We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Lodge. The staff at the reception were courteous and quick to get us registered. The luncheon buffet was elaborate (the dishes were decent in taste). They had a good variety of food - pasta station, Indian food, African dishes and some other variety. The restaurant staff were polite. The only thing they didn't tell us when we arrived was that one has to pay for their drinks. Good variety of desserts. The rooms were of a decent size. We had a lovely room that looked out to Lake Nakuru. The property is well maintained. Gives one the feeling of being in a serene place. Would DEFINITELY recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funtravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 897 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lodge is nicely located on the top of the hill so you have great views of the national park. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice touch at the end of the evening with the hot water bottle. Rooms are a good size and good choice of food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anyaspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Jambo

Thank you so much for taking time to write and post this review.

I am glad to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the property well maintained
We look forward to your next visit and once again Asante Sana

Ken Korir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My experience this time with this lodge was not so nice: we were put in a tiny room for two, in front of the reception and car park. We stayed for 2 nights and every morning, from around 05:30 we could not sleep, with all the people leaving, cars accelerating, people shouthing - as if we were not inside a Park! Although staff is fantastic and professional, the rest was not that fantastic: the meals are almost the same one after the other, some food items are not of very good quality. The Lodge gets full this time of the year so the dining room was an experience of massive tourism. Finally, the lodge should have warned their gests that the Lake is flooded and even the access by some roads is not possible - and thus the experience with the flamingoes or being up-close with wildlife, is no longer the same. Not worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms from 10 to 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Helena,
Many thanks for taking to review you stay with us
I regret that your experience with us was not so nice

Plans are underway to relocate the car park to a distant away from the first row of rooms and this will most definitely solve this problem.
We had so much rains this year and the previous year that were not forecasted; The lake has indeed risen to its highest level in 50 years. In the last one month however it has started receding and should reach its normal levels by end of year or early next year

On a positive note we are glad that you found the staff both fantastic and professional

Once again Asante Sana

Ken Korir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on availability and schedule.

To say I was pleasantly surprised is an understatement. The staff, especially in the Restaurant, are very friendly and will accommodate requirements with ease.

Ideally located for game drives.

Rooms are basic but very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had the priviledge of having lunch at this beautiful resort near Lake Nakuru. The surroundings were wonderful and the game drives were very different from our other locales. If you are lucky enough to see the thousands of pink flamingos, it is a real treat.

The food at this lodge was delicious and we ended up staying at a Sarova Hotel in Nairobi.

Ann and family from Washington D.C.

Room Tip: We had lunch only at this lovely resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theatrelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent an overnight in this lodge, one of only 2 lodges within the park, and were impressed with the gardens, chalets, and open-air restaurant. Situated in the heart of the Rift Valley, this national park setting offers lovely lake views, and you are sure to spot a variety of game, birds, and monkeys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in the park after hours and were able to convince the staff to give us the local rate. At $180 per night it was pricey but justified given the immaculate property, food and service.

The property is in a prime hillside location. Bring a flashlight for spotting animals at night.

Everyone should experience a place like this for the old colonial African feel, although, it was a bit old for me as the average age of the client was about 60 and I was 26.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
5 mi away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 18 in Nakuru
38 reviews
13.7 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
79 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Suites
Legacy Hotel & Suites
#9 of 18 in Nakuru
6 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Lake Nakuru Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
732 reviews
4.1 mi away
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
#2 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range: $212 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing