We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wadi Rum-7 pillars”

Wadi Rum 7 Pillars Camp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadi Rum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wadi Rum 7 Pillars Camp
Ranked #91 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wadi Rum-7 pillars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My three friends and I stayed at Wadi Rum last minute and had an awe-inspring time that we will and cannot ever forget and have not fully absorbed. We felt most welcome by Audeh Krayem's family and the rest of the Bedouins. Dinner was lively and interactive with the most delicious array of organic and freshly-cooked foods, for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. Sleeping under the stars in a separate location from dinner was unforgettable. The temperature remained still and cool and we felt safe with a plethora of blankets and mattresses and more fresh food as well as a Bedouin protector! the desert was most welcoming and not scary. The Jeep tour was most insightful and allowed for a welcoming and continuous breeze to keep us cool whilst in the Jeeps, as well as in between stops and viewing points. English was spoken quite well, a little difficult at times, but that was the attraction of it for us. Everything felt very genuine,spontaneous, relaxed and most welcoming, especially for three foreign girls. We cannot thank Audeh and his family enough for their hospitality especially as they were fasting for Ramadan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mussoorie, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently completed a 2 day/1 night tour with 7 Pillars. We met Audeh at his house and had the opportunity to meet his family and sit for tea as the tour was explained to us; shortly after, we headed out with our guide, Mohammed, to see everything. It was only my husband and I, and Mohammed took very good care of us, letting the tour run on /our/ schedule - so when we wanted to have a leisurely lunch, we could, rather than be forced to keep running so some goal could be attained. Mohammed was amazing throughout both days, stopping to show us various sites, giving us options (at 5mos pregnant, I'm not up for climbing sand dunes or scrabbling up Umm Fruth, but my husband was - so Mohammed brought him up, and I took photos).

We also managed to see sites when there were not lots of other tourists present, and we were never pressured to purchase anything at the smaller rest houses, just offered tea and coffee and hospitality - whether it was just good luck or low season, I don't know, but we did frequently see other jeeps around the desert.

Our overnight was in a clean, well-appointed camp with a (squat) toilet, separate sink for washing up, clean water access in the kitchen, and what looked like brand-new tents on concrete foundations. The meal was more than we could eat, and everything was cooked and seasoned well - and most importantly, fresh. Our breakfast was the same way - hot tea, bread, cheeses, jam, hlawah and hoummus - before we continued onwards for the remainder of our tour.

All in all, we had an absolutely amazing time and the ability to have a guide who was willing to make detours, explain things, and - most importantly! - have a sense of humour was amazingly appreciated. We never felt pushed, pressured or hurried or overwhelmed by being required to do certain things, as some tours do ("Why you no buy? Why you don't eat this?" etc). One day, WHEN we go back, there's no question - we'll be travelling with 7 Pillars Camp again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am a solo traveller and went to this camp only because I met some people on the bus who have booked through their hostel in Petra. I really regret this, I have heardso many amaing stories about Wadi Rum and the experience staying with Bedouins. But nothing of this was Bedouin. The owner of the camp was very unfriendly, clearly took advantage of the fact that it's low season and the most camps closed. He promised a 3-hrs-jeep drive which was in fact only 20 min drive, the rest of the time we spend climbing mountains looking for some springs which were not there. The guide (Awad) hardly spoke english, was a horrible cook (worst food I had in Jordan and very far away from beeing Bedouin and authentic) and was not even able to tell us stories about the Bedouin life etc. A total fake. For lunch we got old dry bred, tomato, cucumber and a can of tuna, no knife or cutlery. Very disappointing. Would definitely not recommend to go. There are or sure many much better camps and guides.

Room Tip: Book another camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotterin301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wadi Rum hotels

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I find it interesting how people can stay at the same place and have such different accounts of their experience! I just read through some of the accounts of travelers' experiences with the 7 pillars camp and was surprised by some of the negative comments. Perhaps it depends on who you get when you go into camp and what your expectations are going in. We were quite satisfied with our trip.

We spent 2 nights at the 7 pillars camp and we had Mohammed as our guide. I totally agree with the positive accounts of the camp described in other reviews. Mohammed was a great guide - he had a good sense of humour and his company was very enjoyable. True that we didn't get a lot of history about the place, which would have been nice. But, in all other aspects, we were very satisfied.

As with other accounts, we first had tea at Audeh's house and met our guide (his brother) - Mohammed. Then we discussed what we would do next and we decided to do our camel ride first. This was, perhaps, a little disappointing - I would have preferred to do the camel ride out in Wadi Rum, rather than in the village. But, it was still an interesting experience. Lastly, we did the climb to Lawrence's Spring -- extremely hot but it was worth it.

After going to the local market to stock up on water and a few treats, we headed into Wadi Rum. Mohammed took us to different sites. We stopped to have a lunch and yes, our experience was similar to someone else's, where we were given a whole tomato, can of tuna, etc. A little awkward with no cutlery. But not a big deal.

From there we continued on to different spots. All beautiful. And Mohammed let us go at our own speed. Then we got to the camp. The camp is as described in other accounts - although I didn't think the toilet was that bad (I saw worse on our trip, for sure). The beds and pillows are quite hard, but I found that throughout our trip (in both Jordan and Egypt) - it wasn't a huge deal.

We relaxed after getting to camp - which is what we wanted to do (we brought plenty of reading material) - and then watched the sunset. It was great just to be out in the desert. So I guess if you're looking for lots of excitement, this may not be for you. Dinner was made for us and it was quite good. Plenty to eat.

The next day we were provided with breakfast. Nothing fancy but certainly adequate (bread, cheese, spreads). Mohammed drove us to more spots - all beautiful. We stopped for tea at the smaller 'bridge', and we had lunch and tea in another spot. This time our guide, Mohammed, prepared lunch and it was good and there was plenty to eat again. Then we went back to camp to relax some more. We were surprised with a late afternoon watermelon snack which was lovely. Another great sunset and dinner (bbq chicken) and more star/moon gazing.

The following day we headed out after having breakfast.

All in all I would recommend 7 pillars camp - but perhaps you need to request Mohammed as your guide. His English was fair/good and he was a great host. Being in Wadi Rum was one of the highlights of our 5 week trip to Israel, Jordan and Egypt!

Only one thing bothered us about Wadi Rum - the litter. We were not sure why more effort wasn't made to clean up certain areas. For example, there was one canyon we walked through and there were a number of empty water bottles around, and some other litter as well. Not a ton - so it wouldn't take too much effort for the different tour groups to perhaps work together to occasionally clean up. It definitely takes away from the ambiance!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were recommended 7 pillars camp from our driver in our hotel in Amman who was pretty good on our tours. I did a quick web review search and it seemed good so let the driver arrange it (and obviously earn his commission).

We were picked up on time, not by Audeh as we were expecting but by his cousin. He took us into the desert, gave us an overview of our day and gave us to his cousin Saleem who was our guide. Saleem was a lovely chap but his English was very limited.

They gave us the opportunity to visit the local shop but at the time we had no idea we will not get a chance to go there again, so we didnt have enough water. And considering that we were going into the desert, out guide should have checked this!

Saleem took us to a few of the sights, stopped in the middle of the desert to have some fresh made tea, then to a few more sights, and then lunch. Lunch was a little shocking. We got a bag each, in which we had some bread, a tune can, a whole courgette, a whole tomato, a juice carton, and a little cake. No cutlery and we were expected to work out how we eat it ourselves.
We then went onto a few more stunning sights, then to our camp. The camp consisted of half a dozen tent chalets, a kitchen, a toilet and a “living room” esq tent. The tents were actually quite nice, clean with comfy beds. The toilet was absolutely disgusting, a whole in the ground with flies circuling it. If i had been a lady, there was no way i could have used it.
Anyhow, we arrived to camp by about mid day, where it became quite clear that we had no more activities for the rest of the day. We were not offered any of the extras that other camps do such as camel rides. We had to keep ourselves entertained until dinner time in a super hot tent that felt like a sauna. Luckily my friend and I found an alcove in the cliff nearby where we were cool and had a stunning view. Saleem then came and ushered us off to get a good view of a stunning sun set. When we returned, saleem had cooked us a delicious chicken curry for dinner. More mint tea and then to bed.

In the morning, saleem woke us up in time for sunrise, then a simple breakfast and back to the exit of wadi rum. There we met Audeh who had turned up and asked how we were getting to Aquaba. He then offered to take us instead of a taxi, although we knew he wasn’t giving us much of a good deal. There was another independent traveller in our camp who wanted a hotel in Aquaba. Audeh quickly established this and very kindly offered to help her find somewhere (it being plainly obvious he will take her somewhere where he will get a commission out of it) We told Audeh we needed to get to the Jett bus station (they have comfortable coaches to amman). Although we made this clear, Audeh dropped us off at a different bus company’s station, and didn’t even wait until we got on the bus before he left with the young lady. The bus left without us and we had to find our own way to the Jett bus station.

All in all, there were good points in our Wadi Rum trip, but that was down to wadi rum, not to the 7 pillars camp. This trip could and should have been a lot better. My advice, go with a bigger camp. They have more amenities, take better care of you, and are not necessarily run by a wheeler dealer like Audeh that is more concerned about making money than taking care of you.

Room Tip: go with a bigger camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haywards heath
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Audeh and his brother were fantastic hosts. We arrived in Wadi Rum and Audeh (owner of the desert camp) invited us to his house for a tea and a 30 min chat. We then set off with his brother to 4/5 different sites where we could climb and walk around looking at various spots in the desert. This took about 4/5 hours and the views were fantastic. They provided us with lunch and had spare water if we had run out.
We then got to the main campsite and told to walk over to a certain point to catch the sunset. Once the sun had set we made our way back to the camp for dinner - which was simple good food.
View of the stars and hanging out was the best part of the day.
The sleep we had was the best i have had in years.... Quiet and comfortable.

Don't expect a 5* service with air conditioning - this is the desert.....

Do expect;

- friendly guides
- some interesting sites
- good lunch and dinner - simple but tasty
- great off road driving
- experience of the wadi rum desert
- a great nights sleep
- great view of the stars
- sunset and sunrise
- an overall fantastic experience.

Audeh is a great guy and a traditional Bedouin - he will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were highly recommended to go with 7 pillars by some friends, however it was very disappointing.

We had a guide who did not speak a word of English and couldn't tell us anything about Wadi Rum, it's history, what we were supposed to do or even which sites we were looking at!!
If you were wanting to learn anything about bedouin culture and history this is not the group to go with!

We were dissapointed with the camel ride which was only 5 minutes, walked through the main town and was extremely overpriced.

We also hit a problem when we got to camp and were told that there was only 2 small single beds for the 3 of us, and one of us would either have to sleep on the floor or by the fire! It wasn't even the beds that were the most annoying part, they were not apologetic at all and would not give us even a small discount for not having a bed each.

We just felt we were ripped off for our money and they cared more about making money than making their customers happy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam1234_helen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
3.6 mi away
Atallah Alblwi Camp
Atallah Alblwi Camp
#73 of 116 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bedouin Whispers Camp
Bedouin Whispers Camp
#69 of 116 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
3.9 mi away
Atallah's Camp
Atallah's Camp
#94 of 116 in Wadi Rum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sunrise Camp
Sunrise Camp
#22 of 116 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bedouin Advisor Camp
Bedouin Advisor Camp
#19 of 116 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wadi Rum Nature Tours
Wadi Rum Nature Tours
#25 of 116 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wadi Rum 7 Pillars Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wadi Rum 7 Pillars Camp

Property: Wadi Rum 7 Pillars Camp
Address: Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing