We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Wadi Rum desert ... but be careful with the cleanness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rahayeb Desert Camp
Ranked #21 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Certificate of Excellence
Bron, France
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Wadi Rum desert ... but be careful with the cleanness”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were 2 couples of friends on tour in Jordan and have spent one night in Rahayeb Camp, chosen by our tour operator. The location is excellent: the camp is located in the desert and surrounded by very nice mountains. At 9 pm the light is cut off and then you have a very silent night. Beds were good and we had a very good sleep. Take the breakfast outside with the morning light is a very good moment.
The very negative point is that in our 2 tents with bathroom the bed covers used by previous guests were not changed ... We had to discuss with the manager in order to get some clean one, which we finally got.

Room Tip: At your arrival, check immediately if the bed sheets are clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank André H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    78
    39
    19
    7
See reviews for
40
122
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have just spent one night at the Rahayeb camp. We loved it from start to finish. We stayed in a VIP tent, it was so cosy and quiet. This camp is better than the others as it is not near the road and in a beautiful location under the mountains. The staff are friendly and helpful. We did a 3 hour jeep tour which was great fun, had tea with the Bedouins in the desert. We went for a walk at night and the sky is so clear and its amazing to look at the stars. We watched the sun set and the sun rise. The bed at the camp was really comfortable and we slept well. The food was AMAZING, I have never tasted lamb or chicken like it, they cook it underground and its so tasty and served with lots of salad, potatoes, rice and veg. We went for an early morning camel ride which was a nice way to start the day. I would definitely recommend this camp as the others were not so deep in the desert and this was so quiet and peaceful. This has been one of the highlights of our visit to Jordan and we have been here for 2 weeks. The Wadi Rum Desert is a must and so it Rahayeb Camp for the experience. Thank you for giving us these brilliant memories to take home.

Room Tip: Get a VIP tent, they have showers and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brunodorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night while trekking in the wadi and it it didn't disappoint. Our tents were basic with 2 single beds but they were comfy, which was all that mattered. The sand dune next to the camp offered excellent views and was good for watching the stars at night after the power was turned off around 10 pm. The food was good with dinner being the highlight as it was served from an underground cooker (I forget the name) and consisted of lamb and chicken, accompanied by an assortment of salads. The breakfast was much more simple but still satisfactory while the bathrooms were clean and hot showers were available after the generator was turned on. I would recommend visiting this camp if you want to see wadi rum and enjoy good, simple food coupled with small but comfy tents.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is a very romantic idea to spend a few days in the real Bedouin tradition in the scenery straight from "Lawrence of Arabia". And it IS a great experience. There must be a dozen or more camps like this in Wadi Rum, mostly around the village of Ad Disa. What this means is that it is almost impossible to take a photo without having some jeep tracks in it. What this doesn't mean is that you see your neighbors all the time as the camps can be very well hidden.

I was there during off-season, in February, and the temperature differences between nights and days are huge. It was very close to freezing when I woke up at 6. And although they offer several blankets, there is no heating as such. You need a lot of additional clothing. Once you know that and are prepared, it is a great experience.

So what does one do here? Most people, I would imagine, at least have a camel ride for a few hours and maybe a jeep tour for some (I did four) hours. You can book a night time camel tour to gaze at the sky and that should be great. And there are other activities. Of course you can just relax, read a book, ponder the meaning of life etc.

How about food? Breakfast was surprisingly nice and while the lunch is a non-event, dinner is a pure feast and worth the wait.

I would still go for minimum two nights here.

A definite highlight of the whole trip.

Room Tip: I had booked a standard tent but on arrival was offered a VIP tent as they were available. The diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Rahayeb camp and it was wonderful.

Pros:
- We were the only 2 people staying at the camp for 2 nights and they took great care of us. All the staff was very friendly and we were part of the group the whole time we were there.
- The food was very tasty and fresh. We ate all our meals there and the food served was always more than enough for 2 people. We had a great time eating the feasts prepared for us daily, including unique local dishes on request.
- The camp location is remote and it is very quiet and nice to walk around. We took a walk to watch the sunrise early morning which was beautiful. The weather was not the best with snow storms and extreme cold, but we still enjoyed our evening walk around the desert.
- The second day, they set up a campfire inside the main tent and it was nice to just lounge around the fire and be warm.
- Star gazing was beautiful. It was cloudy for the most part, but we did get a glimpse of sky full of stars and the moon.
- The camps are adequate, the bathroom is functional. For the most part, the tents are well maintained and clean. We had some trouble with leaks on the first tent, but we were immediately moved to another tent.
- Our transfer to and from the entrance station of Wadi Musa was arranged on time and we were transported in comfort both ways, this was included in the Booking price.

Cons:
- I think because it was low season and not many tourist, the tour we took was not as great. We took a Jeep tour which was supposed to be 3 hours, we were back in 2 hours which was a bit disappointing. While it lasted the tour was a lot of fun. Cannot recommend the Guide a lot as he was not the best.
- Transportation to / from the camp from / to either Petra or Aqaba was more expensive than the taxis we were able to arrange on our own. So, worth asking around.

I highly recommend the people and the place. We had a lot of fun at Rahayeb camp despite the bad weather in the region.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our charming young host Monaster Hassan offered us VIP treatment including a delicious feast, being dressed and treated as honoured guests in Bedouin tradition. Our luxury tent was excellent.The camel ride of one and a half hours back to our car was brilliant. The staff, setting and total experience was a true highlight of our Jordan trip. A must

Room Tip: choose a VIP tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewelyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A Desert camp to escape , quite, hidden... With comfort in the VIP tents
Buffet for dinner is rich with appetizer, main Dish was "zarb", lamb cocked under ground in the sand.... With vegetables.

No electricity after 10:30pm to enjoy the silence and the stars

Room Tip: Chose one of the VIP tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyyadAyyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
10.0 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 117 in Wadi Rum
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salman Zwaidh Camp
Salman Zwaidh Camp
#29 of 117 in Wadi Rum
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
5.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#5 of 117 in Wadi Rum
419 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Beduland Camp
Wadi Rum Beduland Camp
#22 of 117 in Wadi Rum
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rahayeb Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahayeb Desert Camp

Property: Rahayeb Desert Camp
Address: Aqaba - pizza street | Wadi Rum -, Wadi Rum 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rahayeb Desert Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rahayeb Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing