We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Outspan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outspan Hotel
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stopped here for just one night at the start of a Safari and was greeted with hospitality, the rooms were nice if a little dinghy with low lighting. The grounds were spectacular and the walk was tiring but very interesting and informative. The food was a slight disappointment, the bread on both evening and morning meals was a little stale and dry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragontamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stopped here for lunch and to check in to Treetops, and I have to say it was realy lovely. Food was nice, staff were a bit sullen, but the grounds were absolutely beautiful.

We also returned here to meet our guide, as they use their own to take you to Treetops, which we found a little odd.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night at the start of a safari week. Rooms were clean and spacious with good sized balcony. Delicious buffet style lunch served outside but dinner was served inside a la carte - I ordered lamb cutlets - they were all bone and fat and the little meat there was tough and chewy - had to spit it out - unedible. My partner had spicey chicken which although edible was tastless. The pudding - banana crumble was delicious though!!! OK for stop over - but don't order the lamb!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blondie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

As with many others we spent just one night here at the start of a long safari.
There were good and bad things about the place but overall the peace & quiet offered was preferable to a night in Nairobi !
The building and furnishings are colonial style, not what everyone likes but fairly unique, the room was big but needed some maintenance (e.g. balcony doors would not shut properly).
Food was excellent and the restaurant/outdoor seating has some great views ... just don't expect any game viewing !
Only disappointment was that the outdoor seating was not available at night, I assume because of the likelyhood of mossies (?).
They do a pretty good nature walk for free (bar any tips ... which surely can't be begrudged !), don't expect to see anything big but theres good birdlife around.
If you want to visit the Baden-Powell stuff this costs extra, and to be honest there isn't much there.
Overall - worth it for a start to the safari, though not really a destination in itself.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

First stop after overnight flight- calm, lovely gardens and great service. Food was excellent and provision been sorted for coeliac vegetarian.

Room Tip: Ask best overlooking gardens, great for bird watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Billymyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have had a very disappointing experience with the hotel, the hotel is beatiful the ambience is grand and relaxed, thats as far ad it goes! I could stand the arogance but not the blatant disrespect to the revellers especially to me in particular, from the staff to aloofness of the managing chef. my complements to the guards, they were curteous from the entrance to the valet.

Disgrantled kenyan

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smuriuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We travelled with Somak on safari for 1 week. Our first stop was Outspan Hotel for 2 nights. We were a party of 2 couples and were put in opposite ends of the hotel. However when speaking to the management they changed the rooms so that they were next to each other-no fuss just did it. WEnt out on a nature walk to oriente ourselves to the area. Guide wasn't that knowledgable but it was interesting.. Good to stretch legs after a long flight and then quite a long journey in not too comfortable a van
Food very good, excellent buffet choice. Staff friendly and attentive.
Beautiful grounds and you could eat outside which was wonderful at breakfast time
Good start to the holiday

Room Tip: A room overlooking the grounds at the back makes for a lasting impression
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
6.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyeri
61 reviews
10 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
0 mi away
Westwood Hotel
Westwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Nyeri
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outspan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outspan Hotel

Address: Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range: $173 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outspan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located in the Kenyan highlands 2 hours drive from Nairobi the capital city, Outspan provides a holistic business, leisure and adventure experience. A comfortable hotel set in well tended tropical gardens with rolling manicured lawns and breath taking views of Mt Kenya. Lord Baden Powell the founder of the Scouting movement spent the last three years of his life here in a cottage called Paxtu which is still preserved to date. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outspan Hotel Aberdare National Park
Outspan Hotel Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing