We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The number 1 camp-site in wadi rum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedouin Directions

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadi Rum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedouin Directions
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The number 1 camp-site in wadi rum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Booked a one day jeep-tour and a half-day trek through the desert with Mehedi. Organization by mail was managed very professionaly by Mehedi.
The jeep-tour: we really appreciated that our guide gave us as much time as we requested to spend on every spot we visited in wadi rum. Don't expect too much from the car, which had certainly over 30 years of history and missing breaks... but that does not really matter.
The camp-site: definitely the highlight if you book via bedouin directions. It is in a unique location completely surrounded by rocks. We were 6 guests in total and spent a wonderful and quiet night. But we don't know how it would have end up with 10 additional guests on the camp. Shower and toilets are basic, but OK for 1 night.
The food served for lunch (cooked in front of us by our guide) and dinner was EXCELLENT. You wouldn't expect that quality in the middle of the desert.
Overall we definitely recommend that company for a trip to Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    52
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
161
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We (4 in the group) had a 7-day tour to Jordan in March 2012, and spent 3 wonderful days in Wadi Rum. I would said it was the right choice to planned the trip with Mehedi from Bedoiun Directions. Basically I told him what we want to do during the visit. Mehedi had respond fast to all the emails and very patient and informative throughout the communication process. We finally worked out and agreed on an itinerary and detailed break down for the expenses of the tour. On top of that, a map was attached which gave us a clear idea the location of his camp and spots that we are going to visit. He even helped us to pre-arrange taxi with fair price to pick us from Petra and send us to Amman by the end of the trip which made the whole trip just went smoothly without hiccups...

We reached Mehedi's house in Rum Village around 1 pm. He welcome us with Bedouin tea (love it!) and followed by a brief orientation of the whole program. We only carried our small back pack with us and started our three-hour camel ride from Rum Village to the camp site. We enjoyed the ride where the spectacular views along the red sand to white sand were stunning. Beside than the views, we had good chats and laughs among us and the camel guide and his 10 year-old son.

Mehedi were there again to welcome us when we reach the camp site. The camp site situated in the white sand and surrounded by mountains which some can be easily scramble around. Not forget to mention, i love the surrounding of the camp site as well because it is locate far away and isolated from the other camps mainly in the red sand. We had a brief walk around and feel the breeze air and enjoyed the great views before it get dark. The four of us were put in a Bedouin tent and our additional luggages were there as well. The Bedouin tent set up was very basic as what it suppose to be but it kept us away from the strong and cold windy night. The toilet facilities were basic with flush toilet and pipe. We did not take our shower that evening due to cool temperature during that time. However, I had a good night sleep in the tent with comfortable mattress and plenty blankets to keep me warm.

The night in the Bedouin camp was a great experience. They have a central camp fire set up in the main tent to keep you warm and all the people including the travelers and the local Bedouins were siting around the fire on their traditional seats while appreciate the dinner and entertainment. The dinner was prepared and cook underground for few hours before it was served and it really taste great. Bedoiun tea was served as much as you want. Mehedi and his friends and family were playing and singing their Bedouin music and songs. We dance together with them. They are so friendly and always keep you relax and comfortable in the friendly and pleasant environment.

The next day morning we started our jeep tour after simple breakfast (boiled eggs and pita served with jams and hot Bedouin tea). It was a very enjoyable trip. We had visited most of the sites and did some brief hiking and scrambling at Lawrance Spring, Khazali canyon, Red sand dune and most unforgettable experience was climbing up to the natural rock bridge on the mountain (Um Frouth Arch) and beautiful scene at the Siq. Lunch and rest at the shade of the mountain with vegetable and tuna cook on the fire and served with pita prepared by Raed, our jeep tour guide who is friendly and really know-well about his place, Wadi Rum. It was a great experience and we even bumped with a group of camels, a female camel with her newborn in the wild, and experience driving in the desert. Appreciate the stunning sunset view and a lot more unexpected experience during the tour.

We spent our unforgettable second night camping in the wild desert beside camp fire and thousands of stars on top of us. We even had unexpected visitors, friends of Raed and Khaleed (who prepared delicious food and bedouin tea when we were out in the desert) who brought along their musical instruments and sang their traditional bedouin songs. Had lots of jokes as well. However, we had to change our camp location nearer to a cave in the middle of the night due to the strong wind. We were well taking care by Raed and Kaleed, appreciate it!

Our next highlight in Wadi Rum was hiking up to the highest peak in Jordan (Um Ad Dami). It took us more than 3 hours to hike up and down the mountain due to lack to stamina. However, Raed was very patient and finding the easier path for us to hike up the rocky mountain. The spectacular views from the top of the summit was really breathtaking though we didn't see far up to the border of Saudi Arabia due to the windy weather. We spent some time relax and quietly sitting on top of the summit without other visitors. Lunch was prepared by Khaleed once we hike down from the peak. We were relaxing and chatting among us and took group photo before heading back to Rum Village.

Generally, the experience in Wadi Rum was the best throughout our visit in Jordan. I appreciate the affords from Mehedi and his team for making our visit to Wadi Rum an unforgettable one. What we paid was worth the value and we did whatever were planned and experience more than what we expected. I will highly recommend Mehedi and his team to other travelers and wish to get back to them and explore more in Wadi Rum soon.

Tips:
-Must spent more than 1 night and camping in the wild if you wish to experience more of Wadi Rum
-Bring along touch light. You will need it if to visit the toilet middle in the night, and camping in the wild
-Have good sunblock to prevent from sun burn
-Bring cash only to pay for the tour. No ATM or bank available in Rum Village

Suggestion:
-Need more paddings on the camel's back for long hour camel ride to prevent buttock sore :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhooMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We booked a one day jeep tour and one night wilderness camp sleeping under the stars in the Wadi Rum. It was one of the best experiences we have ever had and the highlight of our trip to Jordan. Bedouin Directions were excellent at every point of the journey from replying to all emails quickly and professionally to organizing our day and night. Our guide Oudi was great, he was relaxed and we enjoyed his company. All meals were good and cooked over a camp fire which added to the atmospher. I can't recommend Bedouin directions enough. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a great experience! I organized this trip for myself + 6 of my friends. From the get-go Mehedi was welcoming and very responsive to my emails and questions. He was able to create an itinerary that worked for us.

On the day of arrival, we got a bit lost and arrived late, but couldn't reach Mehedi because none of us had reception for some reason. However, Mehedi was ready and waiting in the visitor lot for us--no problem finding him and his team at all. We went to his home for welcome tea, introductions, and to drop off luggage we wouldn't need for the Wadi Rum experience. We were then taken on our 3-hour camel ride to the camp site. The camel ride was a bit too long and I wouldn't recommend anybody do 3 hours. The first 30-45 minute was fun and exciting, the hour after that got a bit boring and repetitive and the last hour was just painful. Mehedi and his team met us in the middle of the ride to give us water and then near the end of the ride they were notified by the camel guide that we were all exhausted so Mehedi and his team came to pick us up in jeeps! YAY!!! Who knew cell phones would work out in the desert!

After arriving at camp we were shown our sleeping quarters and were given candles and flashlights as well. This is by no means a 5-star accommodation, but it was comfortable with plenty of warm blankets and cold water showers. The site is in a private area with only a few other travelers so it was nice to have privacy and a quiet camp area. We only did one night so it was totally fine for one evening. After settling in we went into the community tent where Mehedi and team performed musical instruments, served tea, and then dinner was served. Dinner was delicious and everyone was so friendly! A few of us lay out under the stars for a bit after dinner just watching shooting stars. It was a great evening!

Breakfast was definitely not filling. Some pita, jams/spreads. Nothing too heavy, but a few of the guys in the group were left a bit hungry. Following breakfast, we packed up and our belongings that we wouldn't need for the day was taken away. We boarded an open-air jeep for the day and made numerous stops throughout the desert to scramble and roll down sand dunes. It was an amazing experience! We stopped mid-day in a secluded part of the desert. Lunch was delicious -- a seafood stew with pita, hummus and fruits.

At the end of the day we met Mehedi and his team at the visitor lot and was happily surprised to find that he had already taken all our luggage from his house and delivered it to the lot for us.

Overall a great experience and I would recommend Bedouin Directions to others who are looking for a great Wadi Rum experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyY9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A private tour 'Sandstorm' with our great guide Najer. The traditional Bedouin dinner cooked in the ground amazed us, so tasty. Evening we enjoyed by telling and listing to Bedouin jokes and of course our European jokes. Later the evening some of the guides took us for a little walk (the soft white sent felt like walking in warm snow with our bear feet). Completely dark, without shoes, walking up hill a bit. Blanket along.... and there we sat totally confused by the sky with thousands of stars. Indeed is a magical place. The guide Owdi went down to bring the musician with the Lute, brought wood, tea pot for a fresh Bedouin Whisky, tasty as ever. I even was given a Bedouin name: 'Gamer' which means moon.... how special is that. I am so thankful for this experience. The only minor point. Mehedy should have proposed to stay longer than 1 night as it is so special, too short to completely realise what you are going through. Definatly want to go back... Thanks Mehedy, Mohammed the lute player, Najer our guide, and Owde, our singer of the camp. Hia Hia...we loved it...

Room Tip: Away from the bigger camps for a great personal experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was an amazing experience! It was so much better than we expected! I absolutely loved it! And would go back anytime. I think the location of the camp is perfect, it;s surrounded by rocks, nicely hidden, quiet and clean. There was a good bunch of people in the camp that night, and it was a full moon. So romantic :-) We had a great evening with some music and dance, all guides are very friendly and helpful, they can sing and play musical instruments. There was also a family with 3 small kids, the mum was 7th month pregnant. And she enjoyed the whole experience! So cool! This is just to give you an idea how safe and relaxing it is. Of course it depends on individual, as well. If you want to enjoy it, you definitely will. No doubt about that. You can't expect 5 star accommodation and hot shower, though. Mattresses are comfortable enough, duvets are thick and warm, and cold water in the shower is not that cold. I can genuinely recommend Bedouin Directions, we did everything what was on our itinerary and agreed with Mehedi via emails prior to our visit. We very much enjoyed it and i wish we had more time to explore more of Wadi Rum. Thank you. Martina

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I wish I could give the same comments as the previous reviewers (Andrew D. and KGLeeds), but unfortunately I can’t. I chose Bedouin Directions mainly because of the location of the camp, the excellent reviews as well as the prompt and detailed e-mails from Mehedi (or his foreign wife?). As I like the sound of silence and I also wanted to experience the Lawrence of Arabia feeling for a few hours, I decided to go on a 1 day camel trek followed by an overnight stay at the Bedouin camp.
First of all, the proposed camel trek was completely different from the one detailed on the Bedouin Directions website until today: the only sight both treks had in common was the Khazali canyon; if you want to get to the camp by camel, a walking guide is not an option and you will have to hire another camel for the guide; consequently, the price for the camel trek is almost twice the price specified on the website. The main reason for these differences seems to be that the former camp was a lot closer to Rum village than the actual one, further away in the white desert. This was explained to me by e-mail and I agreed with it, on the double condition that the guide would be English speaking and that I would not have to share him with other tourists, as I was the one hiring him.
When I arrived by bus at Rum village around 8.30 am, Mehedi was waiting for me at the Rest house. There seemed to be 2 of us going on the camel trek, so he suggested that we would go together and share the camel guide, which was OK for me, although I had to remind him the next day that he should give me a discount for that. As the camel trek was not supposed to leave before 10 am, I used the remaining time to visit on foot the Nabataean temple ruins and the Shallalah spring, both close to the Rest house. Around 10 am I was picked up by a driver to go to Mehedi’s house for Bedouin tea. People were coming and going, after having been introduced to their guide and the day program, but not us. Mehedi told us that all the long distance camels in Rum were taken and that it would be difficult to find a guide for the day as well. It is true that April is high season in Jordan, but this is precisely why I booked the camel trek more than 1 month in advance… only to find out that everything still had to be organized the same day. Instead of leaving by camel from Mehedi’s house, we were taken back to the Rest house by jeep, where we finally met our ‘guide’ and from where the trek started just before noon (that is with a delay of about 2 hours), the hottest time of the day. The promised quality guide appeared to be a young boy, dressed in Western clothes with a baseball cap, who hardly spoke any English (certainly not enough to have a basic conversation with). It was his first time to work for Mehedi.
Given the hour, we already had lunch at the first stop (Lawrence’s spring), before climbing the rocks. It was not cooked over a fire, but consisted of flat bread, 1 tin of tuna, 1 tomato, 1 cucumber and an orange juice, all bought in the supermarket next to the Rest house; after asking for it, we were also served some Bedouin tea. In the course of the afternoon we were shown the 4 sights agreed upon, but without any explanation whatsoever: as soon as we arrived somewhere, the camel boy went straight to the Bedouin tent to have tea and a nap. At least twice, we had to wake him up to get on with the trek. On one occasion, the Bedouin wanted to make us pay for the tea, but we refused to do that as it was supposed to be included in the trek.
As it was already getting late, we missed the promised sunset: instead of watching it from a sand dune, we were riding the camels across the wadi and the sun disappeared unnoticed behind the surrounding hills. Having the impression that we were already too far, I asked the camel boy twice if he knew where the camp was but although he kept looking around in every possible direction, he didn’t want to admit that he was lost, until finally we turned back and it became clear that what I feared was real. Fortunately (by this time it was already after 7 pm and getting dark), after a few hundred meters, a jeep sent to rescue us came along and took us to the camp. We left the boy and his camels behind in the desert. Not at all what one would expect of a camel guide…
The camp is in a beautiful, secluded location, indeed. Completely as I had imagined it. Except perhaps that I didn’t get my own tent (as promised), but a compartment of a bigger tent, without much privacy. Apart from that, tents are comfortable and warm and I slept well. The bathroom is probably a bigger issue: I didn’t mind the cold water, but there was no light, only 1 sink and only 1 shower (for about 20 guests, not counting the staff); moreover there were only 2 toilets, but the Arab toilet could not be locked from inside and on the other hand for a normal person it was impossible to sit down on the Western toilet because the seat is located much too close to the door, so in both cases you were forced to do your thing with the door half open, hoping that nobody came around. The camp staff were very friendly and helpful, though, the traditional Bedouin dinner (cooked under the sand) was tasty and the ambiance in the main tent was great. Breakfast was basic but satisfactory.
On the whole, however, a very mediocre and rather disappointing experience for more than 70 EUR per person (entrance fee included). Of course I can’t judge about the jeep tour, but I certainly can’t recommend the camel trek to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iuppitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehedi88, Owner at Bedouin Directions, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Firstly thank you for your detailed feedback on your experience with us, and Insha’Allah it will help us to not have the same situation occur again. Our guests are really important to us, and if our guests are happy, we are happy.
I apologise that you were so disappointed with your camel trek on Easter Monday. As a high number of tourists visited Wadi Rum over Easter wanting to do camel treks, we were unable to use the guide we intended to use for your trek. When we took your booking we did not anticipate that there would be such a problem with finding a guide (any guide let alone an English speaking guide) for you on this day. All the camel guides in Wadi Rum own their camels and take bookings from us (and all the other companies in Wadi Rum) on an ‘as needed’ basis. We are not able to book with them a month in advance. We call them the night before and offer them the work. We have a couple of really good English speaking guides who we usually use for our tours, and have no problems to book them as and when we need them.
My wife does indeed write my e-mails for me, but she discusses each message with me, and I instruct her as to what to write. She then writes in clear English because it is important to us to agree everything clearly in advance with people. We did not intentionally promise something we could not offer. It is very unfortunate that the day you came was so busy. In addition, my wife had just given birth with emergency surgery and our usual high standard of organisation was temporarily disrupted from the 2nd April and over the Easter weekend.
Many of the points which you have raised in your review we discussed and agreed in advance by e-mail. For example, for the route of the trek, I provided you with a map showing the different camel trek routes and the reasons for the route I suggested.
In regards to the bathrooms, we appreciate the feedback. We do have a solar light and gas lighting for them, but these will not be on all night, so coming to camp with a torch is always a good idea. I will look at the locks on the doors because I did not realise there was a problem with closing them. In regards to the privacy, my camp is a small Bedouin camp and I do not usually have 20 guests – I have only had close to 20 guests five times this year. I have a selection of Bedouin tents one with three private compartments (one of which you had), and three larger tents for families or groups of people travelling together.
Lastly in regards to the price. The price you paid to me (60JD) included the camel trek, a mounted guide, picnic lunch, dinner, breakfast and one nights accommodation. This price included a discount agreed on booking, plus an extra discount for sharing the camel trek and for the delay in starting your trek. My pricing for this trek is comparable to the many other tour operators in Wadi Rum and is a fair price based on the cost of running the tour.
Thank you again for your feedback. I am sorry for your disappointment. I hope this message helps to clarify the issues raised. We will certainly endeavour in future years to prevent such a situation with the camel trek happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadi Rum
22.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
3.1 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 113 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
13.1 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 113 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#5 of 113 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
5.2 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#7 of 113 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Directions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Directions

Property: Bedouin Directions
Address: Bedouin Camp, Wadi Rum Protected Area | PO Box 1008, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some dinner, the stars and the night in the desert. This Bedouin camp is in the white desert in a unique and beautiful location, secluded and away from any other tourist camps well within the protected area of Wadi Rum. We have simple desert bathrooms which have showers and toilets (Arab & Western). We have a comfortable main tent with a fire for sitting and relaxing in. Guests sleep in Bedouin tents which are supplied with mattresses and plenty of blankets. Guests also have the option of sleeping outside under the stars, in the camp or we can take you to a special camping spot in the wilderness area, away from the camp. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing