We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Aretas IV Luxury Camp
Ranked #90 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Chester, uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent one night here, only the 4 of us and another couple so we pretty well had the run of the place which made the 'camping' side of things easier.

Started with a 4x4 sunset tour, after which all the 4x4's at the view point charged off, all seemed to going back to the entrance and 'pretend' Wadi Rum camps at Disi - except ours.

Getting dark by the time we arrived at the camp, greeted with a drink in the open 'reception' canopy. Camp has about 40 tents set beneath a huge cliff. Tents were fine, beds comfortable, its a camp not a hotel. Shower block likewise.

Dinner was good, not going to earn any Michelin stars but by lamplight in this location, there are compensations. Staff were great, although with 3 tents only occupied they could afford to be.

Afterwards, tea/coffee around the camp fire and the most incredible night sky we've ever seen, so many stars and milky way it was difficult to spot familiar galaxies. Loads of shooting stars. Our sons both slept out around the fire, my wife got up to watch the desert dawn, having done neither I want to go back and do it properly.

We had time for some walking in the early morning sunlight which revealed quite how spectacular the location of this camp is, huge cliffs and mesas, big red sand dunes with hundreds of tracks from lizards to camels with some in between you might not want to meet alone.

The night here was the highlight of the holiday. Unmissable.

Room Tip: Just do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wadi Rhum remains one of the most outstanding experiences on a visit to Jordan and to spend a night there under the stars is unforgettable.

The location of the King Aretas camp is outstanding, nestled among mountains looking out on to the unspoiled desert. No other camps are nearby, and you really feel the atmosphere of a landscape unchanged since the time of Lawrence. You can expect good service and food and twin-bedded tents of a reasonable size. The beds could be more comfortable, but the owners tell me plans are in hand to change them. A toilet block provides western toilets and hot showers.


Plan to arrive late-afternoon and enjoy a jeep trip (or camel ride) in to the interior to watch the sunset before arriving at the camp for drinks and a bar-b-que dinner in a bedouin style tent. Afterwards relax around the camp fire and watch a canopy of stars that feel so close. After an early morning walk and breakfast, time to depart.

A great one night experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCabeLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked the camp through its website and were royally ripped off. We paid 70JD per night and other campers staying the same night as us told us they paid as little as 20JD.

We also booked a jeep tour of Wadi Rum directly through the King Aretas camp's reservation executive, who assured us we were in the best possible care, but we were not! The camp implied that they were connected to the tour providers, but they are not, and they were very quick to disown the tour operators after we were treated appallingly.

We paid for a two hour jeep tour of several sites in Wadi Rum, but the driver dumped us at the camp after less than an hour. Ripped off by liars and cheats - liars and cheats who were recommended to us by King Aretas Camp reservations staff.

Our long, written complaint to the reservation executive from the camp itself was met with stony silence, which is grossly unprofessional.

Given that luxury and highly reputable tour companies like Abercrombie and Kent use the camp, we trusted that it would provide the best possible service and were extremely disaappointing to find that this is not the case.

Don't trust the reservations department people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank allthecountries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The camp is beautifully situated between the mountains in the desert. We were the only ones in the camp. We almost felt the only ones on the globe.
But luxury camp? No, we did not find it. the tents are small, difficult to stand up, the beds were bad.
The food was very dissapointing, especially in the morning. Only jordanian bread and a little cup of marmelade. Eggs? Eggs are finfished, I am sorry, they told us.

Room Tip: Ask for a new tent, they are bigger.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annemiekederaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our guide claimed that this camp is the furthest into the Wadi Rum desert, and it sure seemed that way. There were no other camps near us and it really felt like we were nestled alone in this cozy and comfortable camp. Living in Jordan, I've been to Wadi Rum for 3 weekends over the last month, I chose to return to King Aretas after our first stay there because despite the steep price (compared to most of the other camps) the tents, food, location, bathrooms/showers and staff were great. Even though our first stay was a last moment decision (due to noise and overcrowding at another camp), they were very accommodating and took very good care of us.

The second time around did not disappoint, I returned with some out of town visitors..we had a tasty dinner, digested and chatted by the fire, and we were greeted by an amazing full moon when we went for a night time walk in the desert. The only thing that left a bitter taste was when it came time to pay-unlike our first stay they charged us (ALOT!) for the bottled drinking water they provided, and they wanted us to pay an exorbitant amount for transporting us to the camp with a few very touristy stops along the way (something many other camps include in the cost of the overnight stay)...when we politely complained, they decided to not charge for the ride as a token of 'hospitality'..we were further baffled at how a supposedly $100 service suddenly became free...so I remain with mixed feelings. I would have gladly kept going back if I didn't feel taken advantage of, so I will probably try some other camps recommended by friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
0.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#4 of 117 in Wadi Rum
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 117 in Wadi Rum
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#7 of 117 in Wadi Rum
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
0.0 mi away
Salman Zwaidh Camp
Salman Zwaidh Camp
#30 of 117 in Wadi Rum
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Aretas IV Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Aretas IV Luxury Camp

Property: King Aretas IV Luxury Camp
Address: Wadi Rum, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Aretas Camp is located within the National Reserve in Wadi Rum it is surrounded by the rustic orange sands of the desert and protected by the huge sandstone mountains. All accommodation is in canvas tents with two beds, electricity for a small bedside lamp and mobile telephone charging, and a chest of drawers. Washrooms are provided in communal blocks just a short stroll away and although basic, offer both shower and changing facilities. Full housekeeping service is provided. You will also find a communal tent with plenty of cushions and rugs, to sit and admire your surroundings whilst sipping on your Arabic tea or coffee flavoured with cardamom and a restaurant offering both buffet breakfast and dinner. Children are more than welcome and would enjoy this camping adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King Aretas IV Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing