We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Our favourite camp in Kenya!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Our favourite camp in Kenya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at the Flamingo Tented Camp for 2 nights on a recent safari around Kenya and throughly enjoyed our stay. The tents themselves are very comfortable and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food fantastic. The camp is in a great spot in the national park - we even saw a rhino at the back fence in the morning when we woke up! We would definitely recommend the Flamingo Tented Camp if you're planning a stay at Nakuru National Park.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    142
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
149
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osterley Middx
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I like all the camps/lodges in Nakuru National Park but this is probably the most innovative in terms of decor and the buildings.
You should be aware that due to huge amounts of rainfall over the last three years the lake has flooded and it is not even possible to get through the main gate. Instead visitors take tracks to the side of the gate. The problem is that the alkaline nature of the lake has, temporarily at least, been destroyed and there are almost no flamingos there. The main reason for going normally is that this is one of the natural wonders of the world with an astonishing number of flamingos constantly arriving and leaving; truly breathtaking.
The tented camp is still a good base for other birdlife.
The public buildings; reception, dining room, bar, are beautiful and there are some innovative touches like the coffee tables made from the roots of trees that have fallen down. Perhaps I am easily pleased but so long as there is a chef preparing food to go with the buffet, I'm quite happy and I foound the food very good. Of course, with the park being very near to Nakuru they should have no problem getting hold of fresh produce.
The 'tents' don't have electricity all night but that doesn't really matter. They do have comfortable beds and a good, and large bathroom.
I was rather disappointed with the birds in the grounds of the camp itself especially because I had spotted bee-eaters (European?) on the wires nearby. Some tents get a great view over the plain (but not the lake) and one couple we had been travelling with saw a rhino from their veranda.
Once again Teresa (TA TOURS AND TRAVEL, Nairobi) came up with a good one. Certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: Some have better views than others. You may want to be near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGOsterleyMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
206 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Right place to stay. Here you can feel vibrant emotions of wild coated with basic comforts of home . Was touched by their security arrangement. When they learnt that a lion pride was settling nearby, they stationed a Masai security guard in front of every tent for whole night! Guest co-ordinator was making enquiries about at-home-ness from time to time. Staff is very cordial. Food is in variety and cleanliness beyond reproach.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swamiji_drupad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a good tented camp to stay at while at Lake Nakuru, spacious tents, well positioned, we loved it, they could do something about the meals though, slight improvement, the lake had swollen due to rains, I loved the bird life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miho Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

More like a 4.5 out of 5, but I am rounding it off to 5 stars.

Pros:
The tents are great! Ample space and a big enough bathroom.
Quiet location.
Staff are very professional and provide excellent service.
Food is above average with a hearty breakfast.
Cocktails at the bar.

Cons:
Internet works only in the bar area. Not that this is a big issue, but some people may find it inconvenient.
While most of the food is good, some items were bland.

Overall, a great experience. The best part is that you drive outside the tents and see rhinos and buffaloes lounging around. Staff are friendly and make your stay comfortable. Definitely recommended in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Flamingo's staff provided quite comfortable lodgings but could really do alot more to improve the dim lighting in the restaurant and range of food shown. We were not quite aware of what we were eating during day and night and wished we had more access to sight to better appreciate the excellent quality in the meals provided.

The fact that we stayed during low season (dec) shouldn't result in set-meals offered for both lunch and dinner, really. The lack of an ala-carte menu was the only bane registered.

Could do with less bollywood or trance music in the lounge area...this is Kenya! We suggested to the management to further improve wifi access to the entire compound instead of just the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luyksgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Was a great place to stay. We had tent number 1 and had a nice view over the Lake Nakuru Park with no other houses in front of you. Inside was very nice and clean. Very nice hot shower. This was one of our most favorite stays this holiday. The lobby and restaurant also was nice to see. The food was good. Very friendly staff.
We will stay here again that's for sure.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is a great one. Nearest to the gate of the wild park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
4.1 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
17.7 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
2.2 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 15 in Nakuru
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
7.9 mi away
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
#5 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hill Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Property: Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Address: Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Flamingo Hill Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing