We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms”
Review of Ashnil Aruba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent rooms that you can see animals drinking water at the pool while on your balcony.They have excellent view of the park.They are clean and well designed with fantastic view of savannah. Food is awesome and rates are affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabusolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    190
    58
    6
    5
See reviews for
156
296
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night with JT Safaris. It was lovely. Exactly what we wanted. The room was very spacious and had a fantastic view. Unfortunately we didn't see any animals from the room, but we weren't really in there long enough to do so. The sunrise was beautiful from the room. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was lush.

The main lodge areas are really nice and the pool looked fantastic, though we didn't have time to take a dip.

The food was really really good. My partner had the 'best curry he's ever had' and the pasta I had was amazing. The chocolate cake for dessert was incredible too! There can be a lot of flies which does ruin your experience of trying to eat your breakfast before an early morning game drive, but really, what else do you expect being in somewhere like this?

There is supposed to be wifi in the lobby, however I couldn't connect at all.

The rooms are basic as there is no TV or anything like that, though I can't imagine anyone would want to be watching TV in a place like this. It's really just a place to relax after long game drives.

We saw some amazing sights and a LOT of animals. The only reason my rating isn't 5 is because we had no fans in our room. This led to an awful nights sleep. The room was quite cool during the day as the sun wasn't really on it, but at night it was extremely uncomfortable and I have since seen from pictures on here that rooms do actually had fans. A bit disappointing really in a place like this when it was 40 degrees!

I would go back, but I would insist my room had a fan!

See separate review about JT Safaris who were amazing!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a fan in your room!! Ours didn't and our nights sleep was not good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great experience in the middle of Tsavo East...
The place is clean and so well designed with a view from you room to die for over looking the beautiful savannah.
The rooms have widows wall to wall and floor to ceiling giving you great panoramic views.
Food was excellent and the barbecue and outside night dining was unreal!
We also saw our 3x female lions and Leopard near by to the lodge!
In the soaring heat the pool was a welcome relief A*

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amar_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Drove with family from Mombasa for a weekend in Tsavo. The lodge has its good points and need to improve in others. Main reason we choose Ashnil Aruba is because we were told it was good for kids. We stayed in the tents - great beds and bathroom, however very hot during the day no idea how the rooms are. I found the generator noisy at night but my partner did not notice. The pool is great for kids - quite refreshing in the heat and keeps the kids occupied in between the game drives. The pool, rooms and tents overlook the wetland and this I am told attracts the wildlife during the dry season. We did see Elephants from the pool area but at dusk so not clear at all.The food was good however the dining room has a big big problem with flies. During breakfast and lunch, the flies would not allow us to have a leisurely meal.We literally had to wolf down food and run, dinner was better as no flies at night but many insects outside by the walkway lights. Some people may find this difficult as the insects are on you as you walk past. Staff were very helpful - some were not well trained but made up by trying hard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EeeJackYurLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night during our 4-day safari in Tsavo & Amboseli.

It was not very busy mid-week at the end of February but I really liked the atmosphere. Our room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. However it was quite hot, as there is no air conditioning, just a fan. We had a view towards the waterhole which is just outside the electric fence. However, the light illuminating the waterhole suddenly went off at about 10pm so sadly we could not see if there were any animals...

I found the lodge nicely decorated and very clean. Food was tasty but there were a lot of flies about which is a problem as many dishes were left uncovered. At dinner we had an open-air barbeque which was GREAT - exactly what you want after a successful game drive! Here the food was nicer than at lunch and I really recommend this. Perfect if you're travelling with a loved one as it's very romantic. Be sure to look at the amazing starry sky at night!

We had a quick dip in the pool before our afternoon game drive. Loved that too. The only minus side about Aruba that I can think of was that there is no view towards the waterhole from the restaurant area, only from the rooms. This is a shame. Otherwise it's a great place and I hope to be back. My husband liked it the best of the three lodges we visited.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefernefernefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here one day one of our 3 day safari organised by JT safaris. (Don't even think about using any other safari company... you won't find a better one!) We were made to feel very welcome from the off and had a great room overlooking a watering hole. All the staff loved to talk to you about anything and were very helpful. We arrived at lunchtime and had a delicious meal before a quick dip in the pool. Nothing like zebras, warthogs and giraffes watching having a swim!
After the afternoon/dusk drive by the fantastic Tito our driver, we were treated to a BBQ under the African starry night. The food again was great and the traditional African music topped it all off.
If we ever get the chance we would revisit this lodge as it was the perfect start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddGorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arrived at Ashnil Aruba after a long drive, well I was blown away, flannels and drinks welcomed us, then we were shown to our tented lodges, they were amazing. The view from the tents looked over a water hole, there were monkeys playing on the veranda it was heaven. The food was very good and all staff were very friendly. loved the place and one day I will go back.

Room Tip: tented lodges are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayneoxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park East hotels
9.5 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
279 reviews
38.0 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
148 reviews
17.4 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#7 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
368 reviews
9.9 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
325 reviews
41.2 mi away
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park East
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Aruba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Aruba Lodge

Property: Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Address: | Voi, Tsavo National Park East 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Aruba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashnil Aruba Lodge lies in the heart of Tsavo East National Park. The lodge comprises 46 deluxe ensuite guest rooms and 6 luxury tents. The lodge is situated on the shaded northern bank of the Voi River looking across the famous Aruba Dam. The Aruba Dam is one of the most notable landmarks in Tsavo East being a huge reservoir that is a major attraction for many animals and a rich bird life; there are over 200 bird species at Aruba. For those who love bird watching, our resident naturalist will take you on a guided tour through the park to learn the various bird species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ashnil Aruba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Aruba Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Ashnil Aruba Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing