We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing camp and tour!”
Review of Bedouin Whispers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadi Rum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedouin Whispers
Ranked #53 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Bedouin whispers camp is really amazing!! really comfortable and beautiful!! it was cold in the desert at night but it was really warm inside the camp!!!! i saw the most beautiful sky i've ever seen in my life here!!!! we ate good food and danced and kept talking with Aodeh and his cousin in the quiet beatiful camp!! really nice experience!!!! and the bedouin food they provided was really delicious!! The tour guide Aodeh was very nice and friendly and offered us an unforgettable journey in the amazing desert!!! next time if i come to wadi rum again , i will live in Bedouin Whispers again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yingli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Loved the place, the food and our guide. They made us fell confortable and were flexible on our plans. The jeep tour was very pleasant and gave us time to do whatever we wanted. I really recomend Bedouin Whispers to my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ines m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the first time we visited Wadi Rum and we weren't quite sure what to expect; but Aodeh, Mu Mu, and everyone else who helped us out were incredibly hospitable. The tour was seriously amazing -Wadi Rum is just a beautiful place. Mu Mu was our tour guide for the first day and always seemed to be able to take us to the next location before other people arrived, which was great for photos and enjoying the scenery. He explained the history of some of the things that he was showing us and didn't mind answering all of our questions. When we arrived at the camp after the tour, I think we were all pleasantly surprised at the camp. I personally had no idea what 'camping' entailed, but this was a really great experience and much better than what we traditionally thing of camping as. We stayed in a nice little cabin and had access to a bathroom with running water (which is great since you're in the middle of the desert). We were able to watch the sunset after easily climbing up the ridge next to camp, where it seemed like we could see all of Wadi Rum. The chicken and vegetable dinner made by them was delicious and extremely satisfying after spending a day in the desert. They also played music for us after dinner. After dinner it was dark outside and we could enjoy the beauty of the stars. I've never seen the stars so bright and Mu Mu took the time to show us some of the constellations. SO beautiful. The next day we had camel riding planned at 8AM, however we wanted to see the sunrise so we woke up around 6:30AM and walked over to a little ridge to see the sunrise. Once again, so pretty. The camel ride with our guide Nader (if I remember correctly but I could be wrong) was a lot of fun as well. Riding a camel is a must if you're already out there. I can't compare it to riding a horse since I've never ridden a horse, however I'm sure it is very similar. Overall, Bedoin Whispers was a great first impression of Wadi Rum. If I ever return I would definitely stay here again and I'd have no reservations about referring my friends here. The prices are reasonable and they make you feel welcome. Side note: bring a hat and sunscreen because you will get sunburned if you're prone to sunburns

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _mich3651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed with a few friends with Aodah and his crew at a beautiful location in Wadi Rum. The camp site was very private, quiet and a great location. It was just a fantastic experience, being met by Aodah, driven to the most beautiful sites in Wadi Rum and sit in awestruck silence while the sun was setting behin the mountains of Wadi Rum. Food, accommodation, meeting other great people at the camp, music and great conversation around the camp fire were just as we had imagined the desert trip. Bedouin Whispers were recommended to me by a friend and I must say the recommendation has turned out as the perfect match. The little tents were cosy, everything very clean, enough blankets to stay warm, good food, plenty of tea...
Thanks to Aodeh and his crew for a fantastic experience of Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed with Aodeh(owner of Bedouin Whispers) twice now, and recently stayed at another camp in Wadi Rum (with some friends of mine). Bedouin Whispers was fantastic compared to the other place I stayed. Not only was it less expensive, it also had better privacy. I love the personal cabins at Bedouin Whispers.

The camp is very clean and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Also, Aodeh has picked the perfect place in the desert to watch the sunset. Just a small climb up the mountain behind the camp and you get a spectacular view of the desert with the sun bathing the desert in shades of orange and pink as it goes down.

I would definitely recommend staying for more than one night. Then you have time to really wander in the desert a little.

This is a great camp to laugh, enjoy the beauty of the desert, and eat traditional Bedouin cooking. I definitely recommend this camp.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familymandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

During our week-long trip to Jordan, we spent two days and a night with Aodah and crew. Aodah met us in the village in the morning, and right away I started referring to him as 'The Mayor of Wadi Rum', as he's so charming and outgoing. He introduced us to our guide for the day and off we went. His cousin, Mu-Mu (his nickname, because I can't remember his actual name!) was our guide for both days. Day 1 was the standard see-the-sights day. We trundled along in the back of his truck to each of the points of interest. At 3.30 we met up with some of the other family guides for a climb of Burdah Rock Bridge. After this we headed for camp along with a Russian family of three on camel and five Italians in another truck.

The camp is nearly the furthest camp from the entrance of the reserve, and it shows. The world around you is desolate, calm, and windswept. While the guides started dinner, we settled into our tents and the set out to the top of the hill to watch the sunset. The camp itself is fantastic with working toilets and showers. There was plenty of mint tea and conversation before dinner. Dinner itself consisted of roast chicken and root vegetables from the underground grill. I told my husband we'll need one at some point! After some music and water pipe, Mu-Mu took a few of us into the open to learn to navigate by the stars. It was a truly magical experience. I can't really do it justice here--you'll just have to experience it yourself!

After a good night's rest and breakfast the next morning, we headed south toward the Saudi border. Crossing through the borderlands, we saw bedouin camel and goat herders. Mu-Mu even showed us a millennium's old Nabataean water well. Our morning hike was a spectacular climb through a valley and up to a rock ledge where you can see the border of Jordan and Saudi Arabia. Mu-Mu told us the stories of he and his father herding sheep along the clifftops, and told us to come back for a camping trip along the rock face. It's now on my list!

After the morning of hiking, he made a fire and cooked up a Bedouin dish of tomatoes and chicpeas called, foul (pronounced, fool). We sat for a bit and then back to the village for our ride to Petra. Aodah was there to see us off and introduce us to our Bedouin driver.

All in all, it was the best part of our trip. Aodah, Mu-Mu and their family treated us to a special insight into their world. And it was by far the best part of our trip to Jordan. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the camp for 3 nights. It was the highlight of my trip to Jordan, and one of my top travelling lifetime experiences. I would without any hesitation recommend this camp.

The setting is stunning, everything is kept very clean, the evenings are magical - after finding a solitary place to watch the sun set over the desert, we ate plenty of good food (cooked in the sand). The Bedouins at the camp played traditional music every night. Sipping sage tea, sitting around the fire and listening to the music was mesmerizing. Then they offered to show us the constellations.

I had booked a few tours but changed my mind once I got to Wadi Rum. It was no issue - Aodeh accommodated my requests, and gave me a fair price for my stay and my tours.

I did a jeep tour on the first day, a camel tour the second day, and I joined a group for a trek up the highest mountain on the third day. Each guide was great. As a solo female traveller, I was apprehensive about hiw I would feel in a camp in the desert run by only men, but these guys are so respectful and so friendly, I felt as comfortable as I would with my own family.

Many of the camps that I did see while driving through the Wadi Rum look more or less the same from the outside, but after having spoken with other travellers, I believe Bedouin Whisperers is one of the best managed, including the tours.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekker383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
3.4 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#11 of 133 in Wadi Rum
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#4 of 133 in Wadi Rum
1,075 reviews
8.6 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#3 of 133 in Wadi Rum
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Atallah Alblwi Camp
Atallah Alblwi Camp
#77 of 133 in Wadi Rum
5 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#8 of 133 in Wadi Rum
260 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Whispers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Whispers

Address: wadi rum protcted Area | wadi rum protcted Area, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedouin whispers camp Let yourself be touched by the particular atmosphere of the desert and by the Bedouin way of living: The traditional dishes which are cooked on an open fireplace. The desert nights, when the sky is shining with stars. Sleeping under the umbrella of a Bedouin tent. You will have exciting experiences from sunrise to sunset. The Bedouin whispers camp located inside of the Wadi Rum protected area, 18 KM from the Wadi Rum Visitor Center. The camp is close to the Al Khazali Canyons, 3 km from Al-qttar spring and is a traditional Bedouin campsite which can hold up to 20 person ,.Our campsite is very peaceful and secluded, allowing you to experience the silence of the desert. At night you won't be disturbed by any light other than that of the moon and stars. We often have a special visitor to the camp.Olso from Bedouin whispers camp guests can book : *Classic visit by 4x4 * Hiking *Scrambling*Longer visits: camel trekking, hiking The camp with :three large black Bedouin tents - At the center of the camp there is a round common tent where everyone gathers around the fire to enjoy Bedouin dinner, .and Bedouin tea A number of smaller tents, each of which can take two people or three . Most people choose to sleep beneath the stars or within the large tents, but we offer these smaller tents if you wish to have more privacy, * Showers & toilets* Kitchen to prepare the Bedouin food* All equipment needed for a comfortable night in the desert (mattresses, blankets, pillows, )Dinner : we do our best to show our visitor some of our traditional Bedouin foods. These include Mansaff, which is the main Bedouin dish usually offered to visitors and is also usually the main food at Bedouin weddings, and Zarb which is cooked under the sand. All of our food is served as an open buffet with different kinds of salad.Breakfast : Continental and Arabic ( Arab bread, jam, cheese, omelets, spices, Bedouin coffee and tea etc…) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing