We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lew pod namiotem” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ndololo Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ndololo Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Tychy, Poland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lew pod namiotem”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We bought a 2-day safari from the guys from the beach in the price of $ 200 per person.
Rickety bus took us from the hotel to Tsavo in 2.5 hours.
It was a path through the passion, but we managed. After several hours of driving through the park in search of people willing to pictures of animals came to Camp Ndololo.
Welcome to our next camp elephants and a few monkeys - of course we are welcomed by the staff.
After check in we get the keys from our apartment.
It turns out that the tent very nice, spacious and clean.
Shower with warm water, but unfortunately, no cleaning products (soap only)
We try going to close shut and tent first surprise here ... there's nothing to fasten the lock because locks are torn handles the sliders - just leave the tent zasunięty. We go for lunch.
The dining room is waiting for another surprise - we get leftovers left by their predecessors - mostly Italians but after a short time chef rises to the occasion and a new supply :).
After lunch, we go in search of animals.
In the evening, go down to camp quick shower and go to dinner (tent open again) - this time we are from Italy :).
Food very good and the staff are very nice.
Beer 250 Water 150 shillings
We eat a delicious meal and suddenly ran acquaintance, and says to us that they were robbed (stolen from their tent, a video camera and a backpack with a portfolio in the middle)
Quickly run to our tents, but here everything is.
Relief.
A friend cries out dark dissected mosquito in the tent with them.
I look at our mosquito net - and that also once had to be dissected for a similar purpose because it is now poszyta.
Support comes and says that it is not possible because all the Maasai guard - apparently stolen it themselves.
When the police arrive at the amount of 6 people.
Short interview and slander from the owner that it was contrived.
It gets us all sad. We go to sleep. A power failure of the generator.
About 3.30 a roaring lion under our tent!! Dark as .....
For 5 minutes yelling Ajuto .. Ajuto ... Italians call it help, but only after 5 minutes of light switches and supposedly Masai (those who are supposed to protect) chase a lion.
We do not sleep till morning.
My advice - do not leave valuables in the tent and under no circumstances go out after dark outside the tent (only later I learned that there are no fences)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertos512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    96
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
120
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I booked this camp based on the fact it had no fences and animals were free to come and go. When we arrived were greeted with a refreshing cold face cloth and drink. We were shown to our tent which was really very nice, two single beds but we didn’t mind. Well they are slightly wider than a single bed. There is a shower and proper toilet in your tent and plenty of room.

We were in January which is the hottest month, and boy was it hot. Our guide reckoned easily 45 Celsius, maybe hotter. There was no wind and you couldn’t escape the heat, even in the shade it was unbearable. A pool would have come in handy here but my wife had a couple of cold showers to keep her cool. There was tonnes of wildlife around, from comical hornbills to boisterous baboons, crazy insects and lots of other animals and birds. The tents are situated around the watering hole, although there wasn’t much water there when we were there. There were some big beetles that kept trying to fly into our tent and around us but you soon get used to all that.

Lunch was nice, a few choices. We went for an evening game drive and came back when it got dark. Evening meal was again very nice and a few different choices. The camp fire was already roaring away ready for the evening stories. Unfortunately we were that shattered after all the driving that we didn’t last long and soon went to bed. One mistake I made was leaving the light on in the tent when going to dinner. When we came back the tent was full of mozzies, and other insects like crickets followed us, but that all added to the experience. Luckily the mozzie nets are very good and we had an unbitten stay.

The advise we were given was ‘do not leave your tent once the generator has been turned off’, this keeps certain animals away (Lions!) We were woken up by the deep roar of what we believe to be a lion, and other amazing sounds of different animals calling in the night. I would love to go back in an instant. Didn’t sleep much for all the animal noises but I didn’t care, you are in the middle of the bush with no fences, and 2mm of canvas between you and the outside world!

You won’t regret going here and will have an amazing unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Turn your light off when going for evening meal or it will be full of insects and Mozzies when you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WillEmily562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

my husband and I spent the last night of 2011 at ndololo camp. we desired something special to celebrate the new year and we got it! the tent was very simple - weak light, little water in the shower, outworn bed sheet - but comfortable. what we appreciated most was the atmosphere and the kindness of the staff. the food was ok, too.
we really suggest ndololo camp to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed for one night on the first day of a 4 day safari and Ndololo was a great plunge into Safari life. After all, it is just a tent in the bushes. :) The tents however are built on solid grounds and all have ensuite washing facilities. The food was exceptionally good and drinks' prices were also ok. It is a pleasantly small camp that will give you just the right Safari feeling (with most amenities that you can ask for).

Two pleas for future guests: Please keep the tents zipped closed. A lot of people leave them open and the next guest will have fun with any critters that might have come in... Please do NOT feed the baboons. A guy working there told us they are all astounded that so many tourists do not fear the really big baboons that sometimes roam the camp (especially during lunch and dinner, of course). The more you feed them the more demanding they become and this is when they will start to be a real hassle (and dangerous).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is as close to the wild as one gets. the camp is rustic, but very clean, with comfortable beds, and a working shower! the staff are very , very friendly and go out of their way to provide what you need ! on all three days after our game drive, we were visited by lots of elephants coming to the water hole at the camp. they walk right passed us, about 3m away. the second night 2 giraffe walked passed. a huge troop of baboons visit every day after lunch for a few hours, which provided great entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janee149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I chose it because I wanted to be out in the nature as much as possible with three young children.
It was better than expected. Clean tents, with shower/toilet/basin in the tent.
A babboon came to finish the remains of some cookies the children ate at the balcony.

At night, windows 'open' and looking at the silhouettes of animals in the bushes, listening to the sounds of the night. Elephants were at close range, but the sturdy wooden framework around the tent gives security. An experience I'll never forget, and about the best of the safari.
Stayed two nights, wish to be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Firstly I stayed at the public campsite not the tented camp. I understand the tented camp is approx $140 per double which I think represents good value.
The public campsie is next door and for a fee you are able to eat at the tented camp.
Firstly the tented camp.....well its basic but its a good flat ground to pitch a tent. There are loads of babboons but they are scared off if you carry a stcik. Be sensible and dont leave food around.
The washroom facilities are basic and have no lights. They have a special door which is supposed to stop babboons entering..... No hot water but otherwise it was fine for basic camping,
We ate at the tented camp for dinner and breakfast. The staff were amazing, extremely friendly and helpful. they kept cooking and providing more and more food as it was required and there was a great variety.
They have fire pit with logs all around for seating at night - great for a proper camp fire. A maasai selling trinkets but most amazingly it overlooks a waterhole. There are no fences or gates to this so you really are in the middle of Tsavo park. There were elephants feeding in the morning which was lovely to see.
A word of warning...
We decided to walk back to our campe after dinner and luckily were guided by a Maasai. I kik you not he was walking along pointing his torch straight ahead, he swung to the left and there was a lion 4metres away!! The lion then stalked us to the car and the Maasai chased it away. Needless to say we lit a fire and got straight into our tents. It came back in the night as the babboons were making a lot of noise to tell us. Its great to stay here but remember you are in an African game park

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willowhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
2.6 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
28.5 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
5.5 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#7 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
21.7 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndololo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndololo Camp

Property: Ndololo Camp
Address: Tsavo East National Park | 7km from Voi gate, Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ndololo Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ndololo Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing