We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the real wildness”
Review of Lake Nakuru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent overnight in the Lake Nakuru Lodge.
The Lodge is situated in the Lake Nakuru National Park and what is amazing that during your lunch on a terrace you can see the baboons, wild beasts and buffalos grazing on the hills beside you! One thing may be oppressive for delicate noses because during the leisure time on the pool you are still so close to the animals that you can smell them… literally. But the thing is that once you came to safari it’s just one of the attraction.

The food in the restaurant was varied and tasty and the staff nice and helpful.

The rooms were clean and large but average quality. The one inconvenient thing might be that there were two single beds in a double room what me and my husband found a little bit uncomfortable. What is good, the room is equipped in insect repellent for your own usage so you may spray all mosquito nets and curtains before sleep.

I recommend that place to the people who enjoy the closeness to the wild nature and do not look for exclusive but just decent stop during safari trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler_Firefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane m, public relations officer at Lake Nakuru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

The Lake Nakuru Lodge management and staff is glad that you enjoyed everything the facility offered. it is also amazing how you appreciate nature including the wild smells of the baboons and buffalos at the water point.
my apologies about the single beds in your room, truth is that there are available kingsized beds and i wish you could have asked. i hope next time it will be better.
thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 721 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Was expecting a lot from this lodge and Lake Nakuru in general. Apparently the water level in the lake has risen and that has driven the flamingoes away. That took away the main attraction of this game reserve.
The lodge also did not meet expectations. The service was not good, and the staff was not helpful or friendly. This was a surprise considering the great people we met at other places throughout Kenya.
The views are ok, but quite far away from the lake.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane m, public relations officer at Lake Nakuru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

thank you for taking your time to review our lodge.We the management and staff of lake Nakuru Lodge are apologetic to you if we failed to reach you expectations. it is our desire to ensure that all our guests feel warmly attended and leave the lodge satisfied to the maximum. we hope that the stay did not make you regret your visit in our lodge and the trip as we hope you would come again and experience a much better stay.
and its our hope that the flamingoes will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here one night after Lake Nakuru visit. The hotel is located atop a hill overlooking the lake so the setting is amazing for lake views. Since its close to water many animals can be spotted in the vicinity of the hotel. You can see a lovely sunrise and sunset & morning birds chattering all around. Kids had a good time in lawns and around the pool. That is the good part. The not so good part - the rooms are okay with beautiful morning views and surrounding greenery but bathroom is very very basic, ours was smelly too & water was sticky, toiletries not enough and no floor towel that meant a very messy and slippery floor!
Food was standard, we thoroughly enjoyed the singer who played around tables singing nice African, English and even Indian songs!!
Other than the messy bathroom, cleanliness issues, overall good for one night stay/stopover in the middle of nature & greenery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane m, public relations officer at Lake Nakuru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

the lake nakuru lodge team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and would be glad to come back. it is our pleasure to ensure that the lodge is family friendly and it has something for everyone to enjoy including safe grounds for children to play.
we apologize for any inconveniences that may have occurred during your stay but its nice that the singer made it up for you.
thank you and welcome back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The setting of the Lodge is amazing with fantastic views over to Lake Nakuru, There were Rothchids Giraffe on view from our room and also Cape Buffalo. The room was a bit basic compared to the other lodges we stayed at, but this wasn't a problem, Food was good and a lovely pool to relax by. Would recommend a boat trip on Lake Naivasha, which is about an hour drive away, Its an amazing place for bird life and Hippos.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KesandMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The only thing I can say bout this place is the waitresses in the bar try hard to do a good job
We stayed here in Dec 2013 for one night and found a bed bug in our beds. we had to change rooms in the middle of the night. The rooms are old, they charge you for wifi, their food is average and their service is below average. The people are almost trying but this facility needs an overhaul or a complete close down. A regular motel at Nakuru town is a better choice than this over priced facility

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelisgood1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane m, public relations officer at Lake Nakuru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Esteemed guest
Many thanks for taking your time to review our lodge, we appreciate your feedback as it assists us in offering better services.
we are very apologetic for all the inconveniences you had to come across during the stay in the lodge. about the bedbug issue it is very unfortunate as i can assure you that the rooms are cleaned everyday and beddings are changed after every single use.each room is sprayed with insecticides daily and there are insecticides cans in each room. dusting and airing is also done routinely.
i regret that you did not enjoy your stay as it is our main goal to offer the best to holiday makers and ensure they enjoy their stay and would like to assure you that the experience does not reflect our standards and the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

It is a nice hotel but cannot say that the staff was as friendly as in other hotels. The food was ok, there were no toiletries (shampoo and shower gel etc), the views however were AMAZING. Early in the morning giraffes and bamboons right outside our room. It was ok.

Room Tip: Get as far away rooms from the reception as possible. You get the best views and animals to visit yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlektra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We arrived after a fairly long journey, I jumped straight into the pool ( whilst the others went for lunch) our room had a large picture window with a view of the great rift valley, plenty of baboons zebras, and wildebeest to see. Beautiful gardens, we also had a small terrace - but don't leave washing out or the baboons will get it!
The food here is excellent - far better than most lodges. A short drive to see the flamingos, we saw two lions and plenty of other animals too.
It would have been good to stay longer than one night.
There was no safe in the room, we had no toiletries but contacted reception and received some.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
5.3 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
887 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 17 in Nakuru
27 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
8.4 mi away
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
#2 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
426 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Nakuru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Nakuru Lodge

Address: | Nakuru, Lake Nakuru National Park 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range: $190 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lake Nakuru Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lake Nakuru National Park, a bird watchers paradise / pink heart of Kenya. Only 170 KM drive passing Uplands viewing Great Rift Valley or flight to Naishi Airstrip to a warm welcome by the Lodge Tour Guide or Receptionist. The capacity is 170 guests accommodated in suites, deluxe or farm house rooms. Enjoy our delicacies and natural foods in our restaurant and bar, which offers an amazing view of the lake and help of our experienced friendly personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Nakuru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Nakuru Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing