We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camp!”
Review of Bedouin Directions

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadi Rum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedouin Directions
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great camp!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at Bedouin Directions was very comfortable. Mehedi was extremely helpful and friendly. The music and the meal in the evening were excellent, so was the off-site location of the camp, within the protected area.
Just make sure you charge your cameras before coming as there are no charging docks at the camp. The tents are illuminated but a torch could be helpful when wandering around at night. Note that there are no sheets or pillow cases so you should bring some if you're picky on these things. The beds were comfy though.
Also make sure you pack winter clothes for the night, it can be quite chilly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenqueasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    52
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
162
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Back for the 3rd time, however this time for 2 week stay, kind of 'win-win' stay in Wadi Rum. The opportunity to stay longer in this amazing place could not be refused, my aim to learn about the culture in more detail.... Once again can't describe the incredible beauty and silence of the desert. Such a lovely friendly atmosphere. Fully charged again to fulfil my duties in the West....
During this visit I have met a lot of tourists staying with Bedouin Directions, all of them so surprised and unbelievable happy to have chosen Bedouin Directions. Not only for the perfect responses on their requests, but the way they guide the tourist on the several tours, nothing is too much for Mehedi and his team. Then the unbelievable location of the camp, away from the mass tourism, deep in the desert of Wadi Rum. The delicious dinner prepared under the sand, the bedouin music and dancing in the evening, completed by a warm fire. Wadi Rum?? Bedouin Directions!! Who else??

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Mehedi who owns the Bedouin Directions business gave very clear directions and information about how to meet with his guide (Salim) when we arrive in Rum. "Take no notice of anything that anyone says" he told us by email, just pay the park fee and meet us at the Guest House as you enter Rum village. Wise words that helped us and saved us from some very attentive alternative guides at the gate! We had a half day jeep tour which was absolutely fantastic though it was a bit like a personal training session with dunes and rocks to climb, canyons to traverse and paths to follow. We are both 55 and fit enough but I imagine others would find some of the activity opportunities rather challenging - however nothing is compulsary! Sunset was at some rocks where others staying at the camp all joined up - 13 of us in all - and the experience, like everything we saw in Wadi Rum, did not disappoint. The afternoon was truly an amazing and unforgettable experience. From sunset we drove to the secluded, beautiful and atmospheric camp where Mehedi greeted us as his guests. The location is perfect, the tents are excellent and the food, hospitality, music and Arabian games made it a memorable evening. It was obvious that all of the guests had a great time. There is electric light in the tents but no light switch. Why? Simple, the lights all go out at 10!
Next day we went back to Rum village by camel and Mehedi arranged the (almost) white camel that my wife was hoping for. We had a great and friendly guide but best of all, for most of the 3 hour ride, we saw no people or cars apart from a goat herd with his animals and a few other (unridden) camels. The camp is brilliant but Mehedi will organise anything he can for his guests and nothing seems to be too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotuslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights and felt at home straight away. The people are very friendly and helpful. Fantastic experience at the camp which is situated in a private area surrounded by rocks. Its very private and beautiful. We were lucky enough to have a full moon which made the surrounding area amazing at night. Food was great and music and dancing at night. Recommend the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwifamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The place is just perfect - you feel cosy just as the desert wanted to hug you with its large, round shaped rocks that surround the camp. The size and the people running the camp give it a familiar caracter - not too crowded so you can catch up with other tourists on travel stories, use the occasion to getting to know some extra information about life and traditions in Jordan from the locals working there or just relax while listening to the lute - players bedouinsongs.
At dinner time, the variety of dishes that are prepared and served in the middle of the desert is amazing - at least five large plates with authentic, fresh food are placed on the buffet and after dinner you will get a fruit as a healthy dessert.
The tents and the toilet/shower facilities are clean at any time and bring you just enough comfort to feel comfortable but not too much so you still can feel the spririt of adventure and being in the wilderness - which is what I am looking for when I'm going to such a place.
Concerning the day programm you can choose between many options from jeep tours to hiking to camel rides - Bedouin directions lets space for individuality to make sure you get what suits you the most. I have been going on three different hikes and all of them were well guided and the nature was just stunning.
I can highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Wadi Rum, looking for a place far away from mass tourism and I'm sure you will enjoy it as much as I did the last three times I've been there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

what a great part of our trip! we did the 5 hour camel ride to experience this gorgeous desert. if i would do it again, i would prefer to do a short camel ride as i was really sore! but definitely do a camel ride. the staff was awesome and the tents were great. we had 3 cots. before the moon came up you could see so many stars. amazing! the food was delicious- both breakfast and dinner. the people that also stayed overnight were from all parts of the world and we all got to meet each other. one of my favorite experiences in jordan! don't miss this!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I will not get into any details. I just say the experience was perfect. Since the email exchange with Mehedi to the jeep ride with Ibrahim and the evenings in the tent. Team is great. Easy going and cool friendly atmosphere. A big thumbs up to the team. That's it; if you are smart independent travelers, I strongly recommend to experience the magic Wadi Rum with Mehedi and his team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilgribaudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
3.1 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
977 reviews
13.1 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 117 in Wadi Rum
372 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#5 of 117 in Wadi Rum
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
2.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Sky - Tours and Camp
Wadi Rum Sky - Tours and Camp
#12 of 117 in Wadi Rum
78 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#7 of 117 in Wadi Rum
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Directions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Directions

Property: Bedouin Directions
Address: Bedouin Camp, Wadi Rum Protected Area | Raam, Wadi Rum 0000, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some dinner, the stars and the night in the desert. This Bedouin camp is in the white desert in a unique and beautiful location, secluded and away from any other tourist camps well within the protected area of Wadi Rum. We have simple desert bathrooms which have showers and toilets (Western). We have a comfortable main tent with a fire for sitting and relaxing in. Guests sleep in Bedouin tents which are supplied with bed frames, mattresses and plenty of blankets. Guests also have the option of sleeping outside under the stars while staying at the Camp. Or for the intrepid we offer Bivouac camping in the wilderness area (no tents). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing