We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Khaled's camp it is wonderful”
Review of Khaled's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaled's Camp
Ranked #20 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Before we went to Jordan it wasn’t my intention to sleep in the desert. I only wanted to visit the desert in a daytrip. But my mam with whom I was travelling she wanted to stay in a camp and sleep in a tent in the protected area in Wadi Rum. On the internet we found the website of Khaled’s Camp and after getting some information we decided to stay for one night.
Khaled himself picked us up in Rum village. With a jeep we made a tour through the desert. He told us a lot of the life in the desert and the habits of the Bedouins. He made a stop to make a sweet tea for us. After a four hours drive we arrived at the camp which is at a beautiful location. This is the place to be if you want to go to Wadi Rum. This camp is a great location because it has the right size and it is very clean. It is the perfect place to stay. To see the sunset in the desert was amazing and also all the stars in the evening. The dinner was excellent and afterwards we were sitting around the camp fire. Omar played games with us. We had a wonderful evening. The next day after breakfast we left the camp and we were sure we want to come back to Wadi Rum and to Khaled’s Camp again because we had a great time in the camp, we loved the hospitality of Khaled and Omar. And for sure just one night is too short to enjoy life in the desert
Tip: take some sheets and towels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 215 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

From my BF's journal:
"Riding a camel for 7 1/2 miles isn't as easy as you might think. But now, as the dawn rose grows more pastel over red sands of Wadi Rum desert, not feeling' sore a-tall, but feeling' a sense of calm tinged with a glowing expectation of this day ... this day specific ... that glows before me beckoning. Cannot adequately describe the rough hewn elegance of the rocky formations that arise from the empty rusty expanse of rolling sand plains in all directions. We slept in Khalid's camp, a collection of wood floored tents at the base of a wind carved red sandstone/ limestone rocky tor.
Night was warm soft under infinite canopy of stars later muted by rising fat moon that search lit the desert moonscape...."

Wadi Rum, and in particular, Khaled's camp, was definitely the highlight of our (one month) trip.
The setting is absolutely stunning-- we could not get over the awe-some-ness of it all. Think "walking on the moon". I think this must be the equivalent.

Special thanks to Omar, a wise young soul, who drove us around Wadi Rum the next day showing us the most incredible sights (regretting that I did not having the stamina for one of the larger Jebels)
He's also a superb chef. He prepared a fire and whipped us up a little "dejeuner sur sable" -- a sort of ratatouille/vegetable stew served with flatbread, hummous and fruit......zaki !

I could go on and on. Just go there !

Room Tip: You might want to ask for the cave if you're doing a romantic thing -- did not get to see it per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank monunison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for one night at Khaled's camp, and he and his friends made it a terrific experience. The camp is basic, but perfect for a night. Dinner was also surprisingly good, and the jeep tour we took in the morning was great.
Khaled and his friends also set up a cave they had 5min away from the tent camp with candles and flowers - the perfect setting for proposing to my girlfriend! The whole stay in this Wadi Rum camp was a magic experience, thanks to Khaled's help and hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LorreBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had been recommended this camp and it was a lovely experience. We were met by Khaled and our guide for the day's jeep trip (Saib) at the visitor's centre about 9.30am, and rolled into the camp about 4.30pm after a day's driving around Wadi Rum. When we stopped for lunch (we had bought some food at the township) at 12.30, it would've been handy to know that we'd be stopping for 2 1/2 hours, so that we could fully relax and take our time over the food and tea that Saib brewed up. We jumped into action again at 3pm for the final couple of attractions and then off to the camp for the night. More tea and chat with fellow campers, and watched the sun set over the desert. Dinner was delicious and the musical demonstrations were entertaining. Once the stars were out there was plenty of opportunity to get the cameras out and Khaled was expert at taking some excellent photos. I wished he'd encouraged us to sleep outside, as it was a fairly balmy night and we could've taken the mattresses from the communal tent with cushions to sleep on. The pillows in the tents were rock-solid hard, so very difficult to sleep well. Overall, a lovely experience and would recommend. Make sure your camera battery is fully charged before arriving as there is no electricity available at camp.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morag m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoyed a jeep tour and one night of camping with Khaled. We were happy to find clean and simple lodging, a beautiful location, and excellent food! This desert is a must-see for adventurers and nature lovers, and you can trust Khaled will help facilitate an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SahsBulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my wife stayed one night at Khaled's Camp. Although the accomendation in the tent was simple it was a very good experience to stay a night in the desert. We will never forget it. The food was excellent.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank HansGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Unfortunately we've spent only one night in Wadi Rum. It is beautiful. We didn't book in advance, but it was no problem. Khaled came to get us from Rum Village and could take us on a jeeptour almost immediately. He was very nice and hospitable and even showed us the desert foxes at night. Wadi Rum is truly magical and camping there with only simple tents and no electricity makes it complete.
Khaled had a good eye when it comes to making nice photo's himself and can show you the best places and some starry-night-photo techniques :-)
Would definately stay here again and we really recommend to stay more than one night!

Pay attention: at the visitors centre there are quite some people that will talk you into their own camps in Diseh (not in the protected area!). Just stay strong and make clear you want to go into the protected area and stay in a camp there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
11.3 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#3 of 123 in Wadi Rum
408 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#2 of 123 in Wadi Rum
164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#4 of 123 in Wadi Rum
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
3.2 mi away
Jordan Tracks - Bedouin Camp
Jordan Tracks - Bedouin Camp
#16 of 123 in Wadi Rum
250 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#9 of 123 in Wadi Rum
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaled's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaled's Camp

Address: Khaled Sabbah Atieg, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $33 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaled's Camp is a certified eco-friendly tour and accommodation provider located in the Wadi Rum Protected Area. We offer a wide variety of activities ranging from half day desert trips to multi-day hiking and trekking tours. Our camp is located 14kms from Rum Village in the desert, with 18 tents nestled against iconic sandstone cliffs and provides stunning views of the sunset year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Khaled's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing