms filthy. Food:- the lunchtime and dinnertime food quality was poor. The dessert that was displayed at lunch (cake and biscuits) was left out only lightly covered by cling film for the evening meal dessert. Cut fruit left on open display. Drink prices extortionate and staff rude if you wanted to take your coffee out of the dining room. Insisting you "sit on the veranda you pay for it" Climax was the appearance of three (3) cockroaches appearing from the filthy bathroom. We were a party of four. We have advised our tour driver and organiser to avoid this hotel. It spoils the safari experience.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else! Book instead at Sarova Saltlick Game Lodge
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 385BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018

Stayed there at Christmas 2017 with my 6yo daughter.
Place seen better days and it looks like it was amazing when it was looked after.
I give this place 4 stars because I really enjoyed the view from it.
Location location location. There’s nothing that can beat birds eye view from the lodge’s pool or bars or viewing area. 2 waterholes and tunnel to look at the animals.
Birds are making nests everywhere and it’s filled with only whistle of the breeze and birds singing.

Rooms – small and tired. Very tired! Bathroom was so small you end up showering outside the cubicle because shower head is fixed and can’t be turned. Try wash your young kids in it – nightmare! Bedding was yellow, the kind of yellow it gets in time and bad wash, nets around beds has wholes. Fan fitted to the wall was way too noisy. We ended up opening the window and let breeze enter the room. Luckily windows have good and properly fitted metal mesh over them and so did the doors which created a nice draught.

Food – just like anywhere else, although at times it was simply inedible. Like lamb on our last day there. There was plenty but it was like a rubber, even I couldn’t eat it.
Small selection of fruit and desert but enough for 2 night stay. Any longer would be difficult.

Pool was freezing and contaminated with dead and alive animals. Yes, it’s Africa, savanna but pools are kept clean and warm in other places. Had I knows it has such a bad pool I might have picked a different location.

The park is amazing and there are other lodges around. But we enjoyed staying in a quiet shade in top bar and just watch the wild life. Some days it was even better that drives!

In general hotel was very quiet but on xmas eve and day there were lots of noisy people, having no respect to other visitors who are also tired from road.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank katietravels2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews