We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bedouin Meditation Camp
Nearby Hotels
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Amir Palace Hotel(Aqaba)(Great Value!)
$53
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
$60
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$64
$42
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dweik 2(Aqaba)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$72
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
61
26
9
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
26
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswadi rum villagechickenbedouinsunrisedinnerjeepcamptenttouriststeaguidedesertmusictaximuhammadmomentsrock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 104 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The start was little confusing. Driver from Wadi Musa dropped us in a car from a driver from the camp. We passed the visitor center and when i asked what about our registration and ticket, he said 'not necessary'. We had no ticket but when we left the camp we had to pay for it. Never saw a ticket. We arrived in a little reception building with shop in Rum. Mr Zedane was not there but his son received us. Talking about prices was confusing and he did not keep his word in how he explained it first. We had 3 camels to go to the camp, it took with stop 2hours15min. But he wanted to let us pay 3 hours. But we did not. We did a daytrip with jeep with 3 other tourists, was nice. NIce camp, tent for 3 was okay, much sand in the bed. We had a problem with a broken bed but they changed immediately. Some people working there do not speak english. A pitie because they were very nice and helpful. Mr zedane came the other day, a very nice friendly man. ONly thing is that communication is not clear: about price, about starting time for day trip.. 1 night we were Lucky to have some music animation and with all the tourists we sat together, singing.. Nice sunsets. My son slept 1 night outside, he loved it. A place we would come back. Food was nice, they offered tea and really nice common sitting tent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniatravel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

As was already mentioned - the place is a bit chaotic. We stayed there for one day + night.
You have to have good luck, since you might get good guide or you might get just a driver (which will drive you to the camp sooner than is expected).
It is good idea to have a sleeping bag, since you might end on an old mattress without linen. Since the camp is in desert, the toilets and showers are really made great (I was expecting something more "rural").
Do not forget to take enough water (at the dinner they offer you water, but it is not for free). If you think you will need something from your bag, do not hesitate and take it with you - the car can transport it (and you do not have to cry that you could use a bit warmer clothes in the morning or during the night). It is not a bad idea to take some snacks, if the lunch is not included (+ the dinner might be much later,than expected).
The bedouin evening can be summarized as following:
1. waiting for food
2. starving and listening to Zydanes rebab (I do not know which of the two is worse)
3. some food is finally prepared
4. lines of hungry people (on the bright side there was enough for all and it was possible even to take some more after they served everyone).
5. eating and talking
6. Zydane tells you that the tent is closing and you should go outside
7. Zydane tells you that everyone in the camp is sleeping and you should go to the desert, if you want to stay a bit longer (happened around midnight, while we were quite).
When you are leaving, you should be sure, that they called your taxi, since you might get stuck there for many hours (and nobody cares + nobody informs you,that they forgot to call) and you should be prepared, since someone may steal your taxi (other visitors).

Most important:
Many of the employees are not speaking English, but if you try, they try as well (non verbal communication works :). You should be careful, when you are speaking with Zydane - he is the leader and he is feeling like the true "king of desert", although he rules a small chaotic anthill. Since you are going to the desert, you should not have to high expectations about the facilities at camp. Bring enough water, some food and sleeping bag. Enjoy the nature nd have fun but be careful, when you are climbing anywhere (since there is a lot places to go/jump or climb).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bohumil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

If I could use one word to describe the experience in one word I'd use 'chaotic'. Altough booking a private jeep tour with Zedane months before and contacting him via email a few days before we were due, the instructions on where to meet them at what time were very unclear. As Rum village is no more than a ramshackle collection of buildings it was a bit of a mission to find the 'office'. Once arrived it seemed like Zedane had forgotten our arrangement as he wanted us to join the shared tour on several occasions. In the end we did get a private tour, but we had the distinct impression that it was a quick fix and a whistle stop tour as we arrived at the camp a good two hours before anybody else.

Which brings me to the camp. It is ok. The tents are basic, but if you are not overly fussy you'll be fine. The bathrooms and showers are also not too bad, but not for the squeamish. And the food served in the evening is very tasty. But again chaos ruled. As we arrived so much earlier as anybody else we were made to sit around and nobody could tell us what was going on as there was a communication issue. Only after everybody got there tents were assigned and we were able to relax and grab a shower.

If you do go, make sure you bring plenty of your own supplies. Most notably water. The website does tell you what to bring, but I had assumed that there would at least be drinkable water available at the campsite in the evening, so had drunk all my water during the day. But except for a couple of teas, there wasn't anything else to drink. Bit of an issue in the desert.

Wadi Rum itself though is spectacular and definitely worth seeing. And at night you can see more stars than you have ever seen. But maybe it is worth doing some more research as there are plenty of camps available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We took a 2 Day 2 Night package at Wadi Rum Bedouin Meditation Camp.

We had some FANTASTIC moments, how can you not when Wadi Rum is one of the most beautiful places? But unlike the other reviewers we had some serious negatives experiences too.


Firstly, the good:

Jebel Burdah scramble/hike. We climbed up Jebel Burdah on our second day and loved it. Our guide, Mohammed, had a passion for climbing, a passion for Wadi Rum and he was an absolute pleasure. Thank God we did this because we were very close to leaving after our first day!

The view from the camp is spectacular.

The sites visited on the first day jeep tour, also spectacular.

Staff are friendly.


Second, the bad:

Organisation, plainly put, it's pretty terrible. For instance: We were dropped off in the office and told to buy lunch when it was included in our package (we got a refund for this).

We were told to leave our bags in the office and only take a day pack for our first night and would return for our big bags the following day. So we hiked all day with our overnight clothes. That evening when we asked about our big bags we were told we should've brought them with us! We had to ask four times for our bags to be brought from the office in the village (the first night, the next morning, the early afternoon, late afternoon....).

No towels are supplied. And there's no warning.

The jeep tour guidance was a let down. You are not "guided" more dropped off and told "This is x, there's a good view...." no guidance or knowledge imparted on us about the site, and we really had to press to understand what was happening "So, should we climb this hill/sand dune/bridge? Where do we go/stop?" Also they offer half day and whole day jeep tours but I couldn't see any difference for any of the visitors, a whole day jeep tour finishes at around 2pm (ours was a bit later only because we started later).

The showers and one of the tents had wasp nests in them. Yes, with live wasps flying in and out. After the first night a group asked to be moved from a tent because of wasp nests right next to the beds. The second night a new group were put in that same tent - wasp nests still intact. Again the group also asked to be moved. I'm sure the wasps are still there, and customers are still being put in that room.

Hygiene leaves a lot to be desired. Cutlery was dirty, and toilets not very nice. To be sure, it's the desert, but cleaning standards are very low.


The rest:

Have a copy of the pricing from the website, because once you're paying in the office they don't have the price list there!

Food was fine, but the same every day.

In summary, Wadi Rum is amazing in every way. The camp was somewhat of a let down after all these glowing reviews.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the tent with the WASP NESTS!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemjemjemjemjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a great time at the camp, it was so nice there we decided to extend our stay to one extra day, we did the half day jeep tour which was great. i would definitely recommend this place to any one which wants to see all of what wadi rum has to offer plus some peace and quite, decent foot, exceptional service and hospitality

Room Tip: i suggest to book the 2 day + half day jeep tour. do buy water at wadi rum village, its half the price there.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aces99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews