We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Desert Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rahayeb Desert Camp
Ranked #23 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Desert Experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family of 5 found Rahayeb Desert Camp a memorable and enjoyable experience. The campsite is a good size, slightly tucked away in a spectacular environment. The tents look pretty average from the outside but were beautifully appointed and comfortable inside, including having an ensuite bathroom (bc we had VIP tents - I'm not sure what the price difference was but would recommend them). A number of commenters seem to be comparing this camp to a city hotel and complaining about uneven floors/lack of entertainment/cold at night (and dark!!!) etc. All these things are true but largely irrelevant. Having said that we were there in April and it was cold at night so imagine Dec/January would be freezing. Dinner was plentiful and excellent (and late). Breakfast was limited but adequate. Service was friendly if not polished.
Would probably give this camp 4.5 stars. No it's not an authentic desert experience but you can't have that and an ensuite too.

Room Tip: Get a VIP tent with ensuite bathroom - not having to unlace the tent and walk to the loo in the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    74
    38
    19
    7
See reviews for
39
120
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed end April 2013 and took 2 VIP tent, the ambiance was good as in evening entertainment but would agree with Djinnii review, the tent were very basic, had only 2 old candles and the en suite bathroom is poor, luck of basic products and that night had no water. The food was basic and served at 20.00..we got there by 20.15 and literally nothing to eat, buffet was cleared by earlier guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexcasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is probably a once in a life experience. We arrived to the camp through a 4 x 4 through the dessert. Camp has a general tent, very nicely decorated and then the private tents (ours with private bathroom). When we arrived they were cleaning everything and i would say that everything was quite clean. It was better of what we expected if you think in a camp in the middle of the dessert. Food was basic but who cares about food when you want to make a trip in the dessert.People were extremely nice and helped in everything. We had a great time and i strongly reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urufran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this camp in April 2013 in tent #5...supposedly a VIP tent. Their website photos show a clean, well-lit tent, with towels placed artfully on the bed and a nice even floor space. Even nicely decorated tent walls...in reality, this was no Arabian night! The "ensuite" bathroom is an attached port a potty with shower, but not even a trash bin or a place to put travel hygiene items. Also, no towels. Instead, there was USED soap on a broken soap rack and we had to ask for towels which we didnt get until after dinner.

After a long day in the desert, clean up and downtime is essential. ..also no real tent flooring so our chairs were lopsided and no place to hang our flashlight. We ended up sitting around in mostly darkness unless we went outside where the stars gave out more light.The tent walls didn't zip up and just had holes to tie up, so anything could crawl in (spiders, scorpions)...and it was so cold as breezes were blowing in. We awoke at one point to find a stray dog seated right at the tent opening with its head poking through. ..rabies anyone?

I actually posted this under Jordan Direct Tours but need to add that they can't control the quality of the camp so this is no reflection on their own company's superior service.

The night was spent fitfully with some city folk partying until 3:30 am, some girls yelling "YALLAH" inebriated all night long and in the early morning. This totally ruins any desert ambience...the sad thing is the desert view was so magnificent but the tent facilities were poorly lacking. I'd suggesting staying for the view but not the night, especially at this camp.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djinnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our accommodation was booked through Jordan Direct Tours as part of a week and a bit long tour. We arrived mid-afternoon were taken to our tent straight away but with it being very hot we returned to the main tent area and then sat waiting for approximately 3 hours for the dessert safari to start which was in the back of a Land Rover ute. This lasted about 3 hours including watching the sun set. You do get to see some amazing desert scenery but this also comes with two more Bedouin camps and endless cups of tea.

We had VIP Tent (number 1) which was quite large (4m x 4m) and had its own full Ensuite (2m x 2m) with hot and cold water. All^ other tents need to share the camps shared washroom facilities. The floor of the tent was uneven making the bed (quite hard and uneven) lean to the left and foot end and the Ensuite also had a slight lean to it. The hand basin and Ensuite overall needed a clean but the toilet was clean thankfully. There were a few bars of soap to choose from, all of which had been used previously. We also had to ask for towels and toilet paper. When the sun went down I had to go looking for a solar light of which we had the pick of some very well worn ones but eventually found one that gave more than half a candles worth. I would suggest bringing your own torch/lamp.

Dinner had a small but good variety of hot and cold selections all looking and tasting fresh. Breakfast had a limited and average selection which had the highlight of omelettes.

^VIP tents are No’s 1 to 5 and in addition there are two other tents numbered 11 & 12 which had a port-a-loo attached.
The air temp was ~15c in the morning to ~32c in the afternoon.
There are lots of flies but no mozzies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR8FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The tents were good quality and clean and the bathrooms were well equipped and clean. They provide a towel, candles and a solar lamp. The dinner was very good but they charge for drinks so bring your own water and a bottle of wine to enjoy it under the stars. The staff were a bit lax so wasn't impressed with their service. It's what you expect, a desert camp experience so bring entertainment (books, games etc). Apart from the facilities and dinner and breakfast, nothing else is provided so bring stuff to do and arrange excursions out in the desert. One night is enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JapolishinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Arrived late and had a really nice time. However, the camp needed more solar lamps and the lights in the ablutions went off leaving a very dark trip. I was a little surprised to find that there was no drinking water apart from having to pay 2 dinars a bottle for it. The food was good and the tents clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TornadoF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
10.0 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 116 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#4 of 116 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
8.5 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salman Zwaidh Camp
Salman Zwaidh Camp
#21 of 116 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 116 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hasan Zawaideh Camp
Hasan Zawaideh Camp
#24 of 116 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rahayeb Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahayeb Desert Camp

Property: Rahayeb Desert Camp
Address: Aqaba - pizza street | Wadi Rum -, Wadi Rum 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rahayeb Desert Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rahayeb Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing