We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahlem Sayeeda of Wadi Rum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed with Bedouin Adventures and can't say how much we loved our trip with them. It had a really positive effect on us and we are still having a hard time coming back to reality! The landscapes were beautiful everywhere we went in Wadi Rum. Ahmed's brothers Eid and Saalem were fun and helped us appreciate the beauty of the desert. On the first day, we took a standard jeep tour and it was both fun and humbling to see how immense, desolate, and beautiful Wadi Rum is. With the soft sand, driving was not easy, but Eid and Saalem were excellent drivers and knew their truck well! On the second day, we hiked Jebal Al Hash in the south and saw some really impressive views of red and white sand dunes and distant mountains! We stayed at their camp for two nights and were happily satisfied with the cleanliness of the main tent, our sleeping tent (although we slept outside under the stars!), and the bathroom. They prepared nutritious and tasty meals for us that were more than sufficient for our hiker's appetites. The prepared tea every night and during our hikes. It was delicious an in no short supply! We would love to go back again, and would definitely stay with Ahmed and his family.

Room Tip: Sleep under the stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 426 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

My friend and I met in London and went to Jordan together, we had been to Egypt a couple of times in the past and gone to the desert there. The Wadi Rum is completely different. The colours are amazing and so much beauty. The staff at this company are excellent, smart with a sense of humour. They do speak English well. I had a good time and must comment that the food was very good. The washrooms were a bonus, none in the Egyptian desert. I would go again given the chance and hope anyone who reads this will go and enjoy it as much as I.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just returned from Jordan, part of which was a 3 day / 2 night trip to wadi rum. Our pre-arranged tour included an afternoon camel trek, a full day jeep tour and a morning climbing the burdah rock bridge. In between we spend two nights at the camp.

The tours were exactly what we were after, we covered a vast area of the majectic wadi rum area and sampled the bedouin way of life. The camel trek was peaceful and gave us a great introduction to the desert landscape, whilst the full day jeep tour took us to further afield parts of the protected areas including 2 rock bridges and other interesting rock formations / sand dunes. The final morning climbing the Burdah rock bridge was spectacular and the highlight of our tour. The views were magnificent and it was the perfect ending to our stay.

Our guide for both the jeep tour and the rock bridge was Saleem (apoligies for spelling). Whilst his english was not brilliant (as another reviewer complained about), he was fun, enthusiastic and courteous and tried his best to answer all of our questions. For us, Wadi Rum was not about having someone constantly giving us facts and information, it was primarily about enjoying the spectacular scenery and peace and quiet, and Saleem allowed us to revel in both of those. I also note that he was very good at guiding us up to the rock bridge. Whilst the climb is not difficult, just scrambling mainly, Saleem was very considerate about our safety and had ropes for the very final part of the climb as a precaution.

As for the camp, it was exactly what we hoped a Bedoin camp experience would be. Whilst basic (as expected), it was clean and comfortable and best of all, it was in the middle of nowhere. This meant that there was no light pollution and the night sky was just incredible. Sleeping outside was beautiful (and surprisingly cosy under the blankets provided). Lovely Bedouin tea flowed constantly during our stay and the food was beautifully prepared in the oven under the sand. The camp fire was lovely and cosy and we enjoyed sharing conversation with the other guests and the guides.

Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend Rum Stars to others. However, one word of caution - please do not go to the camp expecting hot showersand Satellite TV, if you do, you have really missed the point as to what this bedoiun experience is about, and perhaps should consider just a day tour followed by taxi to a hotel in Aqaba.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazza_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

First things first - Wadi Rum itself is unbelievable. You cannot help but be blown away by the scenery, the isolation, the incredible silence and the unforgettable night sky. This was my second trip to Rum and it was an amazing improvement on my first. The guys at Bedouin Adventures/Rum Stars were very efficient and helpful. We had one of the younger brothers (Eed - not sure of spelling, sorry). Whilst his English wasn't amazing, it was definitely enough to keep us informed. That aside, he was so, so attentive and warm. Brewing up endless tea from impromptu camp fires throughout our trip. The camp itself was very, very clean and comfortable. The food was delicious. To attain this level of service in such isolation in the middle of the desert is quite something. They have to bring the water for the bathroom in on the back of a truck! In all, the guys were a pleasure to be around and I urge you to support them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritinJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Bit of a trade descriptions issue here on two fronts
1. They have British students who reply to emails on their behalf and they sign off with the Bedouin's name. This fools you into thinking that they have exceptional English.
2. They say the guides all speak English and are full of fun and are entertaining- and although one of them was- ours was miserable, lethargic and we looked on enviously at other guides who were full of personality at the tea stops. Essentially he wasn't a guide but a driver and detracted a lot from the experience unable to provide any insight.
Besides this the desert is wonderful and their camp and the tents are fine, cleanish and the food is OK.
The student (Jess ) and the chat with the other guide on the final night really helped improve our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mormac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Wadi Rum was the best part of my trip to Jordan by far, and Ahmed and the other guys at Rum Stars were second only to the breathtaking landscape for making this the case.

Fun-filled days exploring the sights by jeep, with Bedouin guides who have lived here all their lives and genuinely love their desert (it's contagious!), before heading back to their permanent camp deep in the desert for as much delicious food as you can eat, and of course lots and lots of sweet Bedouin tea around the camp fire. I then chose to eschew my tent for a mattress outside on the sand: I'm glad I did, for I will never forget those skies! More stars than I've ever seen, interrupted every few minutes by shooting stars, and a vast swathe of the Milky Way.

The guys were all really friendly and fun, and everyone at the camp seemed in such a great mood that it was impossible not to have an amazing time. The sights of the desert are truly spectacular, and the facilities perfectly straddle the authenticity of real Bedouin traditions with the perks of a proper shower and toilet block, electric lighting during meal time, and a massive supply of bedding.

One caveat: this is a desert camp! Don't expect to be pampered, but do expect an authentic experience!

As you are out in the desert, it's not like you're going to pop over to a different restaurant in the evening, or go off to a bar, so it's definitely worthwhile getting an all-inclusive deal like these guys offer, with all food, drinks (especially water in the desert!), the tour and accommodation combined in one price. Makes budgeting much easier, and actually works out quite reasonably when compared to paying for everything separately (as I did in Petra).

If you're in Jordan and thinking of visiting either Petra or Aqaba (and who doesn't when in Jordan?) then I highly recommend the team, tour and camp at Rum Stars: you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteMonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Just returned from a month in Jordan, Turkey & England & this was undoubtedly one of the highlights. All of Jordan was magnificent but the day & night in Rum Star camp was an adventure. There were 2 other couples there with us that night, they were much younger than us ( we are nearing retirement age) but there was something for all of us. The young Bedouin men who took care of us that day - Salem, Ead, Ahmed - were sensitive to what sort of activities and hikes would be appropriate for each of us, they love their Bedouin life and what they do and it shows. At the end of the day we all met to watch the sunset and drink tea, then we drove to the camp for a traditional supper after which we lay out by the fire star-gazing. We would have loved to spend another night - we would have spent it by the fire under the stars.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
3.5 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#4 of 123 in Wadi Rum
1,060 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#2 of 123 in Wadi Rum
164 reviews
8.7 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#3 of 123 in Wadi Rum
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#9 of 123 in Wadi Rum
510 reviews
4 mi away
Wadi Rum Sky - Tours and Camp
6.2 mi away
Bedouin Directions
Bedouin Directions
#8 of 123 in Wadi Rum
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group

Address: Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $68 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About our Guides: We assure you our guides are the best available in Wadi Rum. They are all English-speaking, very professional, and have a lifetime of experience in and around Wadi Rum, as they have been living here their entire lives. They are fun, friendly, very knowledgeable about the history and factual information about the desert, and excellent entertainers! About our Campsite: Our camp is located 10km from Rum Village, INSIDE THE WADI RUM PROTECTED AREA. Many larger or commercial camps in Wadi Rum are located OUTSIDE the protected area, however we are fortunate to have the advantage of being inside. We are fully licensed, fully accredited, and fully LOVE our desert and love sharing it with visitors. The camp can easily accommodate your guests with comfort-- we have modern kitchen and bathroom facilities, sit-down toilets, running water and electricity for lights. Our tents are furnished with rugs and beds and plush desert bedding. We have made sure that the camp is as comfortable, welcoming, convenient, and most of all ENJOYABLE as possible. The camp itself is beautiful: we have a large outdoor stone seating area complete with tables decorated with mosaics of desert rock, as well as a main "living room" style tent at the center of our camp where everyone gathers on cushions and carpets and padded seating to eat, drink tea, enjoy the campfire, listen to Bedouin music, and engage in lively discussion. Many guests during the warm spring and summer months opt to sleep outside of the tents under the stars, and we have a large area for this purpose as well. About the Food / Dinner: we will prepare Bedouin food for the main dish, where we will cook Zarb, a dish cooked in the earth, with some vegetables, rice, and various salads, all served in a buffet style. Lunch: we offer our guests a picnic lunchbox during the tour. Breakfast: will be an open buffet of different breakfast foods with coffee & tea. Drinks: drinking water and soft drinks will be always available in the camp and during the trip and is include the price. We will provide private tents for your group at our campsite which are prepared with beds and all sleeping equipment (pillows, blankets, bedding). All meals (Breakfast – Lunch – Dinner) + Drinking Water + Tea + Coffee are included in your tour. We will take care of everything that may you need in the desert, but suggest our visitors bring the following personal items which may make their experience here in Wadi Rum more comfortable: * Good shoes for walking, hiking, and scrambling (boots are preferable) and if possible, sandals, which are more comfortable for walking in the sand. * Headlamp/Flashlight/Torch: you will need it for the night time. * Sun cream: to protect yourself from the sun.. * Small Bag: to carry your camera and water. We don't ask for deposits (too complicated!) and are not set up to take credit cards, but would ask for payment in Jordanian Dinars when you are here. The price does not include the entrance fee to the Wadi Rum Protected Area which is 5JD per person (paid at the Wadi Rum Visitors Centre). Please note: there are no ATMs or banks in Wadi Rum. Please arrange to bring enough JD to cover all costs! We look forward to welcoming you to the Wadi Rum and sharing the life of the Bedouin with you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing