We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place...”
Review of Mbweha Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mbweha Camp
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing place...”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Little was known about this place when our travel agent booked us into this camp. Our only regret was that we stayed only one day at the camp. Everything was just perfect. The location was great. The rooms were uniquely styled. Staff were extremely friendly. I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reemsanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Mbweha camp borders Nakuru National Park and is within a conservancy. The place is serene, well thought out with cottages that give maximum privacy. Staffs are extremely friendly and efficient. Food was excellent with an ala carte menu to choose from. Animals sighted on the night game drive were a “first time see “, for these mainly nocturnal animals including the “African Kangaroo” aka the spring hare, the bat eared fox, aardvarks. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here during a safari trip through Kenya: the two nights we spent were very comfortable and the staff obliging. There was a very nice touch with the way they managed the cool weather at night: hot water bottles were placed in our beds while dinner was being served. A very nice touch and consistent with the good, low key service. 

The common area features a large open fireplace that was great for a communal get together with our traveling companions. The accommodation we stayed in (we had the buffalo room) was utterly charming and surprisingly comfortable. With the location of our room, we had expected we would have problems getting the attention of our nightly security escort, but there was always someone nearby so we felt safe and secure. The only letdown was the very poor water pressure in the shower: with barely a trickle, it wasn't the best.  No doubt it stood out as everything else was so good :)

They did appear to struggle with the size of our group during meals, with food arriving at the table in a lukewarm state. This was solved on our second day with a buffet breakfast. 

I'd love to go back again!

Room Tip: If you require electricity in your room (e.g. To charge your camera), then ask for a family from as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_in_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Mbweha is a nice very tastefully decorated and designed camp. The rooms, especially bathrooms are quite something.The food is also very good and they ask you what you'd like to eat. the staff are very friendly and service is great.

There is not much wildlife in the conservancy so you cant do many game drives...birdlife is very good though.
The camp could really do with a swimming pool and a restaurant/lounging space in the sun/open air where you can read and just relax...

Room Tip: the Buffalo room is said to be the best but we couldn't stay in it as it was being painted
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shreyashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Mbweha tremendously. Kids and granny alike! Great service and comfortable accommodation. Dinner the night we were there was a BBQ served outside which was really delightful under the stars. We stayed in Rhino room which was a lovely size for two adults and two kids. Soundproofing was not very good between our room and the adjacent room, but that wasn't such a problem.
Good news for people travelling there from Nakuru is that the road was being tarred all the way to the turnoff to Mbweha while we were there and was almost completed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timkut68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had the most relaxing weekend at Mbweha Camp, far away from the hustle & bustle of Nairobi
Truly a place for complete "chill out time"
The accommodation was very comfortable, clean & private, although I did miss a plug for a hair dryer!!!! Yes! the solar power is great for all the other functions. Loved the touch of hot water bottles in our bed at night!
The staff are very courteous, friendly and helpful at all times
The only downfall was the food, perhaps a new chef has taken over! The menu, quality & presentation were not up to standard - Sadly! as everything else was great for a weekend away!

Room Tip: Perhaps, We were a little tooo relaxed as we did not notice a swimming pool or fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Our first time in Africa and Kenya. We did not know what to expect, but we were preparing for adventure in the sense of going back to basics. Our first stop outside of Nairobi was the Mbewha camp. What a marvelous place. It is very luxurious and the cabins/huts are very comfortable and well furnished. It's lighting works on solar power and it has a fully functioning toilet and show. The highlight was a secluded bathtub outside behind the hut. The bed, very large, was very comfortable. We slept extremely well. The lobby was very cozy and we spent the nights there next to the fire place enjoying a nice glass of wine. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was surprisingly good. The chef came out every time asking us what we thought. A very nice touch.
BEfore leaving Kenya we met the owner and he explained to us how they renovated the Mbweha camp and we commended the interior decorating. It happened to be done by his daughter. Well, she has talent. The owner was very nice and very engaged in his business, and the country. This reflects in the quality of the Mbewha camp and its staff. A definite recommendation if you want to do Kenya safari in style and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
9.1 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
847 reviews
11.1 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
76 reviews
19.2 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 17 in Nakuru
62 reviews
11.7 mi away
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
#2 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
407 reviews
18.6 mi away
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
#5 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbweha Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbweha Camp

Property: Mbweha Camp
Address: Conservancy bordering Lake Nakuru National Park. | Congreve Conservancy, Lake Nakuru National Park 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mbweha Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the spectacular Great Rift Valley on the private 6400 acre Congreve Conservancy bordering Lake Nakuru National Park. Mbweha Camp is nestled up against the southern border of Lake Nakuru National Park with beautiful views over the Eburru and Mau ranges. Congreve Conservancy is part of the greater conservancy area called Soysambu which has a large part of Elementaita within its borders. Rustic lava-stone cottages with thatched roofs are surrounded by euphorbia candelabra, yellow barked acacia and other indigenous trees. Mbweha Camp is only a few hours from Nairobi, yet feels right away from it all with its relaxed atmosphere. Being situated outside a National Park allows many activities, including walking, mountain biking and night game drives. Guests can also enjoy day trips into Nakuru National Park with the option of a gourmet bush lunch with spectacular views of the Lake and the National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mbweha Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbweha Camp Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing