We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Although we only stayed there one night, the Maili Saba Camp was hands down our favorite of all the places we stayed while in Africa. The minute we were led down to our "tent", we knew we were in for a very special treat. From our porch, we were greeted to a panoramic view of the entire Menengai Crater as we were situated right on the rim of the crater itself. The view was absolutely stunning and laid the groundwork for what would be the best overnight of the trip.

For each meal, everyone would gather in the main building which contained the reception area, bar, gift shop and dining area. The host would then come out with a menu board and go over each of the courses and what was offered. The selection was never short of outstanding and would easily compete with some of the better restaurants in any major city in the world. Once our orders were taken, the guests would sit around the fire and share stories and experiences of the day. The presentation and quality of the food was phenomenal...definitely the best of the trip.

At the end of the night, upon retiring to our tent, we were treated to a hot water bottle in our bed as we snuggled into the warm blankets to enjoy the crisp evening air (because of the higher altitude, it did get chilly at night, but it made for perfect sleeping conditions and also kept the mosquitoes away).

The service here was outstanding as well. From the minute we arrived, Eunice and Cecilia made sure our every need was meet. Although we felt bad about this, when they found out we were leaving before breakfast to be at the park entrance at opening, they did not hesitate at all to make sure we had breakfast boxes packed and ready for us upon our departure.

Our only regret about staying at the Maili Saba was that we only got to spend one night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boystownboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed 1 night at Maili Saba Camp and were blown away at the warm welcome! Our entire stay in Kenya lasted a bit over a week and in general, all the service was pretty good. But we found the Genuinely friendly staff at M.S. to be a special treat. Unfortunately, the web site photos do not do this place justice. It is a straight forward place where everything was done very well. There are no weird artificial frills, but it's also a FAR cry from a bare-bones back packer place. Just breathtaking valley views, immaculate tents, delicious food, hot and reliable shower and folks who ask you about your journey... and mean it. We understood that Maili Saba was a Hotel that offers less-advantaged local youth a chance to learn the hospitality trade. Spot on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yolin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Camp is located at the edge of the Menengai Crater, which is already a great start, because it offers a breathtaking view from your tent (although it is more of a house with canvas walls, offering all the romance of a tent, but the comfort of a home).

But much more important is the fantastic service provided by the staff and the amazingly broad and tasteful menu. The main building furthermore offers a fantastic fireplace to sit around in the evening, after climbing in and out of the crater (definitely worth a separate recommendation!)

The facilities in the tent are very good and the shower is perfect, although the water temperature does depend a bit on how many people are using them at the same time.

All in all, this was definitely the camp with the friendliest staff and the best food of all the camps/hotels/lodges we stayed in in Kenya.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Main)
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This was the best place we stayed during our Kenia tour. It's a tented camp with great view from your bed to crater and wide landscape. Perfect and very friendly service. We felt very familiar, beacuse it's not so big.
In the evening you can sit indoor arround a fireplace, relax, talk and have glas of good vine or beer.
From Maili Saba Camp it takes you about 30 minutes to the lake nakuru nationmpark, where an early morning gamedrive is a must!

Room Tip: Room 3, 5, 7 have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Located just 11 km outside of Nakuru town overlooking the Menengai Crater this is the place to be in Nakuru. 10 km of bad road followed by 1 km of very bad path you don´t even think this is the right way to go when you finally end up in little paradise. The tented camp consists of about 10 Bandas which all have a great view. Once you are there it is truly a calm, relaxing and well maintained place where you forget everything around. The tents are equipped with everything you need, hot shower however needs a bit of time. At night you get a hot water bottle in every bed. There are two things to mention in particular. 1. The food: This is simply first class, gourmet style, 8 to 9 courses a day (full board), all gravy are fantastic and every single course is delicious. It is the best food I had in Kenya and already a good reason to stay there. 2. The service: I have been travelling a lot throughout the world and have been staying in all kinds of hotels. The service in Maili Saba Camp is warm, friendly and outstanding at any times. You are treated in a very individual, personal way. So, if you travel to the area of Nakuru this is the place to go! I can highly recommend it, you will not regret staying there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

View - Amazing
Service - Incredible
Food - Fantastic
Everything was exceptional, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browndog02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Ideally located 20 minutes from the main gate of Lake Nakuru National Park, Maili Saba is the perfect camp to retire to after a full days game viewing around the beautiful lake and a boneshaking drive down the approach road.
After a dip in the infinite pool, a hot shower in a spotless room with a terrific view, spectacular sundowners, drinks around the indoor 'campfire', superb food and the friendliest service ever, and you realise you are well on the way to recharging your batteries ready for the next day.
After a good night's sleep, birdlife allowing, and superb breakfast accompanied by the world's best smoothie and you know you are as ready as you will ever be for the rigours of another day on the road in Kenya. Especially that approach road. We'd visited Hell's Gate the other day, now it was the turn of Hell's Driveway!
Set in a delightful location, with a modest but well maintained infrastucture with all 'mod cons', it is the suberb food and hospitality which really allows Maili Saba to punch well above it's weight.
Well done Eunice and team, a big Asante sana to you all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
9.5 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
829 reviews
21.1 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
76 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Lake Nakuru Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
85 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ziwa Bush Lodge
#1 of 33 in Nakuru
147 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Nakuru
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru

Property: Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Address: Solai road/ Nakuru - Nyahururu Road | 20 minutes from main gate Nakuru National Park, Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing