We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice camp, great hospitality”
Review of The Caravans Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Caravans Camp
Ranked #35 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This camp is a very nice place to spend a day (or more), you are welcomed with warm tea and a good lunch.
Go on a jeepsafari and drink tea, enjoy the sunset and/or a camelride in the morning.
Enjoy different places in the camp to sit and relax.
Sit at the warm campfire at night and gaze at the stars, beautiful.
People at camp are very friendly and tell some funny jokes and stories haha
I remember this camp with a smile :)

Room Tip: Ask for extra blankets if needed, it can be cold at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MirjamV67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 53 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here with my wife a part of a travel talk tour. The location is lovely and right in the middle of Wadi Rum. The facilities at the camp are good with plenty of open and covered sitting and fire pits. The large food tent in also very comfortable and the meals served here were tasty and plentiful. The tent accommodation was basic with only beds and a small table but it is the desert and a camp site so more than sufficient. The bathrooms were kept clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwis_can_fly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent one night here and had an excellent time. The owner, Talet, is extremely hospitable and runs a great camp. The food is superb, we had roasted chicken and lamb that was cooked in the ground. There are also lots of vegetarian options. The beds are very comfortable, and there are lots of places in the camp to meet with other people or just find a nook to yourself. They specifically avoid booking large groups to keep the noise down. It's a chill place to enjoy the desert. Drinks and shisha, should you choose, are very reasonably priced, and it is very easy to book jeep or camel rides. This camp is also in a good location, away from other camps and nestled under a sandstone mound you can easily climb for superb views. The owner went the extra mile for us to ensure our stay in wadi rum was good and we appreciated that.

As an FYI, all jeep and camel tours are essentially run by the same people. Camps must outsource to the same group of people. Some drivers are better than others, but it can be hit or miss. Just be explicit about what you want to see and how long you'll go for and you'll be all set.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent away from others. It may be further to dinner and the bathroom, but you'll have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is very Excellent camp in wadi rum I had one night there it was very clean and Mr Ahmed was very nice and very helpful he helped me to do all my trip there so always I would like to recommend this camp and the people there

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank wiss m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had one night in this camp and it was the best night in our trip to Jordan we really enjoyed this night with the Bedouin people in this camp they were very nice, the camp was excellent very clean and comfortable they arrange the camel ride for us and the jeep tour they made our trip and made very nice

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gorge w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

we had booked another camp in wadi rum but when we got there we couldn't imagine it's going to be cold like this and the camp was only a big tent in the middle of the desert then we decide to go to another camp because we saw some camps are different caravans camp was the first camp we saw and we like it so much the staff's there were very helpful the gave us to many extra blankets and it was very clean and they arranged every thing for us in the morning like the breakfast and the jeep tour at lest we where happy with them .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had One night there it was the best night in jordan this People are very nice
and very helpful we like them so much aslo the kids were very happy and they love the
place and the beduin man there (Ahmad) he is very funy with the kids all the time

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Aldo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Wadi Rum Azzabi Camp
#63 of 119 in Wadi Rum
2 reviews
12.9 mi away
Wadi Rum Quiet Village Camp
Wadi Rum Quiet Village Camp
#28 of 119 in Wadi Rum
25 reviews
11.8 mi away
Wadi Rum Caravan Camp
Wadi Rum Caravan Camp
#78 of 119 in Wadi Rum
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#3 of 119 in Wadi Rum
1,027 reviews
1.7 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#2 of 119 in Wadi Rum
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
Salman Zwaidh Camp
Salman Zwaidh Camp
#24 of 119 in Wadi Rum
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caravans Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caravans Camp

Address: Wadi Rum, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $14 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Caravans Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing