We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leopard strolls past on far bank, while we drink our Tuskers!”
Review of Epiya Chapeyu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Epiya Chapeyu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Thomas, Peter, Philip; '''mario,tusker&?""- my frequent returns to Epiya Chapeyu just says how much I love this camp, and being welcomed by the above! Arrived for lunch, so while enjoying a cold Tusker watching one of 'our' elie friends take a completely submerged bath in the Galana R. a Leopard wanders over the far bank, and slumps down under the Acacia. Unbeleivable. In May , possibly spotted same cat lying on rocks at Crocodile Point. How cool is that!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Jambo,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave your feed back on Tripadvisor. It is very
much appreciated , and we are ever so happy that you saw the leopard ! . The leopard is
seen quite often in the middle of the night walking across the dry river bed in front of some
of the tents ; although one has to be an insomniac to see this. So absolutely great that you
saw it in broad daylight ! We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed the night of 29th October. My Husband and I were the only two people in the camp and we were treated like royalty. Lunch served facing the river, dinner and breakfast on the terrace with a fantastic spread served by Peter and his colleagues. Elephants roaming around the camp and staff could not do enough for us. An absolute paradise and highly recomend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvey132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Jambo! Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor. Nothing pleases us more than to know that we made your stay with us such a good one! We will be passing on your comments to Peter and the rest of the team whom we know will be extremely delighted to hear that they made your stay with us such a special one! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A deceptively simple looking tented camp where the tents snuggle under palm thatch roofs, this camp has much more to offer than first meets the eye ... Especially the three friendly resident wild elephants who stroll through the camp at leisure at various times during the day! The tents offer nice shower and toilet facilities but the step down into the bathing area is unexpected and almost caught me unawares. The beds are fine, but the bed linen and blanket (unneeded the night we were there) are not particularly good quality, and the one pillow very flat.
However, this is a tented camp, not an up market lodge, and very reasonably priced, and the food is so good, beautifully presented and served as well, that it makes up for the bedding short comings!
When you add those gorgeous tuskers strolling around to offer amazing close up photo opportunities, the lovely river just in front of the camp and the very friendly, helpful staff, this camp should go very high on your 'must do' list between Mombasa and Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too close to the kitchen/dining end of camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Jambo!
Thank you for leaving your feed back on tripadvisor which is always welcome and helps us to improve our clients holiday experiences. We have noted your remarks regarding the step in the shower as well the pillow(s) and are looking into providing more of them in the tents
although, had you asked one of the staff they would have gladly brought you some more.
We are very happy that in spite of this short coming you really appreciated & enjoyed your stay
with us and will be sure to pass your feedback to the staff and cooks! Can't really thank our 4
legged tuskers as "elephant" isn't one of our languages although they do seem to be "at home" at the camp. We hope to have opportunity to welcome you back in the future; but with a few more pillows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Bigi Camp is absolutely one of my the most amazing places I've ever been. This is what Africa is all about! The staff is beyond exceptional and the food is incredible, who knew you could eat so well when sleeping in tents! There's nothing better than sitting by the Galana watching all of the wildlife go by. Mario, Mwada and Tusker the elephants visited every day which was so much fun! I don't think a safari to Tsavo is complete without staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review on our camp. We strive to keep our visitors experience at our camp as the real African wildlife experience but with the comfort of real home made food. Our staff are delighted with the feed back that you have left and we look forward to saying "Karubuni" to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visited many parks in our trip in Kenya and here we experienced a friendly visit of two elephants right in the middle of the camp, very exciting, and the best dinner at all with a very elegant setting, unexpected in the middle of the bush in a tented camp.
The location , on the river of Galana River is perfect and Tsavo East is a beautiful park to visit away from the crowd of the others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziabice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Grazie mille! Asante Sana for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor. We and our staff are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have stayed at Epiya Chapeyu many times, normally en route from Nairobi to the coast. No matter how many times we tell ourselves we should also check out the other alternatives in Tsavo, we always end up back here because it really is such a special spot. There's nothing better than being parked in a deckchair at the river side at the end of the day, with a cold Tusker and a tray of their speciality mini pizzas! The tents are basic but comfortable and the food is good, especially the homemade pasta! You generally also get a visit from Mario (an elephant who has taken a shine to the camp!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthless B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you love our camp and come back again and again. We try our best to make our guests experience the best possible and it's great to know that we "tick all the right boxes for you". We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Really, the only place one should stay at when in Tsavo East. The palm-fringed camp is situated right on the bank of the river and affords a breathtaking view of the Yatta plateau, not to mention the many animals that you find at the river and others that make their way there. The service is impeccable as the staff are friendly and very helpful. It is serene, beautiful in its simplicity and comes highly recommended -- I enjoyed my stay here immensely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigicamp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Many thanks shirinr! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park East hotels
23 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
348 reviews
35.9 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
148 reviews
25.1 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
357 reviews
40.1 mi away
Tsavo Safari Camp - Kitaani Kya Ndundu
Tsavo Safari Camp - Kitaani Kya ...
#12 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
59 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epiya Chapeyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epiya Chapeyu

Address: Galana River, Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for an exceptional Safari experience you have come to the right place! Our Camp is located in Tsavo East National Park, in Kenya East Africa. We are situated along the banks of the Galana River, where fauna and flora abound! During the dry season elephants and buffalo graze all around us in a pure, untouched environment. We offer fine Italian cuisine and mini pizzas served with drinks just before dinner. Our motto is to make sure our natural surroundings remain as they have been for centuries and thus our camp is in sync with our surroundings. How to reach us? We are easily accessible from Malindi, Mombasa and Nairobi! We promise you the best African Experience ever with memories you will certainly cherish for a life-time! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Epiya Chapeyu Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing