We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best in Wadi Rum”
Review of Milky Way Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Milky Way Ecolodge
Ranked #26 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place has a really nice bathroom, and it's well maintained, beautifully set up. Not many small camps have solar powered system for hot showers. I have stayed in different camps in Wadi Rum, and I think this one has one of the best locations and facilities. It's a family run place by local bedouins. I'd definitely stay there again! It's nice to go there with many friends and the staff will entertain you in the local way. One of the guides there Omar is an expert for serious climbing, so you're in luck if you're into rock-climbing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here recently and whilst the location is stunning, the service was poor and at times you wondered if the guests were an inconvenience for the staff. I had to argue by phone with the manager to bring us some beers despite this being supposedly available (a big party had drunk the lot the night before), when he finally arrived with it he had the cheek to try and over charge me! The day jeep safari we paid for turned out to be a battered up ancient Toyota that looked like it had been bombed in the Iraq war and belched out petrol fumes that was enough to make you feel nauseous most of the day. The food was good and the second night we had other guests on site that helped create more atmosphere. I am an easy going traveller but this place did not live up to my expectations at all and I would think twice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Yep I'm with the last few reviewers. You are pretty much left to your own devices, but the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is simple but good. The day tour is great with a relaxing lunch in a shady spot. Relaxing in the afternoon with tea in the main tent and star gazing above on the stone deck area was memorable. Clean, comfy, good value.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Trippinround_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A small Bedouin style camp in Wadi Rum desert. There are a total of 15 well-maintained clean tents, (also a family tent) each with a couple of beds and although there are no en-suite facilities, the shower and toilet block (towels are also provided) is clean with running water - solar powered showers and external lighting. The main Bedouin tent, partially open to the skies, is where meals are served and the tasty local dishes are cooked under the sand in deep pits. Beer and wine are available at an extra cost. The views are spectacular and there is an open terrace set under the cliffs where you can sit and enjoy the surroundings. Another big advantage of this camp is that it is small and so absolutely no loud blaring music which people seem unable to live without these days. The sunrises and sunsets are spectacular and the night sky is amazing and so clear; I have never seen such a clear Milky Way - the camp lives up to its name!

The camp will arrange desert treks - walking - 4x4 or on camels, which ever you choose, and provide a trusted guide together with a picnic lunch. We did both a camel trek (takes about 2 hours from Wadi Rum village) and a full day jeep tour as well as walking in a gorge or two and climbing sand dunes. The owners answer e-mails promptly and are very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eangelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

There are many camps in Wadi Rum now and it is hard to find the good ones. Milky Way is not the cheapest but it is value for money. The rooms are stand alone tents with real beds, the food is nice and they have a nice natural terrasse overlooking the camp offering great view.
Another advantage is the nice atmosphere of the tent used as "living area", the set up is nice and practical, we really had a great time there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineRicateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This camp is clean and chic with every detail carefully thought out. There's an open-air lounge for coffee in the morning and star-gazing at night, there's a Bedouin-tent for the tasty, freshly cooked local dishes, and there are 15 clean and well-maintained tents (with beds) for the guests. The day trips out in the Jeep are safe, interesting and flexible. The camp offers beer/wine (at an extra cost) and the relaxed atmosphere at night helps you unwind while you are star-gazing. ALL of the staff (owners, drivers, cleaners, cooks) are professional and courteous and it's a safe environment for females travelling on their own as well. It's a relief to see a camp that is practicing an eco-style with solar-heated showers, recycling, and candlelight at night, etc. Annie (one of the owners) responds quickly to email requests (the preferred method of communication) and can help to customize your trip including camel or horse rides, treks, special meals, etc. It was wonderful to leave the hordes of people at Petra and camp in this small, exclusive area. Yes, the price is higher than some of the larger camps but it includes your food (5 meals if you stay 2 nights), the day trip and the fact that you can wake up and see camels trekking past your tent - not coach buses loading up with the masses. Be prepared for the star sightings!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingaporeGo_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have been to the Milky Way lodge many times and had only great times. The staff was extremely friendly and the facilities great and comfortable. The Bedouin meal we were served had been cooked under the sand and was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the full day trekking package with the guide, it was an unforgettable experience. Don't miss the sunset on the desert experience either, there is no other sunset nearly as spectacular as this. Go for a walk under the stars or schedule your trip to coincide with the full moon, a truly unique experience. The silence is like nothing you have ever heard. Wadi Rum is a must for any adventurer's bucket list, and Milky Way is the place to stay when in Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
2.3 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
3.5 mi away
Discovery Bedu
Discovery Bedu
#13 of 122 in Wadi Rum
80 reviews
6.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Green Desert
Wadi Rum Green Desert
#21 of 122 in Wadi Rum
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mohammad Mutlak Camp
Mohammad Mutlak Camp
#14 of 122 in Wadi Rum
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#1 of 122 in Wadi Rum
159 reviews
8.5 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#2 of 122 in Wadi Rum
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Way Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Way Ecolodge

Address: Wadi Rum Protected area, Wadi Rum 11191, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Milky Way Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wadi Rum Protected Area, the ecolodge Milky Way provides comfort and a magnificent view over the desert. Our accommodation consists in private Bedouin tents that can accommodate one to six people. Each tent is equipped with beds, mattresses, pillows, bed linen and comfortable duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Milky Way Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing