We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smile to Africa Adventure

Smile to Africa Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Nakuru is Kenya's most visited National Park. Located 160km and 2 1/2 hours from Nairobi, the park is an important Ramsar site and home to thousands of different bird species. The 188sq km Lake Nakuru is the only KWS-administered reserve that is fully enclosed. Once just a bird sanctuary, Lake Nakuru is now the best place in Kenya to see the highly protected black and white rhino. Among other animals found in the park include rhino, lion, leopard, flamingos, Egyptian geese, waterbuck, giraffe, hyena, buffalo, baboons, vervet monkeys, gazelles.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We organized the tour from our hotel in Nairobi. Our main attraction was to see the Flamingos. The whole family enjoyed it a great deal. Its a great place to visit. Its better to visit the park in one of those pop up vans which are very popular. Take a guide with you who will double up as a driver too. A guide will be able to tell you which areas are safe for you to get out of the vehicle and tell you a lot about the different animals and birds you see. We concentrated on checking out the various animals and enjoyed watching them from a close, safe distance. It was amazing, will always remember that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ranjana_ranjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonder Full Day safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I with one of my close friend went to Nakuru for one day Safari. We started the Safari around 0900 hours. The Nakuru is famous for Flamingos, complete safari is around Lake which is full Flamingos. The scene if awesome. White Lake all around. One has to be careful while safari from Baboons. Tourist point up on high the mountain is called Baboon height, i left the door opened of my car and it was mess many Baboons entered in my Car. After eating the edibles they left. Be careful. Safari will take almost complete day if you driving yourself, however there are many safari operators who will make your trip comfortable. You must carry items to eat as there are no much selling points inside the Nakuru park.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RAK733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Safari day at Lake Nakuru!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

11 Aug 2012

Very nice!!
Having to spend the day with the wildlife is indeed an amazing experience.. Saw lots of zebras, baboons, different kinds of birds, gazelles, white rhinoceros, buffalos, flamingos (from a far). Nakuru is a 3-4 hour drive from Nairobi so it is better to leave early if you want to see flamingos. When its sunny, you wouldn't see any of them... we were quite lucky in the afternoon when we saw flamingos though from a far. A cloudy weather is good for flamingo-watching. Bring nice camera, preferably with zoom-in functionality so you could have a better shot of animals even from afar.

you can bring food and have a picnic on top of the park... need not to worry for no lions will attack you while on there ;). you could also have a good view of the whole park, lake, etc. good for photoshoot ;) ...there are picnic tables and a toilet..


Other info:
* entrance fee for non-resident is 85 usd or 7000 kes
* entrance fee for resident is 1000 kes
* we hire a safari van for the whole day and it cost us 15,000 kes for 8 persons. if two persons will rent the van, you can have it at 12,000 kes. we hire the van from Peter Nellion taxi service..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank worknleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1 Day Lake Nakuru Safari with Molten Rock Safaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My partner, father and I went on a 1 Day Lake Nakuru Safari with Molten Rock Safaris on Friday 20th July 2012. I highly recommend Molten Rock Safaris who are based in Nakuru. All emails were answered within 24hrs by the wonderfully warm and friendly Grace prior to the trip. The trip cost was an extremely reasonable 9,000 Ksh which was by far the cheapest quote I received. That covered the vehicle and the driver guide. We brought our own food with us for the day which worked out well. Our driver guide John was absolutely fantastic. He was extremely friendly and really knew his way around the park. He really took his time to ensure that we experienced all the different habitats the park offers. We saw an incredible variety of wildlife. There were also points at which we were able to get out of the vehicle and really experience being in the landscape which was brilliant. The day was topped off with the amazing John weaving his way through tiny tracks through grassland to find extremely elusive lions in the park. If you're thinking of touring Lake Nakuru look no further than Molten Rock Safaris.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank esr2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LAKE NAKURU NATIONAL PARK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

For those who're looking the best peaceful place and memorable the Lake Nakuru National Park is the right place! Lake Nakuru National Park is the great place ever for soaring flamingos especially pink flamingo known as Lesser Flamingo which are almost 20 millions in this lake! When you inter at the main gate and start your game drive you will experience the different feelings about nature with yellow back acacia tree with some monkeys and Baboons! But not only those attractions but when you start facing the lake you will meet a real beautiful attractive color from the lake which it will spoil you even if you have seen a good things from where you have start your Safari!
You will drive close to the lake shore and here you will be allowed to come out of your car and walk slowly approaching flamingos and you may be very close enough to take pictures even with very small lens! Here you may spend hours and hours to watch them and enjoy how do they geed from salt water
But out of flamingos in this park the Lake Nakuru is the best place to watch those endanger species of animals Black Rhino and White Rhino as well which you may find them grassing along the road and even standing between the road! The Black Rhinoceros is those who're endanger species as is those which are originate in East Africa and the White Rhinoceros are originate in South Africa but those at Lake Nakuru brought from South Africa officially between friendship of South Africa and Kenya!
Because of this beautiful creatures makes Lake Nakuru to be a unique place in East Africa as you may even see other species of animals like Buffaloes, Baboons and even other different species of birds.
Surrounding the park there are lodges and hotels for accommodation and even the camp site near the main gate and all those are inside the park which it will allow you to start your game drive very early in the morning as you can! Along the rim there are very good sport as a picnic site where you will have full scenery for all the corner of the park!!

You may do your booking though your Travel Agent or Tour Operators as there are many Tour Operators at Nairobi.

For those who have been there they will agree and comment about this beautiful place!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chistopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile to Africa Adventure also viewed

Lake Nakuru National Park, Rift Valley Province
Lake Nakuru National Park, Rift Valley Province
 
Lake Nakuru National Park, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Smile to Africa Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing