We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smart base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I like all the camps/lodges in Nakuru National Park but this is probably the most innovative in terms of decor and the buildings.
You should be aware that due to huge amounts of rainfall over the last three years the lake has flooded and it is not even possible to get through the main gate. Instead visitors take tracks to the side of the gate. The problem is that the alkaline nature of the lake has, temporarily at least, been destroyed and there are almost no flamingos there. The main reason for going normally is that this is one of the natural wonders of the world with an astonishing number of flamingos constantly arriving and leaving; truly breathtaking.
The tented camp is still a good base for other birdlife.
The public buildings; reception, dining room, bar, are beautiful and there are some innovative touches like the coffee tables made from the roots of trees that have fallen down. Perhaps I am easily pleased but so long as there is a chef preparing food to go with the buffet, I'm quite happy and I foound the food very good. Of course, with the park being very near to Nakuru they should have no problem getting hold of fresh produce.
The 'tents' don't have electricity all night but that doesn't really matter. They do have comfortable beds and a good, and large bathroom.
I was rather disappointed with the birds in the grounds of the camp itself especially because I had spotted bee-eaters (European?) on the wires nearby. Some tents get a great view over the plain (but not the lake) and one couple we had been travelling with saw a rhino from their veranda.
Once again Teresa (TA TOURS AND TRAVEL, Nairobi) came up with a good one. Certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: Some have better views than others. You may want to be near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGOsterleyMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 419 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Right place to stay. Here you can feel vibrant emotions of wild coated with basic comforts of home . Was touched by their security arrangement. When they learnt that a lion pride was settling nearby, they stationed a Masai security guard in front of every tent for whole night! Guest co-ordinator was making enquiries about at-home-ness from time to time. Staff is very cordial. Food is in variety and cleanliness beyond reproach.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swamiji_drupad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a good tented camp to stay at while at Lake Nakuru, spacious tents, well positioned, we loved it, they could do something about the meals though, slight improvement, the lake had swollen due to rains, I loved the bird life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miho Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

More like a 4.5 out of 5, but I am rounding it off to 5 stars.

Pros:
The tents are great! Ample space and a big enough bathroom.
Quiet location.
Staff are very professional and provide excellent service.
Food is above average with a hearty breakfast.
Cocktails at the bar.

Cons:
Internet works only in the bar area. Not that this is a big issue, but some people may find it inconvenient.
While most of the food is good, some items were bland.

Overall, a great experience. The best part is that you drive outside the tents and see rhinos and buffaloes lounging around. Staff are friendly and make your stay comfortable. Definitely recommended in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Flamingo's staff provided quite comfortable lodgings but could really do alot more to improve the dim lighting in the restaurant and range of food shown. We were not quite aware of what we were eating during day and night and wished we had more access to sight to better appreciate the excellent quality in the meals provided.

The fact that we stayed during low season (dec) shouldn't result in set-meals offered for both lunch and dinner, really. The lack of an ala-carte menu was the only bane registered.

Could do with less bollywood or trance music in the lounge area...this is Kenya! We suggested to the management to further improve wifi access to the entire compound instead of just the lobby area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Was a great place to stay. We had tent number 1 and had a nice view over the Lake Nakuru Park with no other houses in front of you. Inside was very nice and clean. Very nice hot shower. This was one of our most favorite stays this holiday. The lobby and restaurant also was nice to see. The food was good. Very friendly staff.
We will stay here again that's for sure.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is a great one. Nearest to the gate of the wild park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is such a beautiful camp, in a very pretty setting. The tents are beautifully appointed, and the decor is stunning. The "tent" has a large verandah on the front and perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by. The bathroom is big and luxurious and the BEST hot water/pressure shower of all the camps visited. The bar/dining area is huge and also beautifully appointed, the whole place is so pretty and just what you would expect for luxury accommodation whilst on safari. It was cool at night, so wonderful hot waters bottles awaited us when we climbed into bed. A large fire pit kept the chill away after dinner and was very enjoyable to sit around after our meal. Staff and food excellent. Would highly recommend this camp. We stayed here as part of our JT Safari holiday

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeisaD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
4.1 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
872 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
80 reviews
2.2 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#2 of 17 in Nakuru
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Lake Nakuru Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
707 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
223 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hill Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range: $193 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Flamingo Hill Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing