We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedouin Directions

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadi Rum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedouin Directions
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great stay in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked two nights with Bedouin Directions based on the good reviews here on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. Everything from pick-up to delivery back in the Rum village went smooth.

The camp is beautifully located away from other camps in the desert letting you take in the surroundings undisturbed. As is expected the camp is basic, but nice with a main tent for eating / socializing and separate sleeping tents. The only minor negative comment would be about the beds, which could have been better.

While in the camp with enjoyed playing and signing with the Bedouins both nights and had a really memorable time. We also had a delicious Bedouin barbeque one night. On the full day in the desert we went out on a 4x4 drive with a guide from morning to after sunset to see the key sights in the desert (highly recommended). This was a highlight of out desert experience, much thanks to our great guide Audi.

Room Tip: Weather permitting bring your blankets outside and sleep under the stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    52
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
161
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Mehedi and his entire team, including driver, hiking guide and cook, made our 2 days/nights in the middle of Wadi Rum truly magical. Our kids (7 and 10) loved it and did not want to leave.
The camp is set in a very well protected area, on all sides, contrary to many of the camps we saw on the way there. You truly feel you're alone under the stars.
Mehedi has done a nice job building some of the amenities, including bathroom/showers as well as a common area/tent. It is great to be able to shower in a proper shower stall.
I also liked the fact that the camp has electric lights in each tent, but it's all powered by battery, hence you don't the constant noise of a generator nearby.
Would highly recommend this with kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Spent 2 days and 2 nights with Mehdi and his team at Bedouin Directions and could not fault it - our guide was knowledgable and fun (thanks Eid - you were a star), the camp was wonderful (clean, great food, and night time entertainments), and of course the Wadi Rum itself outshone everything. The camp is very private, with great opportunities for night time wandering to see the stars. The guides were great fun - we had traditional Bedouin games of strength, charades, lute playing and even an impromptu sing song by the fire whilst star gazing outside one evening. The food was great and there was plenty of it including lots of biscuits to keep those of us (who should be fitter) going on the way up the hills! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Well worth a visit.
We spent one night with Mehedis team.
Amazing scenery.
Camp very pleasant. - not fire or singing the night we were there.
Supper excellent.
Breakfast poor! - very little to eat.
We had a 2 hour camel ride back - authentic but not the most comfortable.
All in all, thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: recommend staying a night for the full experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurleighTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehedi Saleh A, Owner at Bedouin Directions, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your support. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Wadi Rum with Bedouin Directions.

However, I felt I should respond on a couple of things you have mentioned. I am not sure when you visited but we don't always light the fire in the summer months inside the main social tent, because it then gets far too hot inside. The evenings are warm and comfortable then. At this time of year (November) and throughout the winter we make a fire every night and during spring most nights, we make a fire in the main tent.

Regarding the Bedouin music. This is not something we promise to do every night. Sometimes we have guests in the Camp each night non stop for more than a month, and not all the guides can play the Oud (not an easy instrument to play) so there are occasions when the guides that can do this take a night off, usually on quiet nights when there are just a few people in the Camp. If listening to Bedouin music as a part of your experience is particularly important to you, then please mention this when booking with us. We can make sure the appropriate people are working on the night you are here.

In regards to the breakfast. Each morning we provide a selection of items which are a mix of European foods & Middle Eastern foods (which are perhaps more unfamiliar to people and then they don't get tried). The breakfast we serve is typical of what is served in all the Camps in Wadi Rum and in Hotels across Jordan. The food is served with bread. Choices each day are usually boiled eggs, olives, jams, halawa (ground sweet sesame seeds: nice & filling so please do try it), zattar & oil: (a herb mix. You dip the bread in the oil and then the herbs. Again this doesn't look much but you will find it is very satisfying. It is also very good for your digestion), we provide labaneh which is a thick yogurty cheese (dip your bread in: filling). We also provide biscuits which are supposed to be dipped in the tea, and are also more filling & nutritious than they look. If for some reason this is not what is served when you are here, please do tell me before you leave so I can check with the cook why and deal with it if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We didn't know what to expect and ended up having an amazing time!

We almost rearranged our trip to stay longer. Certainly will visit again.

The days jeep trip was great fun, it was my girl friend, the Bedouin guide and myself, he took us all around Wadi Rum, we scrambled up a few of the mountains, rock formations and massive sand dunes; it was excellent fun and views were excellent.

That night we slept out under the stars, the food was cooked on the camp fire and tasted great. There were no insects, we were warm all night and the stars were truly amazing!

A must for anyone visiting Wadi Rum.

Mehedi, his wife and all the guides were great! Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertSindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My family (two adults, two girls ages 6 and 8) spent a day and a half (October 17 and 18, 2013) with Bedouin Directions. We had a great experience. Prior to arriving, communication with Mehedi was very responsive and gave straightforward answers. Everything was clearly explained on how our tour would go and our visit followed the plan exactly. The first day was an all day jeep tour of all the Wadi Rum sites including a hike up to the spring at Lawrence Springs, a climb up and roll down on a sand dune, a hike though Burrah canyon, a climb to the top of Burdah arch, and seeing the sunset on top of a sand dune. Our guide Faisal was fabulous. He was very friendly and our two girls had a fun time with him. Faisal even tried doing a cartwheel at the urging of my daughters. It was incredible how Faisal walked without hesitation, barefoot, up the steep rocks to get the the top of the arch. He also cooked a wonderful lunch. Burrah canyon was also neat place to visit. We took off our shoes and walked through with the sand sifting between our toes. We spent one night at Mehedi's camp. The camp is in an amazing location, completely surrounded on all sides by rock walls with only a small car-width sized break for the entrance. Dinner was tasty and the evening ended with music playing and singing by the Bedouin and the guests. The next day we took a short jeep ride to meet our camels. Each of us rode a camel for two hours across the desert back to the Mehedi's house. It was a fun ride although I got saddle sore from it (the kids didn't have any problems). Overall an incredible experience. I would highly recommend Bedouin Directions.

Room Tip: Note our lodging was in a tent (one to ourselves) with cots. Very comfortable. Be sure to keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Mehedi was efficient and speedy in dealing with my booking. We took four teenagers to the desert for an overnight stay and they loved it! It was the most fun part of their trip to Jordan which included Petra and the Dead Sea. If you are hesitating whether to go, just do it. You will not be disappointed with Bedouin Directions if you want a real heart of the desert overnight experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadi Rum
22.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
3.1 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 113 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
13.1 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 113 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#5 of 113 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
5.2 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#7 of 113 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Directions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Directions

Property: Bedouin Directions
Address: Bedouin Camp, Wadi Rum Protected Area | PO Box 1008, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some dinner, the stars and the night in the desert. This Bedouin camp is in the white desert in a unique and beautiful location, secluded and away from any other tourist camps well within the protected area of Wadi Rum. We have simple desert bathrooms which have showers and toilets (Arab & Western). We have a comfortable main tent with a fire for sitting and relaxing in. Guests sleep in Bedouin tents which are supplied with mattresses and plenty of blankets. Guests also have the option of sleeping outside under the stars, in the camp or we can take you to a special camping spot in the wilderness area, away from the camp. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing