We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a pleasant place and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Desert Camp
Ranked #44 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Reviewed February 5, 2013

when i first went there i was amazed from the view and the camp it self, those guys knows how to do it and perfectly! there is a guys called shabaan you must set with him he reflects the real Jordanian hospitality with his attitude and professionalism , his way of talking showing around really give you the feeling of i dont wanna go back home i want to stay with those people as they knows how to treat and pamper you. Rafiq the owner is a gentleman who care for his guests and always try to invest the coming days to have them back again and again, they have local food Zarb you must try it as well the arayes don't miss the camels ride and the 4*4 tours, the tents are well equipped and the camp is very much clean.

they have oud player and arabic classical music that take your breath away while listening to them, nice show of the arabic coffee how to do it and guess what you try it as well, very nice !

captain camp wadi rum is a place where you go only if you wanna enjoy, relax and leave all issues behind! so mainly all wanna go there....

Room Tip: don't forget your cameras !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 321 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

My first trip to Captain's Desert Camp in Wadi Rum was on 2003 I spent two nights, it was unforgettable amazing experience for me and my husband. We were treated so warmly, We ride camels and ride jeep hikes into the desert, then we watched the sunset, at night it’s something else … a very enjoyable evening around the campfire and the atmosphere was real bedouin, the food was full of varieties and the accommodation was comfortable.

Since that time am visiting Captain's Camp in Wadi Rum every year to repeat my dream. I highly recommend you to visit Captain's Camp in Wadi Rum, and am sure 100% the you will enjoy every moment of your stay there .

Room Tip: all rooms can be used
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Its was only obe night but it was a nice dream
Wadi rum is an amazing placce and captains camp made my trip there perfect
Clean warm nice elegant and great staff
Food is too tasty and too much
Tea served to us all time !
Simply it was a dream

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abdol-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a private camp just for our tour group of 6 people that was organised by the Captain's Desert Camp. We travelled from the main Desert Camp to our camp on camels which was slow but great fun. Our Bedouin hosts were very friendly and prepared us delicious food for breakfast and dinner and heaps and heaps of tea. The tents were spacious and well appointed with beds and linen. The bathrooms were clean but didn't have hot water so be prepared for cold showers in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The visit to Wadi Rum (The moon valley) has been one of the highlights of out trip to Jordan! Wadi Rum is amazing. Stunning views and simply a breathtaking experience because of the great mountains and the beautiful desert.

We felt in very good hands at The Captain's Desert Camp and had a very unique experience. The camp is well equipped and has a beautiful layout in authentic beduin style - with the mountains in the background. It is very comfortable, cozy and clean. The staff and polite, helpful and very kind and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

We went driving in the desert in a 4x4 and enjoyed some desert racing (mind you, in a professional, experienced and controlled way!), had some amazing photo opportunities and climbed up on a tall rock to enjoy the sunset - stunning.

We enjoyed a delicious dinner and enjoyed beduin music and relaxed by the fire with our traditional tea afterwards - the perfect ending of our visit to Wadi Rum.
The only thing wrong with our experience at Wadi Rum and the Captain's Desert Camp was that it ended too soon! Will definitely have to come back to spend the night next time I go to Jordan.

Room Tip: Don't forget warm clothing, the desert gets cold at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rikkes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our Overnight in Wadi Rum was for us an unforgettable amazing experience.
Starting with the support and organization in the Desert Camp. We had. a very enjoyable evening around the campfire with Shisha, Tea and home roasted Coffee.
I think that you can not do better. In Jordan itself has impressed us, the friendliness of the people. Always and everywhere, we were warmly greeted. Often it came at a tea to interesting conversations.
Also, the scenery and the variety of cultural witnesses We were pleasantly surprised.
Last but not least we would like to also thank our driver.
> Unfortunately, we lost his email address. With its open, human and lovable nature of our trip, he has put his personal stamp. We have always felt safe. He drove us not only through the area. He explained to us the country, people and history and brought closer.
Jordan, next year we'll be back.
Helmut V.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helmut V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I spent two nights at Captain's during my week in Jordan, and it was by far my favorite aspect of the trip. (I also stayed in 5 star resorts in Aqaba and the Dead sea, went to Petra, stayed in Amman, and nothing really compared to the magic of Captain's and Wadi Rum). Spending a few hours traveling through Wadi Rum via Jeep was deeply moving, and something I'll never forget. Hasan (the bedouin jeep guide) is adorable and very knowledgeable about his desert, and was clearly motivated to ensure that everyone had a good experience. I did a 4 hour tour and wish I had done something longer (it would have been amazing to camp out in Wadi Rum itself!) Shaabula is the guy who tends to the camels, makes the tea and coffee at night, and keeps the fire going if you want to sleep outside under the stars. He has a big, hilarious personality and all of the guests immediately became very attached to him. Rafiq, the owner, was extremely gracious and prepared an amazing traditional jordanian dish, mansaf, for those of us who had stayed a second night. The food overall was delicious (better than the resorts, honestly), the bathrooms and showers were surprisingly clean and in great shape, and the tents were very charming. It was very cold at night, so if you don't sleep by the fire, make sure to ask for extra blankets and help to stay warm. All of the other staff were lovely, with great senses of humor to help bridge any language divide (the manager, a tall guy with a nice smile, is a great dancer and helpful with everything!). I couldn't recommend anything more--an amazing place, and an amazing experience. I'll be back!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank TaraWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
1.6 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#3 of 138 in Wadi Rum
419 reviews
8.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#2 of 138 in Wadi Rum
184 reviews
13.2 mi away
Rumshines
Rumshines
#16 of 138 in Wadi Rum
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rahayeb Desert Camp
Rahayeb Desert Camp
#17 of 138 in Wadi Rum
308 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#4 of 138 in Wadi Rum
1,084 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#12 of 138 in Wadi Rum
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Desert Camp

Address: Ad-Disi, Wadi Rum 00962, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $72 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Desert Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains Desert Camps Offers more than an option for a pleasant, luxurious & comfortable stay in Wadi Rum. The magical desert of Wadi Rum is a true wonder of nature. You can choose from staying at the main captains camp located In Disi or at one of our echo camps inside the protected area of Wadi Rum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Captain's Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Desert Camp Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing