We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Lodge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Kenya. The rooms were too cute from the outside, I loved the look of them. On the inside they were just as nice. Very spacious and clean and the bathrooms as well. The staff was great as well as the food. We went on a drive thru the park and saw a good amount of animals including black and white rhinos!! And also a lion!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    283
    89
    11
    3
See reviews for
245
259
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived her at the start of the Eastern weekend , this during our great safari trip with Africa Veterans Safaris. So it was very busy and the requested connecting lodges were already occupied....so the reception responsible promised to look for a solution while we were having dinner. When we returned they surprized us with an upgrade to 2 connecting suites :-) !
( maybe also due to the fact that we slept 6 nights in different Sarova hotels)
After the good news we were confronted with the fact that there was a problem with the water ...an underground connection was broken and we had bathrooms without water :-( . Again the whole Sarova team (reception, house keeper, ingeneer, manager) started to solve the problem by starting the repair works immediately and meanwhile offering us another lodge to have a shower.
At 23h40 they fixed the problem !
The client focus in this hotel is at a very high level !! ( including the attention to the children)
The Sarova staff/responsibles keep their promises ... Because during our last stay in the Masai Mara we received as well a special attention !
Happy to highly recommend Sarova !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jswinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely location away from Nakuru town. The rooms are cozy and I loved the fact that there were no TVs in the rooms. The food was excellent with a large selection. Staff members were very friendly and really helpful. Nice traditional dance show in the evening.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent three nites during the Easter Weekend, all twelve of us. We had a ball. Service, food, rooms were outstanding! They even gave us a cake before we departed and helped provide milk for our daughter.
Lovely staff with a great work ethos. They truly value the customer.
i highly recommend if you have not been there.
You pay for QUALITY...........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here while on a family safari (myself, father, husband and 8 year old daughter) . We stayed in a connecting cabin (the Jasmine/Jerusalem). The rooms were spacious with good mosquito netting, bottled water etc. No tv, but who needs it when you are on safari?

The food, like the Sarova Mara Game lodge, was excellent. Lunch was a buffet but breakfast and dinner were served meals. There was a lot of variety and excellent desserts.

The grounds are beautiful and full of different types of birds. The game drives around Lake Nakuru are great, we saw several rhinos along the way, as well as the famous flamingos.

We stayed for only 1 night at the Sarova Lion Hill lodge, which was not long enough because the lodge is wonderful and there is so much to see around Lake Nakuru.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaCat_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge one night in February 2013 on a small group safari while visiting the Lake Nakuru National Park. We would like to have stayed at the lodge another night, and had additional opportunities to relax there and enjoy more of the park. The wildlife we saw in the park was awesome, especially white and black rhinos, zebras, giraffes, Cape buffalo, wart hogs, baboons, jackals, gazelles, dik-diks, impalas, and lots of birds including huge eagles, ibis, pelicans, herons, pink and white flamingos. The accommodations were very comfortable and luxurious. The staff members were all cordial and very helpful. Meals were served buffet style. The selections were very diverse, tasty, and presented nicely. We appreciated having direct access to WiFi in our room.

Room Tip: We were assigned room #39 which was close to the main lodge and had a nice view out toward the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMGAmes_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We love the sarova lodges they are 5 star all round. They variety of food is outstanding even for fussy eaters like me I had no trouble . Your laundry is done for you over night which is wonderful when you are away from home for a long time as we were. The rooms were lovely and the setting was beautiful. From the moment you drive out the lodges gates you will in think of the wildlife we had a lion just lazy across a tree on afternoon and there are so many rhinos both black and white.

Room Tip: We were right up to top of the hill and we were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
13.7 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.6 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 15 in Nakuru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.5 mi away
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
#5 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing