We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rum Stars Camp
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rainbow Camp(Wadi Rum)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$25
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp(Wadi Rum)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
394
59
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
59
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguide abdulcamel ridegreat experiencebring waterbedouin lifehighlight of our tripwatching the sunsetsand boardinghashnext morningtraditional bedouinrock bridgespicnic lunchnight tourbedouin teawonderful toursand dunes
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 464 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We booked a 2 days 1 night package with Rumstars in January based pretty much on the review we saw on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed ! Jordan off peak period is quite an experience. We basically were the only two tourists taking the tour that day ! From the start the experience was great, Ahmed was very diligent in answering our emails and query and as soon as we reached he proved to be a great host ! To make a long story short the whole experience with them was great and I would say the best we had in our trip in Jordan. Even though we were the only ones to sleep in the camp that night we got the full treatment with amazingly good food and great entertaining. I would go back in a heart beat and would definitely recommend the camel ride back home. Nothing like a camel ride in the middle of the desert !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmailhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

From the start, the welcome is warm and genuine with Rum Stars. They are very happy to tailor any tour to suit your needs and interests and the guides I met are great. They are all Bedouin and have grown up in Wadi Rum and know all the best sites.

For me the best part is the desert camp. The situation is amazing with fabulous views across the whole desert landscape. The camp is really well equipped with a shower and toilet block if you want the luxuries, plus clean cosy tents with raised beds and more plush blankets than you could ever need. The food is great and it’s all about sitting comfortably round the flickering fire drinking endless sweet black tea with sage (I know it sounds weird but try it and you’ll be hooked) and listening to stories of Bedouin life.

But don’t forget to take a walk just beyond the tents before you turn in (unless of course you have opted to sleep under the stars anyway) and just drink in the silence and the brilliance of a million stars. Truly a magical experience and this is the company to book with!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We drove down to Wadi Rum following a fantastic day in Petra. We arrived at around 9pm and were expecting to find a hotel quite easily. This wasn't the case! The entire village go to sleep quite early, so we had great difficulty finding a place and were prepared to sleep in the car! However, we saw some lights on outside a house on the edge of the village so we drove down knocked on the door and were hoping for the best. Wohoo! Salem, the awesome Bedouin guide opened the door and told us he has a campsite 12km into the desert. We were expecting a shack/dump, but were pleasantly surprised to find the moon-lit tents, equipped with beds, toilets, running water, kitchen etc. Saalem was very helpful and courteous and the campsite as a whole was frankly brilliant. There were more than enough blankets to keep us warm in the freezing desert!

Breakfast was simple yet adequate; what do you expect in the middle of the desert! Tea, company and Bedouins were excellent!

The 4x4 tour was pretty awesome too!

We found this place accidentally , and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Thanks Salem!

Muhammad and Bash
London, UK

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We chose the 1-day 1-night overnight camping with Bedouin Adventures, who came highly recommended by a trusted source. We went on a wonderful ride through the Wadi Rum desert with Saalem, who was very sweet and knew how to handle the 4X4 in desert terrain. The day went by smoothly; we saw the sights and enjoyed ourselves. It rained on and off but Saalem took good care of us. Make sure you are prepared for the cold and/or rain in the winter (open top 4X4).
The evening was surely the highlight of the trip. We sat for hours around the campfire, drinking the most delicious Bedouin tea (the supply of which was never-ending), chatting with people from all over the world. Ahmed educated and entertained us with his stories and anecdotes. We went to bed late, slept well and woke up to a delicious breakfast and more yummy Bedouin tea. There is one clean bathroom which worked out fine for us. The tents are clean and the bedding and quilts keep you nice and warm, although you should definitely take warm clothes (we went in Dec) and make sure you do NOT forget to take a flashlight. The Wadi Rum camping trip was one of the highlights of our stay in Jordan and I would gladly visit Ahmed and his team again. Great value for money, excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apercevoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Rum Stars Camp is run by Ahmed who answers queries about tours (including overnight stays at a full facility camp) within the protected area of Wadi Rum promptly and efficiently. Having run this camp for over 7 years, the tour certainly ran smoothly and without a hitch.

We had decided to do the 2 day tour, so as to fully experience the desert and to cover as much ground as possible. After being greeted by Ahmed at the Village, our guide, Eid, took us around and despite his young age, handled the navigation between the canyons and various mountains like it was the back of his hand. With Eid's help, our group scrambled up rocks to the top of some awe inspiring rock formations, clambered up a mountain to see a spring source, wedged through a canyon, sand-boarded down a massive sand dune and watched the sunset cast shadows across the vast vista in (mostly) solitude. Finally, we returned back to the camp to enjoy a delicious and ample dinner, followed by tea by campfire and some first-hand stories from Ahmed who had rejoined us at dinner. Initially, I had my reservations as to whether the camp and tent would keep us warm in the middle of the winter season, but I was very pleasantly surprised that how warm the bedding and blankets kept us. The second day, we ventured out further where there were even more magnificent and dauntingly isolated mountains, and where we spent a day trekking through. (The actual area covered in your tour, will of course depend on the kind of tour that you select).

Wadi Rum is a genuinely beautiful area of Jordan, with mountainous facades that are quite unparalleled in splendour, particularly when illuminated by sunset and sunrise. Being able to witness the first gentle touches of sunlight cast their glow on these century old formations is truly a one-in a lifetime experience, and it is made even more memorable by hearing first hand, how the life of the Bedouin have been shaped by the conditions of the desert. Living out here in the desert for just 2 days, I appreciated the genuine nature of the people, the local customs, emphasis on family and relationships, and value of resources. Unlike the hard-selling personalities I had come across at Petra, Ahmed, his brother and Eid exude quiet confidence and honesty that comes with living in such conditions, and I left feeling a heartfelt desire that they would continue to pass on the Bedouin lifestyle that form the crux of their lives.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYC_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews