We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Hiking Trip”
Review of Khaled's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaled's Camp
Ranked #18 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Certificate of Excellence
Celle, Germany
1 review
“Desert Hiking Trip”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a great trip!! We came to Jordan to see Petra but left with the Wadi Rum experience as the absolut highlight. Khaled organized a phantastic trip: we spent 2 days hiking and climbing, slept under the stars in a canyon, open fire cooking: a time to remember. I highly recommend booking with Khaled, you will not regret it!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
64
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We, my colleague and I, had a business trip to Amman and decided to spend a couple of days at Wadi Rum. We called Khaled who was very helpful and gave us all details. He even arranged for a taxi from Amman to the camp that was way cheaper than the ones proposed by our hotel.

We saw online that a fee should be paid at the visitors center (5 JDs each?) and were not surprised when our taxi driver told us about this extra charge.
Once at the village, we were greeted by one of Khaled's cousins and Ali who told us that he will be our guide for the next day. We were surprised when they stopped at a store and advised us to buy our water for the next day (6 bottles), but the prices were reasonable and the guys told us that it is for our trip in the desert not for our stay at the camp. I see that this is a good trick to make us appreciate the water (and use it efficiently) if we buy it ourselves.

We arrived at the camp at 9:00pm and every one was already at dinner. The buffet still had the salads but the guys had prepared a whole meal (too much for two) just for us, knowing that we will be late. Food was great and the chicken so tender that we had to ask about the way they cook it!

In the evening we chatted with the guys at the camp and other guests and Khaled was taking long exposure photos of the stars, he took a photo for each of us under the milky way and later put them on our USB sticks. We spent the night under the stars which is an experience of its own!

Sunrise at the valley is breathtaking!

The trip the next day was as described on the website, the bedouin lunch in the shade was great (and relaxing), we had beans, yogurt and baba ghannouj with orange juice. We had our technical problems with sandboarding that we managed to overcome through our perseverance and Ali's patience. Choose a dune where the sand is solid for a great sandboarding experience.

Back at the camp we had a great chat with the other guests, the way the seating area is arranged, the sunset, the dining tent and Khaled's humor make you want to socialize with the others.

The second day, we had a three-hours camel ride to the village. The experience is good but painful. The camels had nowhere to put your legs, they kept trying to eat at each bush, and the small kid we had as a guide kept taking about money. Not to mention the burning sun. I advise you to have it for maximum one hour, early in the morning. Khaled was waiting for us at the entrance of the village with a (well needed) cold soda and drove us to our taxi back to the airport.

The place was very clean and the bathrooms cleaner than some of the expensive hotels I have been in. There are some cats on site in case this is a problem for you.

The camp was also nominated for the green key award and everyone was lecturing us on the importance of water conservation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alachkarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

First of all, if you are even considering for a moment to stay a night or two (or three or four or five) in Wadi Rum, DO IT!

Second of all, if you've decided you are going to visit Wadi Rum, THIS is the place to stay. Bottom line.

We arrived just before sunset and rode with Khaled through the vast, red valley. He was incredibly kind and friendly from the start – another visitor was running late and rather than have us wait he quickly organized another car to pick them up – to make extra sure we wouldn't miss the sunset. And for good reason. We joined other campers up on the cliffside to watch one of the more incredible sunsets you can find. It was spectacular start.

Khaled takes a lot of pride in his camp, and rightfully so. It's situated in a perfect location, with breathtaking views. He is so excited to show it to you, and to make sure you get the best experience possible, in whatever way suits you best. He and the other men who run it have such an affection for their desert, their food, their friends. Everyone was incredibly happy and warm and welcoming. And they are truly pros at what they do. They cooked us a delicious buried feast, they played music for us (and with us) at dinner, and later in the evening, Khaled even showed us constellations and shared wonderful stories about his family and the wonderful people he has met.

The tents are clean and comfortable, though most of the campers like to sleep outside, under the stars – which is definitely an experience and highly recommended! And the men who run the camp are happy to help you set up and get situated doing so.

We only stayed for one night, but the next day before our departure, Khaled showed us some of his favorite parts of the valley: an oasis secretly tucked into the hillside, and a beautiful cavern with ancient inscriptions. I also know he can organize hot air balloon rides, camel rides, and an array of other adventures. Which I absolutely plan to return for some day.

This was one of the most incredible experiences of my life. You would be a fool to come to Jordan and not stay with Khaled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked a full day Wadi rum tour with Khaled, stayed over night in the camp and then took a camel ride in the morning - it was an amazing desert adventure which we won't forget and highly recommended if you have time. It was very easy booking with Khaled and they offer a range of options depending on how much time you have. Our guide - Ali was really friendly and good fun to be around. He cooked a delicious lunch for us and we enjoyed hearing about the Bedouin lifestyle from him. The camp itself was in a beautiful location, with a spotlessly clean toilet block and very comfortable beds (we were exhausted!). Khaled takes time to speak to all of his guests and is very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Khaled and his team will guide you through the beautiful surroundings of the desert valley. The camp is situated between rocks, a great spot to watch the sunset! The accomodation was great, with comfortable tents, good food and clean sanitair. I cannot review the beds, although they looked comfortable!, as we spent the night under the stars. The crew provided us with matrasses and warm blankets and we must say it was magic to spent the night like that! And before we forget, we had a great time with Khaled. He is truly a magnificient host. It was definitely an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Some time ago, we stayed in Khaled's camp for one day. During this first stay in the camp, we did not experience the "sleeping under the stars" feeling since we stayed in the bedouin tent. This was already really nice but we felt that we missed out on something and decided to go for a second stay. Khaled and his team did not disappoint us when we saw their proposal. We went for a camel ride and hike near the Saoudi Arabian border. The diner was served in the middle of nowhere but Khaled and Ali succeeded in baking bedouin bread and prepared a BBQ! Delicious! The scenery in which all of this happend was breathtaking and something that we will never forget. Thanks a lot Khaled and Ali to make our trip to Jordan unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiansInJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I can only rave about Khaleds camp. He was super flexible with us and met us at the village. My boyfriend at the time rented the private cave and it was the most romantic place I have ever been in my life. I have been to 5 star hotels and resorts all over the world and you cannot put a price on this experience. A million stars, candle light, bonfire,sitting area and they even brought us a hookah. I was so surprised how comfortable the bed was as well!

Later on in the evening my boyfriend proposed to me under the shooting stars! He said that we would never have such a romantic setting in our lives and he could not help it because it was the right moment!!! Forget Rome, Paris, or New York there is no better spot in the world to get engaged!!!

Room Tip: Get the private cave if available!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ammadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
1.3 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
968 reviews
11.3 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 117 in Wadi Rum
368 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#4 of 117 in Wadi Rum
406 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bedouin Traditions Camp
Bedouin Traditions Camp
#9 of 117 in Wadi Rum
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Discovery Bedu
Discovery Bedu
#12 of 117 in Wadi Rum
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaled's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaled's Camp

Property: Khaled's Camp
Address: Khaled Sabbah Atieg, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaled's Camp is a certified eco-friendly tour and accommodation provider located in the Wadi Rum Protected Area. We offer a wide variety of activities ranging from half day desert trips to multi-day hiking and trekking tours. Our camp is located 14kms from Rum Village in the desert, with 18 tents nestled against iconic sandstone cliffs and provides stunning views of the sunset year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Khaled's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing