We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashnil Aruba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Ashnil Aruba was an OK experience during our 8 day safari trip and honestly the other places that we visited such as Masai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo West were far superior than Tsave East. We jsut spent a night in the lodge and found the rooms to be very basic. They have a rather limited buffet option for food and internet can only be used in the lobby area. The view from the room was not very great as it was overlooking a muddy waterhole where only warthogs came to drink. The game drive exploring the surrounding area in the evening was nonetheless a good experience.

Our safari was arranged by Suf Musani of Tropical Adventure Safaris & Car Hire Ltd and he is a great guide to have. Sufian will treat you like a royalty and is vey transparent with his arrangement. You won't be able to fault him on anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debonaire1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    187
    57
    6
    5
See reviews for
156
290
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

glorious safaris booked us into this hotel for three nights, from the moment we arrived, to the moment that we left we were treated like royalty. we became friends with the staff and they took such good care of us. They walked us back to our rooms at the end of the evening through the gardens and were there in the morning showing us the way back for breakfast. the food was real quality and the service was just as good. right at the centre of the park, this hotel allowed us to go in a different direction every time we went out. the pool was a great place to swim and watch the animals at the water hole on the other side of the fence. we will be going back next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junie-taps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Mi wife and I just stayed here for two nights and we had quite a bad impression. Rooms are very basic and in a bad shape. The lavabo was broken and during the night a lot of insects are entering the room instead of the moskito net. The meals served in a buffet offers few diversity and are cooked like mass products. The whole place looks like a little bit out of shape however the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luyksgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and it was a shame that is was not for longer. The lodge is a great place in the middle of Tsavo East Park.
The room was very clean and also the restaurant and lobby was nice to see.
In the morning a great breakfast. The only thing we did not like was the dinner in buffet style.
But that is something personal.
The Tsavo East Park is so nice and you can spot the wild animals way easier than in Tsavo West so that's why we prefer this more than the West side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Came down from Nairobi and stayed at Ashnil Aruba for 3 nights.. Where to start?

AMAZING service! From the time we got in to the day we left, just fantastic! Everything at this hotel was awesome but the service just made it even better.

The rooms are really nice - we stayed in a shared cottage and it was amazing. During the day you can hang out at the pool and play with the monkeys (just kidding, don't do this haha).

There's a water hole right outside the rooms and you can watch the elephants and lions in the evening. We were even lucky enough to see a major showdown between the lions and the elephants one night - the elephants won of course!

The food - every meal was really good, no complaints. I particularly enjoyed the outdoor dinners that were held over the weekend!

Again, special thanks to the staff, you really made this holiday amazing for us! :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms outside the water hole so you can hang out at your cottage and watch the animals :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echo_painter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

First of all we didn't expect so good standard in the middle of National Park.
Excellent food, very clean and nice rooms, with romantic terrace giving to the watering hole when elephants come in the afternoon! Staff was really helpful and you can use your credit card!
Five stars +

Room Tip: I think all rooms are on the same level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka_Stanczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

unfortunately we only got to stay here for one night as this was day one of a 3 day safari, the lodge was comfy clean and so close to the reserve that you could watch elephants at the watering hole from your porch, the staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good and we really wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocChic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park East hotels
9.5 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
38.0 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
17.4 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
15.4 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#7 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
41.2 mi away
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park East
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Aruba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Aruba Lodge

Property: Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Address: | Voi, Tsavo National Park East 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Aruba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashnil Aruba Lodge lies in the heart of Tsavo East National Park. The lodge comprises 46 deluxe ensuite guest rooms and 6 luxury tents. The lodge is situated on the shaded northern bank of the Voi River looking across the famous Aruba Dam. The Aruba Dam is one of the most notable landmarks in Tsavo East being a huge reservoir that is a major attraction for many animals and a rich bird life; there are over 200 bird species at Aruba. For those who love bird watching, our resident naturalist will take you on a guided tour through the park to learn the various bird species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ashnil Aruba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Aruba Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Ashnil Aruba Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing