We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Bedouin Directions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bedouin Directions
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stay here!! The campsite is perfect. Completely secluded. In the jeeps you'll probably drive past far inferior campsites with small tents, all out in the open without much protection - but Mehedi's camp is fully surrounded by rocks and you feel cosy and safe. We had a fun scramble up some of them and took a good shot looking down on the camp, as shown here. There is one Arabic toilet, one Western toilet, one shower and one sink. Shower was only tepid, but it was very hot when we visited (early May) so the shower was the perfect temperature - I washed my hair and everything without trouble! Definitely take a torch for seeing around your room at night. Night toilet trips had no need of a torch - the moonlight was so bright :) Beds and bedding cosy and comfortable. Tons of blankets provided although we only used one. Food and drink were brilliant, really tasty. Really nice atmosphere in the communal/dining tent in the evenings - warm, lamp-lit, chatting to the other visitors and listening to the music/songs by Mehedi and his gang. Our actual jeep driver/guide was extremely quiet, but very courteous. We did a jeep tour of the sights on one day and a climb up Burdah Arch the next - a very fun scramble, recommended! Lovely cooked lunches and two-hour sleep/rest afterwards; also a few breaks with Bedouin tea and snacks. The desert was awe-inspiring and wonderful, and you will never know peace like it when you're out in the middle of it; we went to busy Aqaba for 5 days afterwards and I wished we had spent a night or two longer doing things in Wadi Rum. It was a real highlight. If you're hesitating about the desert and staying at this camp, let me dispel any fears - it was an amazing and really relaxed experience. Stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL671985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 455 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

Booked a one day jeep-tour and a half-day trek through the desert with Mehedi. Organization by mail was managed very professionaly by Mehedi.
The jeep-tour: we really appreciated that our guide gave us as much time as we requested to spend on every spot we visited in wadi rum. Don't expect too much from the car, which had certainly over 30 years of history and missing breaks... but that does not really matter.
The camp-site: definitely the highlight if you book via bedouin directions. It is in a unique location completely surrounded by rocks. We were 6 guests in total and spent a wonderful and quiet night. But we don't know how it would have end up with 10 additional guests on the camp. Shower and toilets are basic, but OK for 1 night.
The food served for lunch (cooked in front of us by our guide) and dinner was EXCELLENT. You wouldn't expect that quality in the middle of the desert.
Overall we definitely recommend that company for a trip to Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We (4 in the group) had a 7-day tour to Jordan in March 2012, and spent 3 wonderful days in Wadi Rum. I would said it was the right choice to planned the trip with Mehedi from Bedoiun Directions. Basically I told him what we want to do during the visit. Mehedi had respond fast to all the emails and very patient and informative throughout the communication process. We finally worked out and agreed on an itinerary and detailed break down for the expenses of the tour. On top of that, a map was attached which gave us a clear idea the location of his camp and spots that we are going to visit. He even helped us to pre-arrange taxi with fair price to pick us from Petra and send us to Amman by the end of the trip which made the whole trip just went smoothly without hiccups...

We reached Mehedi's house in Rum Village around 1 pm. He welcome us with Bedouin tea (love it!) and followed by a brief orientation of the whole program. We only carried our small back pack with us and started our three-hour camel ride from Rum Village to the camp site. We enjoyed the ride where the spectacular views along the red sand to white sand were stunning. Beside than the views, we had good chats and laughs among us and the camel guide and his 10 year-old son.

Mehedi were there again to welcome us when we reach the camp site. The camp site situated in the white sand and surrounded by mountains which some can be easily scramble around. Not forget to mention, i love the surrounding of the camp site as well because it is locate far away and isolated from the other camps mainly in the red sand. We had a brief walk around and feel the breeze air and enjoyed the great views before it get dark. The four of us were put in a Bedouin tent and our additional luggages were there as well. The Bedouin tent set up was very basic as what it suppose to be but it kept us away from the strong and cold windy night. The toilet facilities were basic with flush toilet and pipe. We did not take our shower that evening due to cool temperature during that time. However, I had a good night sleep in the tent with comfortable mattress and plenty blankets to keep me warm.

The night in the Bedouin camp was a great experience. They have a central camp fire set up in the main tent to keep you warm and all the people including the travelers and the local Bedouins were siting around the fire on their traditional seats while appreciate the dinner and entertainment. The dinner was prepared and cook underground for few hours before it was served and it really taste great. Bedoiun tea was served as much as you want. Mehedi and his friends and family were playing and singing their Bedouin music and songs. We dance together with them. They are so friendly and always keep you relax and comfortable in the friendly and pleasant environment.

The next day morning we started our jeep tour after simple breakfast (boiled eggs and pita served with jams and hot Bedouin tea). It was a very enjoyable trip. We had visited most of the sites and did some brief hiking and scrambling at Lawrance Spring, Khazali canyon, Red sand dune and most unforgettable experience was climbing up to the natural rock bridge on the mountain (Um Frouth Arch) and beautiful scene at the Siq. Lunch and rest at the shade of the mountain with vegetable and tuna cook on the fire and served with pita prepared by Raed, our jeep tour guide who is friendly and really know-well about his place, Wadi Rum. It was a great experience and we even bumped with a group of camels, a female camel with her newborn in the wild, and experience driving in the desert. Appreciate the stunning sunset view and a lot more unexpected experience during the tour.

We spent our unforgettable second night camping in the wild desert beside camp fire and thousands of stars on top of us. We even had unexpected visitors, friends of Raed and Khaleed (who prepared delicious food and bedouin tea when we were out in the desert) who brought along their musical instruments and sang their traditional bedouin songs. Had lots of jokes as well. However, we had to change our camp location nearer to a cave in the middle of the night due to the strong wind. We were well taking care by Raed and Kaleed, appreciate it!

Our next highlight in Wadi Rum was hiking up to the highest peak in Jordan (Um Ad Dami). It took us more than 3 hours to hike up and down the mountain due to lack to stamina. However, Raed was very patient and finding the easier path for us to hike up the rocky mountain. The spectacular views from the top of the summit was really breathtaking though we didn't see far up to the border of Saudi Arabia due to the windy weather. We spent some time relax and quietly sitting on top of the summit without other visitors. Lunch was prepared by Khaleed once we hike down from the peak. We were relaxing and chatting among us and took group photo before heading back to Rum Village.

Generally, the experience in Wadi Rum was the best throughout our visit in Jordan. I appreciate the affords from Mehedi and his team for making our visit to Wadi Rum an unforgettable one. What we paid was worth the value and we did whatever were planned and experience more than what we expected. I will highly recommend Mehedi and his team to other travelers and wish to get back to them and explore more in Wadi Rum soon.

Tips:
-Must spent more than 1 night and camping in the wild if you wish to experience more of Wadi Rum
-Bring along touch light. You will need it if to visit the toilet middle in the night, and camping in the wild
-Have good sunblock to prevent from sun burn
-Bring cash only to pay for the tour. No ATM or bank available in Rum Village

Suggestion:
-Need more paddings on the camel's back for long hour camel ride to prevent buttock sore :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KhooMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We booked a one day jeep tour and one night wilderness camp sleeping under the stars in the Wadi Rum. It was one of the best experiences we have ever had and the highlight of our trip to Jordan. Bedouin Directions were excellent at every point of the journey from replying to all emails quickly and professionally to organizing our day and night. Our guide Oudi was great, he was relaxed and we enjoyed his company. All meals were good and cooked over a camp fire which added to the atmospher. I can't recommend Bedouin directions enough. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a great experience! I organized this trip for myself + 6 of my friends. From the get-go Mehedi was welcoming and very responsive to my emails and questions. He was able to create an itinerary that worked for us.

On the day of arrival, we got a bit lost and arrived late, but couldn't reach Mehedi because none of us had reception for some reason. However, Mehedi was ready and waiting in the visitor lot for us--no problem finding him and his team at all. We went to his home for welcome tea, introductions, and to drop off luggage we wouldn't need for the Wadi Rum experience. We were then taken on our 3-hour camel ride to the camp site. The camel ride was a bit too long and I wouldn't recommend anybody do 3 hours. The first 30-45 minute was fun and exciting, the hour after that got a bit boring and repetitive and the last hour was just painful. Mehedi and his team met us in the middle of the ride to give us water and then near the end of the ride they were notified by the camel guide that we were all exhausted so Mehedi and his team came to pick us up in jeeps! YAY!!! Who knew cell phones would work out in the desert!

After arriving at camp we were shown our sleeping quarters and were given candles and flashlights as well. This is by no means a 5-star accommodation, but it was comfortable with plenty of warm blankets and cold water showers. The site is in a private area with only a few other travelers so it was nice to have privacy and a quiet camp area. We only did one night so it was totally fine for one evening. After settling in we went into the community tent where Mehedi and team performed musical instruments, served tea, and then dinner was served. Dinner was delicious and everyone was so friendly! A few of us lay out under the stars for a bit after dinner just watching shooting stars. It was a great evening!

Breakfast was definitely not filling. Some pita, jams/spreads. Nothing too heavy, but a few of the guys in the group were left a bit hungry. Following breakfast, we packed up and our belongings that we wouldn't need for the day was taken away. We boarded an open-air jeep for the day and made numerous stops throughout the desert to scramble and roll down sand dunes. It was an amazing experience! We stopped mid-day in a secluded part of the desert. Lunch was delicious -- a seafood stew with pita, hummus and fruits.

At the end of the day we met Mehedi and his team at the visitor lot and was happily surprised to find that he had already taken all our luggage from his house and delivered it to the lot for us.

Overall a great experience and I would recommend Bedouin Directions to others who are looking for a great Wadi Rum experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyY9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A private tour 'Sandstorm' with our great guide Najer. The traditional Bedouin dinner cooked in the ground amazed us, so tasty. Evening we enjoyed by telling and listing to Bedouin jokes and of course our European jokes. Later the evening some of the guides took us for a little walk (the soft white sent felt like walking in warm snow with our bear feet). Completely dark, without shoes, walking up hill a bit. Blanket along.... and there we sat totally confused by the sky with thousands of stars. Indeed is a magical place. The guide Owdi went down to bring the musician with the Lute, brought wood, tea pot for a fresh Bedouin Whisky, tasty as ever. I even was given a Bedouin name: 'Gamer' which means moon.... how special is that. I am so thankful for this experience. The only minor point. Mehedy should have proposed to stay longer than 1 night as it is so special, too short to completely realise what you are going through. Definatly want to go back... Thanks Mehedy, Mohammed the lute player, Najer our guide, and Owde, our singer of the camp. Hia Hia...we loved it...

Room Tip: Away from the bigger camps for a great personal experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was an amazing experience! It was so much better than we expected! I absolutely loved it! And would go back anytime. I think the location of the camp is perfect, it;s surrounded by rocks, nicely hidden, quiet and clean. There was a good bunch of people in the camp that night, and it was a full moon. So romantic :-) We had a great evening with some music and dance, all guides are very friendly and helpful, they can sing and play musical instruments. There was also a family with 3 small kids, the mum was 7th month pregnant. And she enjoyed the whole experience! So cool! This is just to give you an idea how safe and relaxing it is. Of course it depends on individual, as well. If you want to enjoy it, you definitely will. No doubt about that. You can't expect 5 star accommodation and hot shower, though. Mattresses are comfortable enough, duvets are thick and warm, and cold water in the shower is not that cold. I can genuinely recommend Bedouin Directions, we did everything what was on our itinerary and agreed with Mehedi via emails prior to our visit. We very much enjoyed it and i wish we had more time to explore more of Wadi Rum. Thank you. Martina

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
6.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#1 of 122 in Wadi Rum
160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#3 of 122 in Wadi Rum
1,051 reviews
13.1 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#2 of 122 in Wadi Rum
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
2.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Sky - Tours and Camp
8.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#11 of 122 in Wadi Rum
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Directions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Directions

Address: Bedouin Camp, Wadi Rum Protected Area | Raam, Wadi Rum 0000, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $26 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedouin Directions 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some dinner, the stars and the night in the desert. This Bedouin camp is in the white desert in a unique and beautiful location, secluded and away from any other tourist camps well within the protected area of Wadi Rum. We have simple desert bathrooms which have showers and toilets (Western). We have a comfortable main tent with a fire for sitting and relaxing in. Guests sleep in Bedouin tents which are supplied with bed frames, mattresses and plenty of blankets. Guests also have the option of sleeping outside under the stars while staying at the Camp. Or for the intrepid we offer Bivouac camping in the wilderness area (no tents). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bedouin Directions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing