We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rahayeb Desert Camp
Nearby Hotels
$44
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bedouin Traditions Camp(Wadi Rum)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$93
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$25
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp(Wadi Rum)(Great Value!)
$21
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$74
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$35
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
167
107
44
22
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
107
44
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip tentdesert campprivate bathroomlambjeep toursilent nightvip treatmentstayed here for one nightvery nice place to staytent roomking size beddon t missspecial dinnersunrise camel rideevening meal and breakfaststar gazesand pit
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 352 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night - we were six people and had opted for 6 tents - 4 VIP and 2 Normal -- when we rached there we were given only 3 VIP and 3 Normal --- guess the normal tents are far better than the VIP - which just has an attached toilet (which wasnt used by us at all -- need to be a midget to use it + stinks)

Anyway -- in terms of accomodation -- it is very basic...food is also quite ok (nothing great) -- but the experience is fantastic.

The staff is very friendly -- but post 7 am the common toilets tend to get neglected by the staff -- so if u want to use the toilets -- do it before 7 am and carry a flashlight -- its too dark inside.

The jeep drive is just a tourist trap -- make you stop at places which dont seem authentic (lawrence of arabia's house-- looks more like a drawing done by a kid)...even the inscriptions on the otherwise weatherd sandstone rock seems artificial..

go there for peace..serenity...great weather (cold at night - hot in the day).. and ofcourse the beauty of the desert

Room Tip: dont take the VIP tents -- not worth
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this camp, and we enjoyed it very much. We arranged a 3 hour jeep tour and enjoyed the sunset. Perfect.
Everybody was very friendly, you make friendly conversations with everybody, there are showers (bring towels) and toilets and they are clean. Food is enough and good. We recommed the place

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimitrisKouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I had booked one of the two " VIP tents" at the Rahayeb Desert Camp for the night of March 5th . The experience of moving around in the Wadi-Rum is wonderful , the management were very kind and wishing to help , the location of the camp and the tent were OK , but ..... though there was a shower with hot water ( quite an asset in that environment ! ) the VIP tent did not included any towels ( !!!) which made the shower not very useful . However , what really disappointed us was that , before and after ( late ) dinner , and probably because we were only 15 guests for a camp capable of ousting 100 , there was no local music or entertainment whatsoever ( contrary to what the camp's advertising had made us believe ) and the after dinner story-telling around the fire was left to those stories that us , the few tourists wishing to do it , decided to share as the employees simply disappeared , most likely to sleep in their houses in the nearby village ! . So , the only bit I learned about bedouin's life is that nights in the dessert are very cold !!! . I would definitely like to return at some point to the Wadi Rum but not to this camp .
H.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HipolitodlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A month before our trip, our travel agent emailed me to see if we would be willing to give up one of our two nights in a VIP tent at Rahayeb Camp. I said absolutely not, she confirmed that we did indeed have the VIP tent for both nights. Upon arrival, we were taken to our tent which had a porta-san in the corner, about 5 feet from our bed. This is VIP?? After walking around, I saw a bigger tent with a beautiful extension on the back with bathroom and shower. We had a driver from tour company with us and told him that we wanted to be moved immediately. Management said there are TWO VIP tents, one with porta-san, the other with the toilet and shower. This made us even more angry. Of course, there were no VIP tents available that evening. We were absolutely livid and ended up sleeping the first night in the tent with the porta-san. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and were really upset. The next morning, we told our driver either they put us in VIP tent or we were leaving immediately. We went out to enjoy our camel ride in the desert and when we returned, we were in the VIP tent.

We were happy to have our driver with us to handle this or the situation or it would have escalated. The camp gave us free lunch but offered no apology. The VIP tent was beautiful and we put the room issue behind us.

The meal quality seemed to have depended on how many people were in the camp. The food was decent and the second night was a special dinner with Jordanian food and music. Dinner was supposed to be served at 7:30 but we didn't eat until 8:15 because we had to wait for the Italian guests to shower.

Despite all this, we really enjoyed being in Wadi Rum.

Room Tip: Make sure to get VIP room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Six of us with a five year old spent a night at Rahayeb Camp in Dec. Right from beginning the experience was amazing. We had two jeeps come pick us up from the parking area to drive through sandy desert to the camp. The camp is located in the middle of mountains and it is indeed very beautiful. For families try and stay in VIP tent that has attached bathroom and toilet facilities. It gets quite cold in December so make sure you can stay warm without the heater. After we got to the camp and had some tea, we negotiated price for 4 hour jeep tour through Wadi Rum. The clouds gave perfect cover to explore and climb up on natural bridges.
The dinner in the night was very delicious, the sheesh kabab and lamb bread is a must to try. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Overall this is an experience to have in Wadi Rum. The price is definitely justified for the service you get.

Room Tip: Go for VIP room. It can sleep 3.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamAAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews