We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“paradise in Wild” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Surat, India
Level Contributor
216 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“paradise in Wild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Right place to stay. Here you can feel vibrant emotions of wild coated with basic comforts of home . Was touched by their security arrangement. When they learnt that a lion pride was settling nearby, they stationed a Masai security guard in front of every tent for whole night! Guest co-ordinator was making enquiries about at-home-ness from time to time. Staff is very cordial. Food is in variety and cleanliness beyond reproach.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swamiji_drupad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    142
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
96
151
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mel, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a good tented camp to stay at while at Lake Nakuru, spacious tents, well positioned, we loved it, they could do something about the meals though, slight improvement, the lake had swollen due to rains, I loved the bird life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miho Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

More like a 4.5 out of 5, but I am rounding it off to 5 stars.

Pros:
The tents are great! Ample space and a big enough bathroom.
Quiet location.
Staff are very professional and provide excellent service.
Food is above average with a hearty breakfast.
Cocktails at the bar.

Cons:
Internet works only in the bar area. Not that this is a big issue, but some people may find it inconvenient.
While most of the food is good, some items were bland.

Overall, a great experience. The best part is that you drive outside the tents and see rhinos and buffaloes lounging around. Staff are friendly and make your stay comfortable. Definitely recommended in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Flamingo's staff provided quite comfortable lodgings but could really do alot more to improve the dim lighting in the restaurant and range of food shown. We were not quite aware of what we were eating during day and night and wished we had more access to sight to better appreciate the excellent quality in the meals provided.

The fact that we stayed during low season (dec) shouldn't result in set-meals offered for both lunch and dinner, really. The lack of an ala-carte menu was the only bane registered.

Could do with less bollywood or trance music in the lounge area...this is Kenya! We suggested to the management to further improve wifi access to the entire compound instead of just the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luyksgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Was a great place to stay. We had tent number 1 and had a nice view over the Lake Nakuru Park with no other houses in front of you. Inside was very nice and clean. Very nice hot shower. This was one of our most favorite stays this holiday. The lobby and restaurant also was nice to see. The food was good. Very friendly staff.
We will stay here again that's for sure.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is a great one. Nearest to the gate of the wild park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is such a beautiful camp, in a very pretty setting. The tents are beautifully appointed, and the decor is stunning. The "tent" has a large verandah on the front and perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by. The bathroom is big and luxurious and the BEST hot water/pressure shower of all the camps visited. The bar/dining area is huge and also beautifully appointed, the whole place is so pretty and just what you would expect for luxury accommodation whilst on safari. It was cool at night, so wonderful hot waters bottles awaited us when we climbed into bed. A large fire pit kept the chill away after dinner and was very enjoyable to sit around after our meal. Staff and food excellent. Would highly recommend this camp. We stayed here as part of our JT Safari holiday

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeisaD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Flamingo Hill on the first night of our 3 night safari. After a very long a tiring journey from the UK we were welcomed warmly with cold towels and a drink, just what the doctor ordered. We were shown to our tent and the pictures don't do it justice it was a stunning room. You certainly aren't slumming it in these tents and this adds a whole new meaning to the word "glamping". We had a four poster bed with built in mozzi nets and an en-suite bathroom. We even had a veranda with seats out the front to just chill after a long day. Another big bonus was the pool with extensive views over the park and free wifi which meant we could immediately upload photos to FB and make all our friends jealous!!!
The service and the food were both very good and all staff were very attentive but not annoying. The security was also very good and we felt very safe at all times. The lodge itself is not too far into the park, so you are surrounded by animals and the journey to get on a game drive begins immediately.
Thank you Flamingo Hill for a very pleasant first night stay in Kenya on Safari.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
4.1 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.2 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 15 in Nakuru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
17.7 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
7.9 mi away
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
#5 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hill Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Property: Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Address: Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Flamingo Hill Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing