We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor accommodation”
Review of Voi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during the first half of our 4 day safari trip.

We found the staff very welcoming and willing to do anything for you which was great, but the food was average and the drinks service difficult to get. The worst part were the rooms, they were completely basic, very hot, and the cleanliness was shockingly poor with very basic youth hostel feel.

Whilst the safari experience was great, we felt the stay at Voi was poor value for money. We then went on to Finch Hattens which was poles apart.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 545 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was a stop off lodge for a meal while on safari with LETS GO WILD SAFARI that is the best company to go with and you will have your own vehicle and will not have to share with strangers, ride round looking at all the other people squashed up in their vehicle. Anyway the lodge was amazing and the food was outstanding. Oh and cheap drinks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Voi was our first overnight stop on a four day safari trip. The staff were lovely (it is the Kenyan way). The lodge is in a great location, couldn't fault that, but the rooms are dreadful. Tiny, hot, airless, antiquated, dated, and undesirable. The bed covers look like something out of the fifties; heavy brocade - just what you need in a hot country. The pillows were awful, flat and lumpy. The linen was 'bobbly', thank goodness I was too tired to care! The 'so-called' mosquito net didn't even meet in the middle. There was a fan, which was great at circulating the stuffy hot air in the room (you couldn't open the windows during the day because of the baboons, or at night because of the mossies). Complimentary toiletries were laughable and the inlet pipe to the toilet leaked like a sieve, spewing water every time you flushed. On the plus side the shower was good.
The food was average, beer was cold, that was also a plus. Complimentary tea & coffee were provided on arrival and again at supper time. Breakfast was included and was actually quite nice.
The views were amazing and the hide by the waterhole gave you incredible up close views of the elephants that came to drink. It's just shame that people can't be quiet in the hide while you are trying to film or video.
The tempo bar looked out across the savannah, you couldn't want for a better view while drinking a cold beer.
Because this lodge was pre-booked by my tour operator we didn't have a choice. Having a choice I would probably visit for afternoon tea and then go and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BracknellTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, building and rooms a little tired and in need of updating
Food was plentiful but not very inspiring,
Saw loads on the game drive then returned and
Watched 2 lionesses take down 2 zebra at the waterhole, not very Disney.....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was WOWed as soon as i stepped in the hotel. The thing that done it for me were the views which you can get. The restaurant, bar and swimming pool all look over the African Savannah with numerous elephants at the watering hole. the views go as far as the eye can see. Our room also looked out onto the savannah aswell best view I have ever had. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food in the hotel was also really nice with a great variety to choose from. Overall it is a fantastic hotel to spend your nights whilst on safari in Tsavo East I would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: a view onto the game reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mas00069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the voi lodge, fantastic views of elephants, and buffaloes drinking from the waterhole, I can't describe how amazing the view was it was unreal. Baboons visited during the day and were so close it was great. Amazing photo opportunities. The food was great, the service was brilliant, the staff was so attentive it topped off the experience. The rooms were clean and had great views. Don't leave your window open incase the baboons get in.

Michelle and Wes

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here 18 years ago and not a lot of change but I am glad it is still the same comfortable beds and great food and the elephant waterering hole that you can get close to under ground is just brilliant

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suesfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
8.2 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
327 reviews
24.6 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
53.6 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
393 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
662 reviews
2.7 mi away
Impala Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voi Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo Safari Camp East, Tsavo National Park East 30471, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range: $115 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voi Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Voi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voi Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Voi Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing