We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Khaled's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaled's Camp
Ranked #18 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family and I stayed ay Khaled's camp. Having done some research beforehand, there were specific sites which we wanted to see. Khalid did not dissapoint us.The camp is rustic yet very comforable. After enjoying a mystical sunset we were treated to a lovely dinner. The stilness that comes from staying in the desert is an experience we will not forget. The staff were very friendly. We were most impressed by Khaled's hosptality and genuineness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haroonc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
65
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of the best camps in Wadi Rum and an absolute must do experience in Jordan. The experience of the desert alone is magical and is made even more so by how good Khaled's Camp is. Khaled and his team are really great - welcoming and friendly. The camp is incredibly comfortable considering it has no electricity or water. However they bring in water so there are flushing toilets and showers and each room is supplied with a candle and a torch. Lovely dinner - one of the best we had in Jordan and expect LOTS of sage tea! The star gazing and the sunset viewing is also incredible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was on a business trip to Amman and decided to visit Khaled's Camp in Wadi Rum with a friend.
What an amazing experience!!! The whole tour of the magical Wadi Rum was simply amazing. We saw some great sites, like Laurence house and spring, did sand boarding, climbed on a natural rock bridge, had lunch and then went to the camp.
Very nice set up with clean rooms, toilets outside the rooms and shower as well.
We watched the sunset and then at night had traditional Beduine dinner.
We then sat for hours outside watching the amazing sky. Never before in my life have I seen so many stars in the sky. Khaled took some photos of us with the milky way in the background, simply amazing.
Slept in the tent during the night as it was a bid cold, woke up had breakfast and then went back to the village.
Khaled and his stuff are simply the best, all very kind and helpful.
This was a great experience and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Panos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

5 amazing days to Jordan..but Khaled's camp was my favorite. Khaled and his stuff offered to us an amazing experience.... a magical tour of the desert ... an amazing lunch in the middle of the desert, prepared by the driver and then....the camp...an oasis in the desert. A magical dinner and then lying on the sand and watching the stars...Thank you Khaled... .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiliosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Out of an incredible trip to jordan khaled's camp was my favorite experience. After a spectacular day driving through the awe inspiring Wadi Rum we were welcomed warmly by Khaled and his kind staff to their perfectly placed camp which in the middle of the desert had showers and toilets, it was glamping all the way. But then it got better! We watched the sun go down, ate a wonderful traditionally prepared feast and then slept under stars. Definately one of the top ten places to visit during our time of earth. Thank you Khaled!

Room Tip: Ask to sleep under stars, for a wonderful experience. Take a torch and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I can't imagine coming back to Wadi Rum without visiting my new dear friends Khaled and Ali. Their camp was magnificent with all the trimmings. We started off by being met by Khaled himself. We had a nice lunch in the local café with some wine then set off on our adventure. Khaled had booked us a camel then we met Ali by jeep. We climbed hills, saw ruins, scrolls and driving in the desert was such fun. We then relaxed and drank tea while Khaled told us stories of Bedouin tales and customs. We then made our way to the camp and had refreshments while watching the sunset. Khaled has set out a beautiful spot, elevated above the camp to see this and amongst the guests were a couple of regulars. When we asked why they come back to Khaled's camp they replied it is the best spot in the desert and my children know Khaled, they wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! That night we ate a tradition Bedouin meal and listened to Bedouin music then retired to the stars, what a magnificent sight. Clean and comfortable accommodation, I can't wait to return. Thank you for having me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Been to 7 star hotels, 5 stars, splurged a lot but this place is worth billion stars.

Very very basic tents with steel beds and toilets outside the rooms.

Need a torch to go in night from room to dining area and to toilet.

Took us time to sink into this alien world, but Khaled makes you very comfortable.

The private desert tour in the day was unlike any experience we had, private lunch in shade of a mountain and not a single human being within miles of viewing distance.

Food was basic and you seem to like it because its the only option available. But its the number of stars which just hypnotizes you.

Great breakfast table at a height and beautiful sunrise.

This place has got some soul in it and might not be very fancy like other camps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIMOTRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
1.3 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
977 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#5 of 117 in Wadi Rum
420 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rumshines
Rumshines
#14 of 117 in Wadi Rum
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Discovery Bedu
Discovery Bedu
#13 of 117 in Wadi Rum
66 reviews
22.4 mi away
Wadi Rum Travel Camp
Wadi Rum Travel Camp
#15 of 117 in Wadi Rum
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaled's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaled's Camp

Property: Khaled's Camp
Address: Khaled Sabbah Atieg, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaled's Camp is a certified eco-friendly tour and accommodation provider located in the Wadi Rum Protected Area. We offer a wide variety of activities ranging from half day desert trips to multi-day hiking and trekking tours. Our camp is located 14kms from Rum Village in the desert, with 18 tents nestled against iconic sandstone cliffs and provides stunning views of the sunset year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Khaled's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing