We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above the waterhole”
Review of Treetops Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Treetops Lodge
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above the waterhole”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

An majestic wooden structure with a rich history. The illuminated waterholes are literally meters away and offers a unique night time experience when you can hear the grazing elephants or fighting warthogs. We were alone in the 82 capacity lodge. I can imagine that the wooden floors will be noisy during busy times. The only slight negative was that a mouse found its way onto our ceiling and was irritating when we needed our sleep so dearly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the queen's corridor offer excellent views of the waterhole, also on Mount Kenya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsakL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and do regret the unfortunate incident of noise in the night. Our pest control team was notified and has since done the quarterly treatment to get rid of the rodent and any other pest that may interfere with guest comfort.

Regards

E. Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    105
    67
    27
    16
See reviews for
86
158
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was our first stop on our arrival to Kenya. We were taken away by finding an elephant right close to the pathway to the entrance of the lodge! Of course there was an electric fence but that big guy didn't look hesitant to charge it. But it gave us the "feel" of being in the middle of wilderness.

We were given a quick brief by the manager about the lodge, safety, meal times, etc. and the escorted to our rooms. My room was small, barely space to move between the bed and the dresser. There is a hanger that has space to place your bag and also hang your clothes. The bathroom was spacious enough with a good shower. The best thing was the view, overlooking the water hole. My friends would not believe where I was while I tweeted away photos of elephants from my room windows !

Downstairs there is a viewing room with tiny windows with enough size to poke a camera lens but too small for an animal to cause any damage, managed to take some nice photos from there. There is also a viewing platform at the roof of the lodge, but at night its impossible to see much even though the hotel have the area illuminated. Also the bugs all are attracted to the big flood lights so be prepared to see some weird creatures.

There is not much to do at night, so prepare yourself that your schedule should consist of waking early and sleep early, cause after dinner and with no TV and no entertainment but watching the animals come drink, you better sleep early.

The breakfast buffet was very modest, nothing to write home about. Also for dinner and lunch, there were set menus but the dishes were very tasty and with enough variety to keep you interested.

It was a nice 3 day stay, though I would have cut it to 2 only because of lack of things to do at night. But being in a tree house overlooking a water hole and having animals walking under your windows, now that's an experience !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NileGuy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review is appreciated and glad that you had a great game viewing experience from the comfort of your room and lodge. We have taken note of long staying guest and will look at various activities that can keep them engaged through out their stay.

Than you.

Regards

E. Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is one of the oldest hotels, written about in books and yes, in history books too. But the watering hole, the vantage from the balcony ( we saw two leopards between tea & dinner !!) , the guided walk and the birds. It is a must-do Kenya safari hotel.

Staff were great - the plumber in fact called out the guests to the roof to see a Leopard. Great involvement. A bit of a cliché maybe - but visit it nevertheless and your kids will love you for taking them there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingStar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Treetops has a rich history as it is among the first known game viewing lodge in Kenya coupled with its Royal Connection. Indeed this was a rare treat as Leopards hardly come to the lodge and are mostly spotted in the park during game drives.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Kenya.

Regards

E Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

First Off - the Lodge has been refurbished, and a lot of the poorer reviews on Trip Advisor are out of date.
The rooms are comfortable and have on-suite facilities, and there is no longer a requirement to take just an overnight bag. The dining room is now individual tables, and food is adequate and plentyful. Breakfast is now served here.
Quite why there is still the faffing about with checking in/out at the Outspan hotel then going to the lodge bewilders me.
The game viewing from the top deck is very good, especially if you like elephants, and if the other guests who are not interested in this aspect of the lodge had kept a little quieter it may have been better.
However, when we arrived at the park gate after checking in at the Outspan hotel there was no transport available to take us to the lodge and we lost an hour of prime game viewing time, until our driver took things into his own hands and drove us up to the lodge. The manager was very apologetic about this and offered compensation, which was fair enough.
So, overall good, but not the best of our 10 day Safari.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Treetops. We do regret the transfer hitch that caused delay in getting to the lodge. Historically, Outspan is the base hotel for Treetops hence check in and lunch is offered at the property. Drive to Treetops after lunch is at leisure for guests to enjoy part of Mt Kenya scenery. However we now allow guest to drive all the way to Treetops in their vehicles but must check in at Outspan. Guest can take with them safari suitcase since the lodge has ample luggage space in the rooms. Once again we do apologize for the transport hitch and hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Kenya.
Regards
E. Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our safari consisted of 3 locations, treetops, flamingo hill in Nakuru and ashnil Masai Mara. We booked like this to maximise game viewing potential, and with the help of glorious safaris (Shadrack) we were able to enjoy an unforgettable honeymoon in Kenya. Complete with airport transfers and personal driver guide (Shauri) our trip allowed us to see the big 5 and lots lots more!

Treetops itself was a unique and amazing experience. Initially we were hesitant after reading reviews about previous stays there. However since the refurbishment we thought we'll give it a go. So worth it! Upon arrival into the reserve, a large heard of elephant greeted us up the short drive to the lodge. In treetops the main attraction is the viewing area, overlooking a waterhole and saltlick, the animals were constant throughout the night, giving us the chance to see close up herds of elephants, buffalo, packs of hyena, various buck, hippo and more! The secret viewing rooms mean you are literally 2 metered from the animals, with all the sounds and smells of the bush! Truly amazing and can't wait to go back!

The rooms and hotel itself are also very nice, with the rooms having everything you'd need for an enjoyable comfortable stay, but the main attraction is and always will be the animals and the hotels ability to get you close up to them, as intimately as you could and would want to get to.

Amazing!

Room Tip: Not sure if there even was a fitness centre, as the whole time we spent viewing the animals. The res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose Treetops as part of your honeymoon desitnation and are grateful for the positive review posted on tripdadvisor.

We look forward to hosting you on your anniversary.

Regards

E. Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the most memorable part of our holiday in Kenya. Treetops is quite unique in its style and presentation and anyone who wants a friendly and interesting introduction to Africa and its wildlife should go there. Stephen, the animal warden, gave us a talk about the animals while we sipped an aperitif, his enthusiasm was complete for his love of the animals. We only stayed one evening, but it was the best sleep I have ever had and the most comfortable beds - and no mosquitoes as it is too high. We were so excited as the elephants arrived from over the hill to take their evening drink. Absolutely wonderful place and lovely people.

Room Tip: Views of the animals on all so all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fullofcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Treetops experience on tripadvisor and we are glad that you had a wonderful stay.

Regards

E. Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hi, am so privileged to have visited the treetops lodge when i was doing the central/northern circuit and i must admit it is just fabulous.i would like to have a farm trip with my class from moi university and get to show us the facilities and services you offer since that is our specialization field.please get back to me and advise me on the way forward since we are planning to come there on 19th of this month.
thank you

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

For future fam trip request send an email to info@aberdaresafarihotels.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

E. Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
3.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
299 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
457 reviews
5.4 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
2.7 mi away
The Ark Lodge
The Ark Lodge
#2 of 15 in Nyeri
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Property: Treetops Lodge
Address: Aberdare National Park, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treetops Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Aberdare National Park, this world-renowned rustic Treehouse is over 80 years old and was recently fully refurbished. This game viewing lodge was originally built in 1932 and is famous as the place where the then-Princess Elizabeth ascended to the British Throne. The father King George VI died on 5th Feb 1952 the night she spent at Treetops while on honeymoon.Treetops lies in the path of an ancient Elephant migratory route between the Aberdare Ranges and Mt Kenya National park, and is strategically sited right in front of a natural watering hole and salt lick.With large windows fitted in all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge guests can drink in the sight of Elephants, Buffalos, Rhinos and more from all areas including the view deck on top floor of the building. Die-hard animal lovers needn't worry about missed sightings, even into the early hours of the morning. An optional buzzer in the rooms alerts the guests when a spectacle is unfolding at the waterhole. Game drives and a lecture about Treetops are also available to the guests.This lodge-on-stilts is accessed through a gradual ramp to the top floor and a Tree grows right through the building. There are 36 en-suite guest rooms that include 3 spacious suites and 33 twin rooms that can be converted into double rooms. A disabled friendly room is located on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Aberdare National Park
Treetops Lodge Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing