We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite average”
Review of Lake Nakuru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here since Flamingo Hill was full. The lodge looks quite attractive and has a bunch of trees / plants planted by visitors which is a nice idea. Our room was huge but had a lizard or two in it :( with lizard droppings on the bed covers which was a big turn off. Also there was no netting on the windows which cannot be safely kept open at night as anyone can pretty much walk into your room then. We felt quite claustrophobic.
There was a strange lack of toiletries with only a combo shampoo and body wash attached to the shower wall besides some bar soap. No cream or conditioner.
We had a triple room with one single bed and one double bed. Only the double bed had a mosquito net. The mosquito net didnt have a frame making it difficult to lay out.
This is the only hotel Ive stayed in that didn't have a phone in the room! Totally weird.
The dining area is nice as it looks out over the reserve and there is a watering hole frequented by baboons just past the terrace. There is a nicely dressed Masai warrior who roams around the terrace for photo ops.
The dining room itself has a hideous giraffe theme with clashing hexagonal walls. Food was average with minimal veg options. Desert was awful.
The souvenir shop is nice and had some unusual prices especially bird figurines. The pool area has a nice sit down viewing area where you can take in the view.
All in all not a place I'd recommend for the lack of phones, ventilation. Looks pretty but needs more work to make it a good stay option.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 731 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our group consisted of around 25 university students and after travelling from Uganda, lake Nakuru lodge was our final destination of our field trip. After around 7 hours travelling it was lovely to be welcomed with warm towels and a refreshment, it was just what we needed! We went straight for dinner in the lovely restaurant where there is a huge choice of food at a buffet style dinner where even the fussiest of eater would be happy. We were treated to nighttime entertainment and dancing which gave a really nice atmosphere. Our rooms were really big with ample space and all the facilities you need, really clean and comfortable. Woke up early for our safari to come back and enjoy the beautiful pool in the sunshine. If you are looking for a true safari experience Lake Nakuru lodge ensures you'll do it in style.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lake Nakuru Lodge has much to like and some things to dislike. The grounds are beautiful with a wide variety of vegetation, lovely walkways, a view out over the savannah and an attractive pool area. Our room was large with a comfortable king sized bed complete with netting. It was located at the end of the property overlooking open space as far as one could see. There was always wildlife visible through a large glass sliding door that took up an entire wall of our room. One morning we saw a troop of baboons climb a tree near the electric fence and hurl themselves to the other side onto the lodge property. Very entertaining. The dining area is attractive with both indoor and patio areas. The food was good with many choices. Staff was attentive but not the friendliest. There was entertainment the night we were there.

However, our room was dated with lots of dead bugs. The bathroom, in particular, needed some work. The towels were very thin and worn. We were used to having tissues and bug spray supplied, but there were none here. This was the only facility in which we were not allowed to bring our own water to meals - pretty cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Luckily we got a room with a great view. The lodge is built well, the location is great. There were some buffaloes right outside our room in the night and that was a great experience. The food is also nice. The staff needs to be more friendly and polite.

Overall, its value for money. You wont get disappointed.

Room Tip: Take the rooms far from the reception and those towards the boundary of the property so that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for the third time and was in no way disappointed. Beautifully kept grounds with flowering shrubs and the swimming pool as usual was immaculate. The staff are welcoming and the food is very good with lots of choice. Our room was clean but it would have been nice to have had a range of toiletries as supplied in other lodges. The view from our room was stunning and we made good use of our balcony, especially watching two hoopoes that had a nest in the overhang of the balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrighteyesWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012,the food was delicious ,staffs excellent and the rooms woow with a very nice view and to crown all the entertain when relaxing and enjoying your dinner.the game drive was fantastic .would really like to go back anytime.and great value of money

Room Tip: Rooms with the animal view are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night. A beautiful lodge with well manicured lawns.We had a big room with a fantastic view. We could see a lot of animals roaming around. Late at night we heard the lions. It was awesome!. We had a beautiful veranda, but was reluctant to go out, in case the baboons came in. The room was clean, except for the shower area. The water felt sticky and we could not seem to wash off the soap!

The food was good, the staff friendly. Virginiah, one of the staff, was so bubbly and friendly with such a great attitude. There were two performances after dinner.The acrobats were excellent! We enjoyed our stay.

Lake Nakuru is beautiful with abundance of wildlife!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tickedthebox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
5.3 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
897 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 18 in Nakuru
38 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
79 reviews
21.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
8.4 mi away
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
#2 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Nakuru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Nakuru Lodge

Address: | Nakuru, Lake Nakuru National Park 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range: $193 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lake Nakuru Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lake Nakuru National Park, a bird watchers paradise / pink heart of Kenya. Only 170 KM drive passing Uplands viewing Great Rift Valley or flight to Naishi Airstrip to a warm welcome by the Lodge Tour Guide or Receptionist. The capacity is 170 guests accommodated in suites, deluxe or farm house rooms. Enjoy our delicacies and natural foods in our restaurant and bar, which offers an amazing view of the lake and help of our experienced friendly personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lake Nakuru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Nakuru Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing