We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru(Lake Nakuru National Park)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru(Lake Nakuru National Park)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luna ltd(Lake Nakuru National Park)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peniel Guest House(Lake Nakuru National Park)(Great Value!)
$67
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nakuru Golden Palace Resort(Lake Nakuru National Park)
$31
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mbweha Camp(Lake Nakuru National Park)
$550
$475
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Nakuru Lodge(Lake Nakuru National Park)
$488
$345
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Abbey Resort(Nakuru)
$65
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveler rating
484
355
100
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
355
100
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake nakurubefore dinnernational parktraditional dancegreat varietyview of the lakespent two nightsgift shopcakemasai mararooms are smallevening entertainmentpink flamingosbuffet stylebeautiful groundsstayed here for one nightfood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 956 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The room was very comfortable but the walls of the duplexes are very thin. You can hear the neighbours every word and movement.

The buffet was the best of our 7 days in Kenya. Lots to choose from and very fresh.

The staff was friendly and took care of everything very quickly. There is even free wifi.

The park is very busy and at times it was difficult to get around the other vans in order to get a good view of the wildlife. My wife spent a couple of hours walking the ground and taking pictures of all the colourful birds and flowering plants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest
I am glad to note that you rated our buffet best in your 7 days in Kenya.
We are in the process of addressing the issue of thin walls in some of the rooms
Asante Sana for taking time to review your stay with us

Ken Korir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Having stayed at White sands in Mombasa , this is a very poor second . Firstly the Park is not a accessible as it has been in the past due to the Lake being extremely high . You are not able to go to all areas due to this , which makes the USD 90 per day quite high, this was not conveyed to us at the time of the booking.( I know this does not really concern the hotel - but they should advise )

The hotel is comfortable and basic amenities and toiletries are provided . Lunch / dinner was not bad - but the service is seriously lacking, slow and not the right order is delivered Breakfast was another story I was offered a ' green ' egg for breakfast - only after I pointed out that the egg is actually bad - did the chef take notice ( after trying to cook the egg !!)

While checking out we were given the wrong bill . So a series of errors did not make for a very pleasant stay.
At present moment I cannot recommend the Park and Hotel , if the service issues can be sorted it can make for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Esteemed Guest,

I thank you most sincerly for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us. We indeed value constructive feedback as it enables us to continuously monitor and improve our services, and thus exceed our guests’ expectations always.
I regret that we did not live up to your expectations on service standards in the lodge and the current historical condition of high levels of water in the lake.
Recently the Park Management issued a statement on the state of the park, I quote "The roads that were submerged were on the Northern and Western sections. Currently, new roads have been done and accompanying drainage structures, including bridges and culverts have been constructed hence the circuit is complete and all-weather".
Though it would appear on casual look that some areas are inacessible, I can confirm that the roads that were submerged have been replaced with new roads and the entire park is reachable like always.

I have personally taken up the "green" egg issue with our Executive Chef and our suppliers. The gaps in service standards in both the restaurant and reception will most definitely be addressed. We at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge strive towards providing high standards of service always and would like to assure you that your experience does not reflect the standards we have set for ourselves

Again, Asante Sana for taking time

Ken Korir
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came Lake Nakuru National Park following KIT safari, Sarova Lion Hill Game was a very comfotable hotel for us after 2 days trip. The room was soft with electricity and hot water both 24hr, and there was also free wifi which reached the rooms!There were many colourful birds around us. After delicious dinner.,there was an intresting bonfire party waiting for us,following the merry music,the children were very happy to dance with local artist. The hotel located right in the park ,so we could drive only a few minutes ,and then say "hello" to the White and Black Rhinos.
Nice night. thanks for Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge & KIT safari.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sameul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Esteemed Guests,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us
We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived after lunch and from the time we parked our car, our luggage was taken care of by the smiling staff. Check in was smooth and were quickly allocated a room.

The rooms had all the basic amenities and toileteries were provided. The room also had a safe for our valuables. In the evening, the beds were turned down and mosquito nets and insect vape plug ins provided and turned on.

Before Dinner, there was a cultural dance by the bar which I felt was not very professional but good effort.

In all the meals - Breakfast, Lunch and dinner - the meals were really good taste and flavor. The variety was vast and a very good selection for vegetarians. I was really impressed. There was also an Indian selection as well as western. The only drawback I found was that the desserts were a little dry but this didn't put us off.

All the lodge staff were courteous and friendly. Everything asked was catered for which made the stay even more enjoyable.

A dip in the cold pool was refreshing after a hot tiring game drive.

We wished we stayed for one more night!!

Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Esteemed Guests,
We are glad to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
I concur with you in regard to our traditional dancers, they need some sprucing up. I am in touch with some proffessionals to help towards that end.
Again Asante Sana for taking time to review your stay with us

Ken Korir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here as the second stop on our Pollman's/Hayes and Jarvis safari, coming here from the Masai Mara.

This was definitely the best hotel we stayed at on the trip. The fact it's only a few miles from Nakuru probably helps, but just about everything here was superior and it actually felt like it stood up to international luxury hotel standards.

Starting with the room - it was a little smaller than some of the other places, but better appointed. Electricity and hot water were both 24hr which was a bonus, there was also free wifi which reached the rooms too!

Food was buffet style, but definitely a notch up from other places. When we arrived at lunchtime I was really impressed at the quality and tenderness of the roast lamb on it's own, nevermind compared to the previous place we had been.

Location was also excellent, right in the park and only a few minutes drive to excellent game viewing. We saw White and Black Rhinos, Lion, Hyena and plenty more whilst staying here. A leopard was seen too, but we got there too late to see it. There were usually a few other vehicles around but not too many.

I would really like to come back to see all the famous Flamingos when the water levels are lower and would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Esteemed Guests
Thank you for rating us - Best Game Lodge of the Trip - truly appreciated and we do look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews