We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cold in the winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rahayeb Desert Camp
Ranked #21 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Really cold in the winter”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Wadi Rum is amazing, and this camp is one of the nicest. However, it was cold and you sleep in tents with no electricity or heat, so I slept in my clothes and read with a flashlight. The food was average, but you don't go to places like that for the food. I think the summer or spring would be a different experience as they had a beautiful outdoor area around a fire that you could read after dinner. These are Muslims, so if you want a cocktail- take your own! The people who ran the camp were very nice and accommodating and it was a different experience.

Room Tip: They have a few tents that have a toilet. If you would rather not go down to the communal showers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Townhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    76
    39
    19
    7
See reviews for
40
121
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We are on a pretty whirlwind tour of Jordan, so were not disappointed by not being further into the protected area. There were not a lot of other guests and were very happy to discover that we were upgraded to an ensuite tent. No singing and dancing, but we enjoyed a jeep tour in the afternoon, ending with a climb on a rock to view the sunset. When we climbed down we discovered our driver had cooked us a pot of tea. Then off to the camp for dinner, followed by enjoying the stars while lying on a sand dune. That got pretty chilly, so we were happy to return to a warm campfire and again tea was waiting for us. We had plenty of food at both lunch and dinner. Box lunch was a good cheese in pita and baloney like meat in another, fruit, a soda, water and a packaged cake. In the morning we took a three hour hike, followed by a 1 hour camel ride. There were plenty of blankets which was good because it was cold! We were awoken around 2 am by a dog which started barking and then got himself convinced that the echo was another dog!

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tea73tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORADEA,ROMANIA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the places not to be missed.A trip in Jordan wouldn't be complete without spending some time in Wadi Rum.
I had an overnight stay in Wadi Rum, just to take a trip with a jeep in the desert.
The accomodation for a camp in the desert was very good and the atmosphere of the place made me feel very relaxed.
They have for tourists tents, electricity, showers.There are a communal area for guests, a huge tent. You can charge your laptop.The tents were very confortable with clean bathrooms and toilets.The dinner was delicious and the breakfast, too.No complains.
Friendly staff. The owner, a young original man with good education was very communicative, ready to chat with the guests all the night.I really enjoyed our conversation on various subjects.He took me, two Italien ladies and a little dog Baby in a short trip to buy some vegetables and fruits for dinner and to see the sunset.
The desert tour with a fabulous price( try to share the costs with other tourists) was nice but far from exceptional.It's better to check with the owner what places you will visit otherwise you will get a little bit disappointed.My guide prefer to chat too long time with a bedouin family.But I was interested to see more.Now I cannot remember to see Red Dunes.But, really , it was very expensive to drink a tea in the middle of the desert.
The communal tent had some tea for all .Bedouin music followed the dinner.The generator was switch off at half past nine.
I had the chance to meet nice people here.
It's absolutely necessary to take a torchlight in case you have to use the bathroom in the middle of the night.
Recommended.

Room Tip: You can make this trip by minibus, do not pay a fortune for an individual car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a great stay at Rahayeb. We were lucky to be upgraded to one of the ensuite VIP tents which was beautiful and what a treat to have a tent with a bathroom! There was a large Jordanian group daytripping from Amman which really guaranteed a snug party atmosphere in the evening: singing and drumming along to the live in-house entertainment. Rahayeb had prepared a banqueting feast during the day, which they ceremoniously pulled out of the ground where it had been slow-cooking for 4 hours. The meat was perfectly tender. All the guests staying at the camp, including a very large group from France, were having a fantastic Wadi Rum experience and gloating about all the things they had seen and done.

Note that Rahayeb Camp itself is not in Wadi Rum but in Disi. Your Wadi Rum Jeep experience should always pass through the Visitors Centre which is about 20 minutes from the camp. Rahayeb camp are transparent about being outside Wadi Rum in their promotional materials, as was our tour company, but we were unlucky enough to have a rogue guide (Ammar Alzamilli) who scammed us on our Wadi Rum jeep trip and never actually took us into Wadi Rum, but to the surrounding area only (which is still beautiful, but we might never know the true beauty of Wadi Rum now). When we arrived at the Visitors Centre, Ammar instructed us to stay in the car and not talk to the local guys wandering around the car park. All tour guides are arranged from the Visitors Centre, which we never went in to or passed through or had a guide arranged from. Ammar is in cahoots with some of the local bedouin. Not only did he NOT take us into actual Wadi Rum as he U-turned at the Visitors Centre, he refused to acknowledge our 3 hour sunset tour arranged through the travel agent and insisted we pay additionally for: 30 minutes for a slow jeep ‘tour’ (we had 2.5 hours in the Wadi area in the end), the sunset, some bbq’d chicken which took up one full hour of our 2.5 hour jeep tour. He tried to charge us 50JD/US$70 for this privilege even though we had agreed to 20JD for the bbq after pointing out that our itinerary already included the ‘extras’ he was trying to sell us. The entire day was bizarre and I could list a dozen incidents. Am happy to email people with more information if interested or concerned that they have fallen prey to this scam. If you do, they are ruthless and shameless in trying to extract more money from you, even trying to hold you to ransom in the middle of the desert before driving you to your camp! Luckily, I got out of this by pretending to be tired and insisting we would sort it out at the camp and, because we were back at the camp, we paid the initially agreed 20JD after a long awkward debate. Ammar even had the cheek to later corner my husband with a sob story to cough up the rest of the cash he decided we could afford to pay a ‘poor Bedouin’ who, by the way, we had already watched rip off some other tourists two hours previously when they made us swap cars in the middle of the Wadi without explanation. We only realised the extent of the scam the following day. When we informed our tour company, we were compensated for the ‘Wadi Rum’ experience that we had been cheated out of and Ammar Alzamili will apparently not be employed by them anymore. But beware that he had a vast network of friends here and I would not be surprised if he’s still operating. Please also note that Rahayeb Camp were very friendly to us, particularly with the upgrade, and the following day seemed a little frosty with Ammar himself. I very much doubt they condone what he does.

Would stay at Rahayeb again but be fully aware how the official tours into Wadi Rum work. Get out of the car at the Visitors Centre, which itself is supposed the be interesting, and insist on seeing the receipts during your Wadi Rum tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Okay so this might not be a typical Bedouin experience, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. The service was smooth. We were picked up at our hotel in Aqaba and dropped off at the visitor's centre where the manager of the camp was waiting for us.
We were whisked off to the camp where we were welcomed with a cup of tea.
Our tent was the VIP tent and we had plenty of warm water.
We booked a jeep trip through the desert, which was great. Our driver's English wasn't great but who needs words for Wadi Rum?
The food was absolutely fantastic. Really loved it.
We didn't stay on for the entertainment because we were too cold out by the fire and the main area, so we went to our tent fairly early.

In all I thought the service was great, even though they might not say all that much...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjaakLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, drive through from Petra. Very importantly, you don't meet them at the visitors center! When you reach a check point on the road, turn left. You will go through a small village. Just after is a sign saying captains camp, turn right there and a few meters down you will see a parking area outside a camp. That's where they will meet you (call in advance to double check times).

We stayed in a VIP tent well worth it! Stunning rooms, and a clean bathroom.

The staff are very friendly, tea is always being poured and both dinner and breakfast were amazing! Really good meals!

Don't miss out on sitting around the camp fire when everyone else has gone to bed. You can have some great conversations.

We did the jeep safari and the night time camel ride to star gaze, it was amazing, well worth the money.

They also give you a wake up call and coffee in bed for sunrise if you wish to get up.

I was very sad to leave and my one suggestion would be staying an extra night!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rahayeb Camp was an almost total disappointment. The initial welcome promised so much but after that nothing happened. There were only 16 guests staying at the camp so we should have expected a reasonable level of service.
After we had settled ourselves into our tent we went over to the main tent. We sat down and were served a miniscule glass of a warm liquid by a youth in a padded jacket with the hood up who said nothing. We were not informed what the liquid was – we assumed that it was Bedouin Tea? This was at 6.15 in the evening – the next time we were spoken to by a member of staff was at 7.30 when we were instructed to go and watch the evening meal being dug up out of the ground.
When I say “a member of staff” it was not actually clear who were staff and who were guests. There were a bunch of men, very casually (scruffily) dressed, who congregated at one end of the main tent drinking tea and smoking and chatting amongst themselves.
The meal (one course only) was not very good and accompanied by a glass of tea served, in silence again, by the youth with the hooded jacket.
By 8.30 all except 4 guests had retired to their tents and when we got up to go one of the staff announced that they were going to do some Bedouin dancing. The dancing lasted about 10 minutes and then we went to bed.
We were in a VIP tent, supposedly with a shower. However, the hot water only dribbled out of the tap and we could not wait long enough to even half fill the sink – so we went dirty!!
Breakfast in the morning was dreadful and we were so glad to see our driver and get out of there.
The time at Rahayeb was an experience but it definitely was not a Bedouin Experience and not one to be repeated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpm18wg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
10.0 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
968 reviews
8.5 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
0.2 mi away
Salman Zwaidh Camp
Salman Zwaidh Camp
#30 of 117 in Wadi Rum
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 117 in Wadi Rum
368 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Beduland Camp
Wadi Rum Beduland Camp
#22 of 117 in Wadi Rum
29 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#4 of 117 in Wadi Rum
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rahayeb Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahayeb Desert Camp

Property: Rahayeb Desert Camp
Address: Aqaba - pizza street | Wadi Rum -, Wadi Rum 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rahayeb Desert Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rahayeb Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing